We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Family time”
Review of The Mix by Ric's - Sooke - CLOSED

The Mix by Ric's - Sooke
Price range: $10 - $24
Cuisines: Seafood, Steakhouse
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed January 12, 2014

Our family, 14 people altogether went to spend New Year's at the Prestige Oceanfront resort in Sooke. Everything was enjoyable, from the meals to the rooms, staff, chef, atmosphere, views, setting ... you name it.The children had no complaints about any of the foods served and had a great time at the pool.
Everyone worked together to ensure a most pleasant experience for a great family vacation.
Congratulations Valérie, for going above and beyond.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lucie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyRics, Owner at The Mix by Ric's - Sooke, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Dear Lucie,

Thanks for choosing to spend your New Years' Eve with us, and for your review of our restaurant. We will definitely pass your comments on to Valerie and the rest of our team.

We look forward to delighting you and your family again soon!

Kind Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (88)
There are newer reviews for The Mix by Ric's - Sooke
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

21 - 25 of 88 reviews

Reviewed January 7, 2014

The food was excellent along with the service. I wouldn't recommend going there in the evening though as the prices are higher and the menu limited. If you have deep pockets ignore this fact.....

Thank mugsyvictoriaB_C_
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyRics, Owner at The Mix by Ric's - Sooke, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thanks for taking the time to write a review of your dining experience at the Mix by Ric's in Sooke.

We're happy to hear that you enjoyed the food quality and service, and wanted to let you know a bit about more about our food.

All of our food is made daily from scratch with fresh, high quality, ingredients. We have no need for preservatives, or microwaves. Desserts are also made in house daily, from scratch. The result is that some of our food prices are higher as compared to other restaurants, but we work hard to maintain excellent value for our customers, and feel confident that you can taste the difference.

Thanks again for your feedback, and we hope to see you back soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

You would not expect a restaurant of this type in such a small community, and frankly, we are not sure how they stay in business. On a Sat & Sun nights we stayed at the Best Western this restaurant is housed in and the restaurant was maybe 1/8 full. This impacts the vibe, for sure. Service is good, food is okay.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank AnniversaryGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyRics, Owner at The Mix by Ric's - Sooke, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Thank you for your feedback about our restaurant.

Sooke is very much a destination setting, where people come for events, weddings, and to get away from their fast-paced lives. That said, there are busy months (holidays, wedding season), and less busy ones. Unfortunately it is true that on a low season weekend, the vibe at the bar is much more “chill” than on a busy one.

We’re glad to hear that you experienced good service, but we continuously strive for excellence in our food quality and service. I have messaged you privately for details as to what we could have done differently to have you experience the excellence that we pride ourselves on.

Many Thanks,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2014

This was the best New Year's party we have ever been to! The 'Moulin Rouge' themed decorations and atmosphere were fantastic along with the amazing entertainment and dinner. Truly a spectacular evening, one we will never forget! I have put it on my calendar for next year!! Bravo to Val Lessard & team for an awesome event!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Food
Thank Sarah E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyRics, Owner at The Mix by Ric's - Sooke, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Great to hear it! We'll make sure to pass your comments along to Valerie and her team, and we look forward to celebrating with you again next year!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2014

I have made a new resolution this year, and that is to make sure I am back every year for the Mix by Rics New Year's Eve Event. Loved every minute. Great food, great atmosphere. Unbelievable entertainment. It was like going to Vegas but not having to go through the hassle of travelling. All the theme this year was cabaret style, must say the mc Ron Larson was great, dj bombus kept everyone upbeat, Chris Murdoch and luciterra, as well as the evolutionaries were amazing. The band coco jafro definitely rocked us into the new year. The brunch the next morning was superb. Can't wait for next year.

Thank Abened
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SunnyRics, Owner at The Mix by Ric's - Sooke, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Fantastic! We'll pass along your great feedback to our team, and look forward to celebrating with you every year! You know, our hard-working staff do an amazing job during the rest of the year as well ... we'd love to have you come check us out anytime ;-)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Mix by Ric's - Sooke also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing