We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good waterside restaurant for lunch”

Stickleback West Coast Eatery
Ranked #11 of 50 Restaurants in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $6 - $15
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Bolton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
507 reviews
319 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
“Good waterside restaurant for lunch”
Reviewed June 24, 2013 via mobile

Went here with my wife for lunch on a rainy cold Monday. Outside patio was closed, but plenty of tables inside. I had noodle bowl and wife had panini. Both were fine, if not spectacular. Service was friendly and delivery prompt. Would come here again when it is sunny.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank BrianML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

258 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    92
    101
    35
    16
    14
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Food was okay, would come back for the patio”
Reviewed May 27, 2013

We ate here in May 2013. The weather wasn't cooperating so the patio was closed, but we would definitely go back just for the patio. Looked like a great space, practically the same size as the inside, and overlooks a little cove. Inside was a good casual place, dinner was reasonably priced - two entrees, 1/2 litre of wine, 2 desserts, coffees and a beer was $75 before tax and tip. My husband had the ribs, which were not slow cooked in the sauce, so not as good as other places that actually cook them in the sauce. I had fish and chips, which was good - generous portion of fries, but not enough coleslaw. Dessert was delicious (waffle bread pudding)! Service was a little off, the server would often act like she heard us, but clearly didn't. Overall, it was average - I would eat there again (especially in patio season!), but not on my "must go back there" list.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank llewysknot12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
142 reviews
101 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Loved this place”
Reviewed May 16, 2013

My wife and I wanted to try Stickleback when we noticed its patio on the cove. As noted by others, it overlooks the bay and has a nice view of the distant Olympic range. On a five-day trip to the Sooke area, we ended up eating at Stickleback twice. The food, though priced a little high, was excellent. Everything we had was well-presented and tasty. The Galloping Goose Trail Burger includes sauteed mushrooms, bacon, and cheddar. The baby-back ribs (with honey garlic) were tender and delicious. The fish and chips were solid. Perhaps the best dish of our trip was the Pesto Prawn Pasta (it seemed to be the house favorite) . . . such a great taste with prawns in a white wine pesto sauce.

One caveat I'll mention . . . as other reviewers have noted, the food doesn't come quickly to your table. Both times, our servers were attentive, so I had to believe that the slowness came from the kitchen. After our first visit we learned our lesson. So on our second trip, we ordered an appetizer, which came out in a timely manner. By the time we finished the appetizer (tasty Tsunami Fries), our entrees were served. When you visit, take your time. Chill on the patio for a bit. Enjoy the view. Take a few deep breaths. It's easy to do in this beautiful setting.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank jtw58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Orchard, Washington
2 reviews
“Excellent dining”
Reviewed May 9, 2013

This restaurant is located in a cove with an outdoor patio overlooking the water. The setting is superb with the snow-capped Olympics in the distance. The food is excellent with a nice variety of fresh salads and fish. We highly recommend this place as a top dining experience.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank nrubesch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
62 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Love the spicy noodle bowl!”
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location, good food. I have been here a few times with 3 other people and everyone seems happy with their meals. My Dad likes the burgers, my Mom usually goes for seafood, and I like a bit of spice. They have a new menu, we will try on Mother's Day. It's the best Sooke has right now, even though it's before Sooke. Watch the double yellow solid line, you are not supposed to turn left there. Go further up and turn around to enter as it's on the left side of the road after a corner, somewhat of a traffic hazard. Watch for the veterinary clinic, turn around at that street and no problems. Worth the drive and great for a sunny day on their patio. I have had a tough time getting called back when trying to arrange reservations so just go. I have not had to wait for a table.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debi V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Stickleback West Coast Eatery also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Stickleback West Coast Eatery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing