We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great First Time Experience at the Sook Best Western”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Great First Time Experience at the Sook Best Western”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We stayed in room 339 and thought the room and the view were wonderful. The room itself was spacious and had a king size bed and small sitting area with a couch and chair as well. The bathroom was spacious and very nicely decorated too. The balcony off the room was lovely. Probably the only complaint we might have is that the balcony wasn't really private and we felt like we were intruding a bit on the privacy of our neighbours as you could see into their room while on the balcony. Of course we were respectful and didn't stare but it was hard not to be visible while out on the balcony...that said it was November so time outside on the balcony was limited.

Restaurant... with our amazing deal we had a $50 gift certificate so decided to try the restaurant at the hotel (Mix by Rics) and it was fantastic. We rolled in for a light dinner around 8pm. The restaurant was fairly full and number of red hat ladies enjoying a fun evening. Even with a large group there was still plenty of room for us to choose where to sit. We chose to sit at the wonderful bar and Phil, the bartender was great. We shared the tenderloin carpaccio and the scallops and risotto. The kitchen even split the risotto into two dishes. It was the perfect light meal for two. Phil, the bartender also made us two of the most delicious margaritas we have taste in BC, with fresh squeezed lime juice and upon our request with a light layer of grand marnier to add to the wonderful experience. We give the restaurant top marks for friendliness and service.

Overall we would recommend this hotel and restaurant and we will be sure to visit again in the future.

When we left the hotel we headed back to the northern part of Vancouver Island via the Pacific Marine Circle Route and love it! We say beautiful southcoast shoreline scenery, lots of surfers at China Beach and a bear near Port Renfrew. Highly recommend this drive if you have time.

Thanks for a lovely weekend!

Room Tip: Room 339 had a lovely view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Canadiantraveldiva7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are so pleased we could be part of your lovely getaway. We do enjoy our beautiful setting on the ocean in Sooke and its proximity to many more outdoor recreational activities and scenic drives. It will be my pleasure to pass along your compliments to the staff in The Mix by Ric;s. We thank you for your recommendation and look forward to welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

744 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    407
    223
    71
    24
    19
See reviews for
196
362
19
55
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (222)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Squamish, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed November 14, 2012

This hotel feels like a tropical islan hotel and in fact was modeled after one in Waikiki. The public spaces are very grand with beautiful furnishing and finishing. The view is fantastic being located on the water over looking the marina. It's true this is a little off the beaten path, but for those looking for a quiet getaway, it's a good choice. The rooms are large and comfortable.

Room Tip: I would choose a room on the 4th floor as they have balconies and the floors have carpet as opposed...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Oceanlover872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
I am glad to know you enjoyed your stay with us. It will be my pleasure to pass along your compliments to our design team. They worked very hard to ensure that our guests enjoy an atmosphere that encourages rest and rejuvenation. We hope you will keep us on your travel path for your next getaway.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo
Level 4 Contributor
42 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

We purchased a gift certificate for the Best Western Prestige Oceanfront that they had donated to our local Chamber of Commerce. Upon arrival we were pleasantly surprised to see that we had a lovely room overlooking the water. The rooms are fairly large. We found the housekeeping to be perfect (not something I say often). The clerk arrived a short time later with a bottle of wine for my husband's birthday which was a lovely gesture (and they were thoughtful in selecting a BC wine!). The room had a small fridge. The bed was large and comfortable. There was a hockey tournament staying at the hotel but we were not bothered by the other guests. We had been warned by the reservation clerk it might be noisy, however, we did not find it so. We would have liked to try the spa but were only in for one night. We would definitely return for another visit to explore the hotel further. Only thing we didn't enjoy was the air/heat unit coming on in the middle of the night. We actually woke up thinking a helicopter was landing! We fumbled around until we found the source of the noise and shut it off.

Room Tip: There are some rooms with a balcony. Those would be lovely in the warmer months.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LadyDebby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. It is always a pleasure to support organizations and thank you for purchasing the gift certificate. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay. I will forward your concern about the heating unit to our maintenance staff to correct the problem with that unit. We hope that on your next visit you will be able to stay longer so you can enjoy the spa.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Comox, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
348 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 181 helpful votes
Reviewed October 20, 2012

Feels like you are in Cancun rather than the west coast of British Columbia. Brand new, clean and spacious room - even a TV in the washroom, but just doesn't fit the feel for what I look for when travelling in BC. Perhaps a little more investment in staff and less on things would add a bit more to the feel of the place. Seemed a bit short-staffed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DiscoverAndEnjoy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, November 4, 2012
We always appreciate guest feedback and are pleased you enjoyed the amenities offered in your room. We are very proud of the superior product we offer our guests when they come to stay with us. Thank you for your observations and we hope to see you back for another stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

This is the newest hotel in the Sooke area, so thought it would be a safe bet to book there and get decent accommodations and amenities. The Best Western name also often influences me in my choice of hotels, especially in smaller towns. They have significantly upgraded the quality of their existing properties, and their new hotels are very nice, clean and modern.

The hotel was decorated to resemble a hotel from around the 1920's, with hardwood floors in the lobby, chandeliers and very nice decor. There is a beautiful back deck off the dining room and bar that provides very nice ocean views and would be perfect for summertime dining and cocktails.

Upon my arrival and check in, all was fine at the front desk (though as a Diamond member did not get offered the bonus points usually offered). Went up to my room and was very nice. Extremely high ceilings (at least 10 feet), and high doors (the 1920's style they are attempting to replicate). Furniture was very nice and retro looking. I didn't however care for the dark hardwood floors in the room i.e. cold at night and showed all the dust bunnies (and even one hairball) that housekeeping had missed in their last visit. Bathroom also very nice. Overall though, some fixtures were a bit too much in styling and didn't flow with the rest of the room. Also the windows have shutters vs. drapes which is fine, but the window latches to open and get fresh air were covered by bug screens that were nailed over that i.e. had to pop off the screen in order to open the window latch for fresh air. They could have thought that out a bit better, as I personally cant stand not being able to get fresh air in a hotel room.

The other thing they need to work on is that room service doesn't start until 7:00 am. Not convenient for the business traveller who needs to be on the road by that time or even vacationers with a long drive ahead of them for the day. Any hotel with their act together offers room service starting at 6:00 am to accommodate such needs.

The dining room and bar is very nice and huge. Good food and service was decent. Overall would stay here again for a business trip, but if for personal would be tempted to check out the other properties in town, like Sooke Harbour House.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 2000neon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 17, 2012
Thank you for sharing your experience. Though we relish the compliments we are also grateful to you for sharing your concerns. We value all our guests and do our best to recognize our Best Western Rewards members. We do offer bonus points to Diamond Members and I apologize that this may have been missed during your stay. I will send you a private message to inquire more about your stay you can receive your points. It is unfortunate that you had problems with the window latch. The screens are designed to open easily, I apologize that you had problems with the screen in your room. Our staff is always available to assist guests with any problems they may have during their stay. We are working closely with Best Western's I Care Clean specialists to refine our cleaning systems so our guests are ensured they can enjoy the rich hardwood floors free of dust. Thank you again for your review and we hope to see you back on your next trip to Sooke.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Funchal, Portugal
Level 4 Contributor
40 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed October 11, 2012

stayed here 1 night its a lovely hotel, very friendly staff . fantastic room with the biggest bed I have ever slept in. pool was good although water was a bit cold good breakfast in coffee shop would say here again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ritamillinchip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thank you for your recommendation. We look forward to welcoming you back on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blind Bay, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
229 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 129 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

This is a beautiful place and the facility itself is gorgeous as is the view from every room facing the water. The resort has a spa, swimming pool, hot tub, fully equipped exercise room and a pier for launching boats. The wide walkway out into the Bay allows visitors a wonderful view as well as great sunsets when the sky is clear. The bar has an enormous variety of cocktails, martinis and drinks. The food in the restaurant is very good. Lots of parking and an impressive lobby. The rooms are large and modern with a monochromatic decor - black, grey and white throughout. Beds are large and comfortable but... no fitted sheets ans the nightly fight with rumpled sheets. The room with a single bed has the strangest sofa that looks and feels like a small cell and is as uncomfortable as it looks. The floor is black hardwood. Excellent free wifi and chair and desk. Elevator is slow and somewhat unpredictable - seems to have a life of its own as it foes up and down at will. Windows are large and look over the water with inside shutters that open wide. The sunrise shines in the window over East Sooke and the view is amazing. Rooms are air conditioned.

Room Tip: Ask for a view room and a single bed
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brienbut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Guest Relations Manager at Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, October 15, 2012
Thanks for posting that great photo of the sunrise. It is always a bonus when leaving early from the marina for a day of fishing. Now that you've already experienced our Opulent Penthouse floor, on your next visit ask your Guest Services Agent for a room on one of the other three, differently themed floors. You have the Tropcial, Island Colonial, and Metropolitan yet to experience I will be sure to pass along your compliments and concerns to our team; guest feed back is always greatly appreciated. .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
0.8 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
20.2 mi away
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,197 reviews
16.9 mi away
Hotel Grand Pacific
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
71.2 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
19.0 mi away
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
Brentwood Bay Resort & Spa
#1 of 4 in Central Saanich
708 reviews
135.8 mi away
Painter's Lodge
Painter's Lodge
#2 of 16 in Campbell River
1,054 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection

Property: Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
Address: 6929 West Coast Rd | Bc, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0V1, Canada (Formerly Prestige Oceanfront Resort, Best Western Premier Collection)
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prestige Oceanfront Resort is your ideal haven for relaxation and rejuvenation. Our full service resort features luxurious guest rooms, exceptional dining experiences, and extraordinary hospitality. Rising above the Pacific Ocean, our waterfront resort offers breath-taking views of Sooke Harbour, Sooke Basin, Juan de Fuca Strait and the Olympic Mountains. Conveniently located near unique local attractions and recreational facilities, we invite you to indulge in a truly West Coast experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Best Western, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Evoline ltd so you can book your Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection Sooke, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing