We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved this local coffee hous”

The Stick In The Mud Coffee House
Ranked #2 of 3 Coffee & Tea in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $8
Description: Established 07-07-07. Friendly and local, family owned. Everything is baked on site. Beans are roasted in house. Wholesale is available for orher businesses. We ship beans. We have a Seasonal Shop (The New Branch) openin the Prestige Hotel in Sooke. May-October from 7Am til 2PM. SpeedStick is a busy little overflow location located right next to The Stick's main branch. THat sweet spot is open from 8-ish until 1 everyday. SpeedStick is also open Holidays.
Restaurant details
Description: Established 07-07-07. Friendly and local, family owned. Everything is baked on site. Beans are roasted in house. Wholesale is available for orher businesses. We ship beans. We have a Seasonal Shop (The New Branch) openin the Prestige Hotel in Sooke. May-October from 7Am til 2PM. SpeedStick is a busy little overflow location located right next to The Stick's main branch. THat sweet spot is open from 8-ish until 1 everyday. SpeedStick is also open Holidays.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Loved this local coffee hous”
Reviewed November 18, 2012

We had a Americano and Chai and a muffin and a panini...all were delicious and amazing! The service was friendly and fantastic. Highly recommend stopping by to have a bite to eat and warm drink.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Canadiantraveldiva7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    91
    37
    6
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Fort McMurray, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
592 reviews
379 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“Great in-house roasted coffeehouse”
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Hard to find.....on the backside if a strip mall. Small, quaint, excellent choice of coffees and lunch items.

Staff was outstanding at informing me of what to see, where to go and other places in their community. Thanks for your direction and advice.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Ross M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wish there was one of these in Vancouver!!”
Reviewed October 8, 2012

After hearing such great things from a resident of the area, I just had to stop by the coffee shop on my way out of Sooke after spending the long weekend and Im glad I did. It certainly made my drive to Chemainus alot more enjoyable. We got a regular mocha with extra whip, two apple cheddar muffins and a slice of Chocolate Zuchini loaf. Everything was amazing. The mocha was definitely one of the best if not the best that I've had. The cashier was extremely pleasant and we enjoyed a fun chat with another customer while waiting in line to collect our goodies, definitely wish there was one of these in Vancouver.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Mekye
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“The Art of Coffee Perfected”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Once in a rare while I stumble upon a cup of coffee and a cookie that are crafted with care. Obviously the proprietor of this joint knows what he is doing. He even roasts his own beans. Cool, laid back West Coast atmosphere and very friendly staff.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wakerider1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Funky hidden coffee shop”
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Totally happened upon this place by accident. Was looking for coffee and breakfast but didn't like what I was finding when I turned the corner and there was stick in the mud. Very friendly staff, funky interior, great baked goods, and yummy coffee. Just perfect for a place to nosh and gab. Also very kid friendly with toys inside and some play equipment out back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Daniel_Avery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Stick In The Mud Coffee House also viewed

Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
Sooke, Victoria Capital Regional District
 

Been to The Stick In The Mud Coffee House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing