We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Ocean Wilderness Inn
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
English Inn(Esquimalt)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (107)
Filter reviews
107 results
Traveler rating
81
16
6
1
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
81
16
6
1
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsprivate pathlog cabinb blush foresthot tubroad noisebreakfast roombeautiful locationstone fireplacegreat roompicture windowyogurtrooms are spaciousamazing viewsrickhoststrail
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 107 reviews
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We had three lovely nights at the Ocean Wilderness Inn. The friendliness and helpfulness of the owners was outstanding. We had to leave early on our last morning to catch a ferry - not only were we given a lot of help planning our drive around a marathon, but were given a delicious take away breakfast to eat while we were in the ferry queue. The rooms were lovely and clean, and contained all we needed. The breakfasts were delicious. The only downsides were the lack of a fan in the bathroom, and that we could hear too much of the guests in the upstairs room. The views from our room and the common room of the strait and Olympic Peninsula were beautiful.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sheridan H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

We loved our stay at the Ocean Wilderness Inn. The location is so peaceful you feel relaxed as soon as you arrive.Hosts Lori and And Andy made us feel very welcome and are knowledgable about everything there is to experience in the Sooke area. The room was lovely and spacious with beautiful fir floors and we slept well in the really comfortable bed. It was such a treat to wake to the sound of birds and wonderful aroma of our delicious breakfast being prepared. The long pebble beach beach is magnificent with petroglyphs at the far end. We watched the otters playing in the ocean and observed the Eagles rooke on the property. It was a getaway that we loved and won't forget. We will go back again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Debbie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2012

I am shocked at the rave reviews for this place as our experience was lacklustre in the extreme. Except for the loghouse reception/dining room, the place is a dump. I don't know how they justify their prices. The room decors are done by theme and would benefit from some serious interior design upgrades. The "theme" elements are just tacky.

Our room was quite bare bones with uncomfortable seating, but the bed was decent. The bathroom was Motel 6 quality. There is an ocean glimpse, but no views to write home about. The garden doesn't look like it has been tended to in ages and is messy/overgrown. Their wifi is totally hit and miss. The breakfasts provided no choice and were virtually inedible.

But the worst part is that the innkeepers make you feel like you are an imposition. We also felt eavesdropped on by the proprietress. They are in the wrong business, and apparently know it, as the place is for sale.

This place is NOT a hit, it is a total miss, and we recommend you give it a miss.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Bucerias_Homeowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ljlecount, Owner at Ocean Wilderness Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 1, 2012

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. We welcome all feedback on how to improve.

I am sorry that you were disappointed in your stay. While we strive to provide a welcoming, comfortable and delicious experience for all our guests we obviously did not succeed in your case. I only wish you had made us aware of your disappointment during your stay so that we might have at least addressed resetting the wifi and the providing breakfast alternatives for you.

Again, my apologies that we fell short of your expectations.

Best wishes for future travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We have visited this B&B in August 2012. I wish we had more time to spend there.
The location is magnificent, the owners are very helpful and very nice, the rooms beyond our expectations, the cleanliness is unbelievable for me, and the breakfast is one of the best I ever had.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Poisik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

My husband & I stayed at the Ocean Wilderness in for 2 nights in early August. Our main reasons for visiting Vancouver island was to relax near the ocean and go whale-watching.
The Ocean Wilderness was in a perfect location - just outside of Sooke, it was peaceful and relaxing.
We stayed in the Pacific Panorama room, which was very spacious, clean, and had a beautiful view of the ocean. The bed was really comfortable, and there was a mini-fridge in the room which was helpful for storing our bottles of local wine!
The 2 highlights for us were definitely the direct access to the ocean, and the hottub!
There is a path that leads from the garden down a winding path to the ocean - it's about a 2 minute walk, but it's well-maintained (I wore flip-flops and I was fine!). The beach itself is made of rocks, so make sure you bring something to sit on if you want to relax by the ocean for awhile. We spent about an hour on the beach during our first night, and had a wonderful time. It was so quiet - only one other couple that we could see in the distance.
We definitely took advantage of the hottub. It has amazing ocean views, and was the perfect way to end a day of whale-watching out on the Pacific! We were even able to sip some wine in the hottub, using the plastic wine glasses provided by the Inn.
Each morning we had breakfast at a big table in the main room. It was nice chatting with the other guests, and speaking with Andy & Lori about different attractions in the area. The food was good - hearty, but sometimes a little dry. Nevertheless we were delighted to have a hot, comforting meal to get us on our way for the day!
Some other great features of the Inn - free internet access, Keurig coffee & tea available 24/7, and the wide selection of books and magazines available about the region.
Overall, I would highly recommend the Ocean Wilderness Inn to anyone looking for a relaxing ocean-front getaway in a perfect location!!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MissionToTravel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews