We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not Worth The Money!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Chilliwack, Canada
Level Contributor
77 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Not Worth The Money!”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Lots of room and general deficiencies: no robe, bible, satellite movie channels, local business listings, room service menus, continental breakfast, or t.v listings. Only one restaurant out of three in building open, what hours..I have no idea, pop machine broken, bath fan broken, scratches and dings in room furniture, elevator was so dark the floor I.D. sign could not be read. For such a beautiful location, the rooms' view was very limited. While the staff I did deal with were all very helpful and friendly, you can only call the front desk so many times to resolve issues that should not have existed in the first place. The odd thing was is that there was virtually no cars parked outside, and I never saw another customer in the entire hotel during my stay! For a Best Western Premier Resort I expected far more!

Room Tip: Ensure your room has a decent view, and well away from the noisy ice machines at the end of the hall...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jeffrey R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

687 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    374
    207
    68
    21
    17
See reviews for
178
335
19
49
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
vancouver
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

Such a surprising hotel in its design & stature that seemingly pops out of nowhere when you round the corner in sweet Sooke. Really well maintained, beautiful views. Lots of luxury at an affordable rate. We stayed for two nights (in town for a wedding) but we will be back for a weekend getaway. Whilst you are in Sooke I recommend going for the short hike required to see the "Potholes". Really beautiful.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank iLOVEtoEXPLORE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lantzville, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2014

This year we chose to visit Sooke, B.C. to celebrate our 27th anniversary. After a bit of research, we decided on the Prestige Oceanfront Resort.
Looks nice on the outside, but it was a disappointment for us on the inside.
Our room - Oceanview - top floor - was dark and somewhat depressing. The walls were various shades of grey, the flooring was charcoal, hard laminate and the decor was in greys and blacks. The windows were large, but were unable to bring in enough light in to offset the cold, depressing colour scheme of the room. I think this room was decorated for a magazine photo shoot and not for comfort. The only sofa had high straight back and sides and I mean high - the arm rests were above my shoulders, too high to use. It looked like and felt as comfortable as a church pew. No matter how we tried, the sofa was just not comfortable and we ended up having to sit on the bed.
The other problem we had was in controlling the temperature of the room. The only way to keep it from heating up was to have the noisy air conditioner turned on, (even with the window open and the heat off the room kept heating up) which only took the room from hot to freezing and back to hot. At night the air conditioner kicking in and out made for a restless sleep. (Also if you are a light sleeper, be prepared to be awaken by the eager salmon fishermen that start launching their boats at the public boat ramp below your window - starting at 5:30am. Most seem to tow their boats with loud diesel trucks.)
The first night, upon our arrival and after a two hour drive, we thought a swim and hot tub sounded like a great idea - not!. Upon seeing how cloudy/mirky the water was, in both the hot tub and pool, we reluctantly decided not to risk it and went for a walk instead.

The positives: The staff were friendly. The room was clean. The bathroom was very nice.

We won't be back. For the price, there are much better options in Sooke.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank George C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, BC, Canada
1 review
Reviewed May 27, 2014

This Best Western is a Premier, top line property. Very near lots of natural attractions like beaches and world-famous trails. The room and the beds were excellent. Didn't try the restaurant because it was too up-scale for this mini-vacation.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank James C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
143 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 26, 2014 via mobile

Was offered the "Romance" package and enjoyed our balcony and oceanfront view. Rooms are modern but unspectacular. Enjoyed a very good meal at the new Western Grill. Reasonably priced too! Spa was difficult to book but General Manager was very accomodating and replaced our Spa coupon with added meal coupons. I will definitely go back :)

Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Moiraine8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 20, 2014

we stayed 2 nights at this hotel which is right on the ocean in Sooke. It is beautiful. We booked a waterfront balcony room which had an amazing view of the harbor. The restaurant is lovely and a little pricey. There are kayak , hobie cat and bike rentals close by and of course the galloping goose trail can be accessed from their location

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
1 Thank 445yvetteb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brentwood Bay, BC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2014

This is the perfect hotel for weddings and weekend getaways. Beautiful rustic west-coast village setting, lovely views, terrific hiking and boating, surrounded by great restaurants and lots of artists.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Corinne B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,152 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 992 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Wilderness Inn
#3 of 24 in Sooke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Victoria West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection

Property: Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
Address: 6929 West Coast Rd | BC, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0V1, Canada (Formerly Prestige Oceanfront Resort, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prestige Oceanfront Resort is your ideal haven for relaxation and rejuvenation. Our full service resort features luxurious guest rooms, exceptional dining experiences, and extraordinary hospitality. Rising above the Pacific Ocean, our waterfront resort offers breath-taking views of Sooke Harbour, Sooke Basin, Juan de Fuca Strait and the Olympic Mountains. Conveniently located near unique local attractions and recreational facilities, we invite you to indulge in a truly West Coast experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection Sooke, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing