We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely and New...but a few little touches needed...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Kelowna, B.C. Canada
Level Contributor
61 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Lovely and New...but a few little touches needed...”
Reviewed August 5, 2011

Brand new hotel so they still have some kinks to iron out....service in Restaurant was lacking and waitress kept forgetting items and then we got the wrong bill. Food overpriced (in our opinion) - one restaurant was closed Monday and Tuesday - little breakfast spot extremely overpriced and we waited and waited and then left - items looked "old and tired". All staff were very friendly and eager and always pleasant - housekeeping gal was wonderful and delighted us with her lovely little towel creations. They need a "card" to be environmentally "with it" as our towels and possibly bedding was always changed and was not always needed. We were there for three nites. We suggest a few extra hooks or towel bars in the huge bathroom (ocean view). Also, a soap dish would save alot of 'mess'..... look for the one little WINDOW that opens at the top if you freak out due to that closed in feeling - I was DELIGHTED to find it! Rooms have that very new smell and the window helps that alot! Carpet fumes etc.etc. Upgrades are a little pricey - $50 / nite for ocean view - little balcony would be extra as well. Ask! Beautiful gym but not easy to find as things were rather deserted, lites were off and doors are not easily seen as marked. Even though the resort is just several months open we noticed green stuff on bottom of pool....ick.

Room Tip: I probably would not spend $50 /nite extra for ocean view as we were hardly in the room - I probably...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Msdonna96
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PrestigeHotels, Marketing & Sales at Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection, responded to this review, August 22, 2011
Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we appreciate your input. We have shared your comments with management and staff. We’re sorry to hear that you had an unpleasant experience with the restaurant. Although our restaurants are run by 3rd party operators, we would be pleased to put you in touch with restaurant management. We have sent you a private message and invite you to send your contact information to us directly.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

690 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    375
    208
    68
    21
    18
See reviews for
179
336
19
50
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (215)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Get over it! The architecture, I mean. Sure, it looks like it was uprooted from Alabama and dropped here by an errant hurricane, but inside the tiny windows of this classic antebellum prison-style monstrosity you'll find a team of dedicated young staff, eager to please, spacious rooms, and a hip 'n happenin' atmosphere that is sure to become a hit as it becomes better known, and the local community gets over the shock and appreciates the employer.

Now, admittedly, it did take a return to the front desk when we saw our first room assignment (Room 423, with two tiny windows overlooking the tarpaper rooftop of the porte-cocher), but the next one out of the computer, 424 across the hall, was more money, larger room, and two not-much-larger windows overlooking the magnificent vistas that the architect tried very hard to conceal from guests. Flat-screen TVs in the room and bath, the single largest shower stall we've ever seen, comfy bed, complimentary and instant access WiFi, and a bar fridge that was empty and cold, awaiting our own stock.

Downstairs, a Ric's restaurant and bar, an indoor pool, full spa, a wine-bar, and a fancy European-looking coffee and snack shop compliment the always-inward-focused picture.

Another feature: It's staggering distance from Markus' Wharfside Restaurant, possibly the best restaurant on the Island!

Room Tip: Demand the view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jim-and-Rog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 30, 2011

Brand new oceanfront hotel with seals, otters, swans swimming right up to the shore and visible from my room, or from my gorgeous private deck with my coffee every morning. The staff are so friendly and eager to accommodate your every inquiry everything from "more towels please" to "where is a good restaurant?" and "can you book me on a whale watching trip"

The general manager (Ben Leversedge) will totally take care of you and your family here!!
We will be back for sure.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a deck facing the ocean!! AMAZING
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bhopwo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
75 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed June 26, 2011

Spent the last 2 nights at Prestige Sooke, this new hotel is very clean with a helpful staff. Room was very confortable with all the amenities. Tanis (front desk ) provided exceptional service,very helpful, knowledgable and friendly. We will be back

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vacationmlc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
Level Contributor
30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed June 11, 2011

Beautiful place. Not entirely finished, but is already full of nice ammenities. The rooms are modern and comfortable (big beds, nice linens, good shower, refrigerator, and plasma TVs). The staff is very friendly and the restaurant (Sal's) is decent with a full bar and great views of the water. Overall it's a nice place to stay and will likely be even nicer once complete. Look for deals before it's completed and they charge outrageous prices to stay here! Free wifi and parking a plus. Close to Sooke beaches and hiking.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shortstakk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nelson, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed June 3, 2011

We stayed at the Prestige in Sooke for two days. It was very relaxing with an ocean view . The rooms were clean and the staff was very friendly and helpful. We enjoyed a great meal at the hotel restaurant and our now planning any future stays in the area at the Prestige.

Room Tip: Ask for balcony room facing the ocean.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bammer51
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed May 25, 2011

This past Victoria Day long weekend, our family opted for a "stay-cation" just over the hill from West Shore home. a good call with half of Vancouver Island travelling over the Malahat!

Driving in off Sooke's front street, the hotel is impressive. Large corinthian-style pillars in front of the hotel make it look quite ritzy indeed. I liked that we just comfortably make our own way in to explore a lobby indeed reminiscent of a colonial plantation.

While creating a classic look (shutters on the windows vs. curtains) our rooms had the modern toys- flat screen tv in the main room as well as the bathroom. My daughter enjoyed watching "Max & Ruby" while bathing for over an hour...a nice treat for any parent! :)

Clearly, thought has gone into making the rooms both comfortable and elegant. I may be mistaken, but I believe the bed-side clock radio with it's multiple dim settings even had a docking-portal for an i-pad...too bad I'm packing a Bberry. While there's a trendy little bar fridge, wine glasses and coffee maker in the room, it's not a self-catering setup-FYI.

Our view over the local marina to the Sooke Harbour was a treat. We we spoiled to be the only ones in the pool and hot tub area- which we twice enjoyed!

As for staff, they are clearly taken with their jobs- seemingly almost pleased to be involved in working there- genuinely delightful! One staff even went out of her way to find a specially made teddy bear for my daughter- a nice touch sleeping away from home!

We went out to Mom's Cafe just down the street- circa 1950's set up just down the street. I recommend the food on site as well as that in town...a great variety of family dining for the size of town! On the Sunday- we took in the brunch at hotel restaurant- a super deal with wonderful service...again very genuine charming without being stuffy-- Did I mention great pancakes, fresh whip cream and the world's tastiest strawberry topping!

I could really see this place ideal for a couple's getaway or a group of friends. But the pool and extra fold out made it possible for our little family to have one of the most relaxing weekends we've enjoyed in quite sometime!

Room Tip: Room ending in -04 to -09
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank seedyb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,155 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 993 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Ocean Wilderness Inn
#2 of 24 in Sooke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Victoria West
Delta Hotels by Marriott Victoria Ocean Pointe Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection

Property: Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
Address: 6929 West Coast Rd | BC, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0V1, Canada (Formerly Prestige Oceanfront Resort, Best Western Premier Collection)
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 122
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Prestige Oceanfront Resort is your ideal haven for relaxation and rejuvenation. Our full service resort features luxurious guest rooms, exceptional dining experiences, and extraordinary hospitality. Rising above the Pacific Ocean, our waterfront resort offers breath-taking views of Sooke Harbour, Sooke Basin, Juan de Fuca Strait and the Olympic Mountains. Conveniently located near unique local attractions and recreational facilities, we invite you to indulge in a truly West Coast experience. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection Sooke, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing