We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marine life”

Sooke Coastal Explorations
Ranked #6 of 24 Tours in Sooke
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Are you ready to embark on a one-of-a-kind exploration with Vancouver Island’s premium quality Whale Watching and Eco-Adventure company?Sooke Coastal Explorations can take you on an exhilarating West Coast marine adventure that will thrill your senses and leave you with a deep appreciation for the enchanting creatures that inhabit our local waters. Offering the perfect balance of excitement, safety and education, our experienced, knowledgeable crew will take you on an open water excursion lasting 3 to 4 hours in length, and travelling along the Island’s western shores.
Sooke, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Marine life”
Reviewed April 27, 2012

I went out with Russ today from Sooke Coastal Explorations Apr 27th 2012, a gray cool day. The flotation suit they provided keeps you warm. The boat is very quiet and smooth, the seats are very thick and comfy. Russ is also friendly and really knows what he is talking about. He is also with search and rescue, so he is safe. We were just in the boat 5 minutes or less, just going out thru Wiffen Spit and he say's I think I see whales, I looked where he was looking, I didn't see any. Then he say's yes they are here. He must have eagle eyes. After the Whales, got to see Steller and California Sea Lions. Great experience I highly recommend going out with this company.
Brian Rundle

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Brian R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    1
    0
    2
    3
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Hebrew first
  • Any
English first
Plymouth, Devon
Level Contributor
123 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 130 helpful votes
“Well set up and interesting...”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

We had spoken to Russ about the grey whale and our trip consisting of only five of us made a journey west in the hope of finding same. Unfortunately it was not our day and despite a long and pleasant journey along the coast we failed to find the whales we sought. On return we saw sea lions, harbour seals and elephant seals. It was a three hour trip and Russ provided what we asked for and no fault can be found with that. Would certainly use Coastal explorations again. Was nice to do the trip outside of Victoria and the multitude of companies. Sooke is a very good location to visit.

Visited April 2012
Helpful?
Thank BuchananPlymouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“A walk through a rain forest & then you meet stunning Mystic Beach”
Reviewed November 23, 2011

There are a few hikes along this region....China Beach, French Beach...but its Mystic Beach that will take your breath away. The hike through the Rain forest was lovely....a bit rugged in parts...and not a gentle amble. But well worth it for the view at the end.
You come out at Mystic Beach - and there you will see the waterfall coming out from the forest.
Take water, a light picnic and just enjoy the views from the beach.
You can get details and maps from the Sooke Tourist Information. They were very helpful, plus its a nice place to browse around itself.

Visited October 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank SybSC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful whale watching”
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We stayed near Victoria but had been advised to book our whale watching trip out of Sooke and it was definitely worth the short drive out there to do so.
My wife, son (8), daughter (6) and I put on the all-in-one suits provided, (it was a warm day but we still needed them) and boarded the rib / zodiac style boat with Russ our driver / nature expert. We set out and my hope was to catch sight of an Orca or two, however it was whale soup out there. We saw twenty-two different transient Orcas in three hours. We saw all sorts, Orcas throwing a porpoise around, chasing seals, coming right up to the boat and diving underneath, breaching..... it was like we were living a National Geographic documentary. All the time Russ was providing great, enthusiastic commentary, he knows his stuff and is clearly passionate about his subject.

All this took place just off Sooke which meant we didn't have to travel far, unlike the boats coming from Victoria but I suppose on another day the situation may have been reversed.

Overall we all had a wonderful time and I would thoroughly recommend Sooke Coastal Explorations, friendly, knowledgeable, enthusiastic and fun.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Katie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL, USA
Level Contributor
34 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
“Excellent Knowledgeable Wildlife Watching”
Reviewed August 19, 2011

A recommended way to whale-watch; from a zodiac boat ( small) with fun, knowledgeable guides with respect for the animals and ecosystem...not just the beautiful whale pods.
Only caveat: this is not for those with back problems as it can get seriously bumpy.
And yeah, the suits you put on over your clothes may seem stupid at first on a warm day but a) they are life preservers and b) later on you will be really glad you have one as the wind and water at high speed can get surprisingly chilly. These are a great bunch of guys, enthusiastic, and Canadian Coast Guard Reserve to boot, so they take safety seriously. I look forward to joining them again someday.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
4 Thank Jamie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Sooke Coastal Explorations also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to Sooke Coastal Explorations? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing