We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely charming...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 8, 2012

Everything about our stay here was beyond our expectations, even having read so many great reviews before choosing to stay here. The room, with a soaker tub and a balcony, was very large, yet cozy. The meals were delicious and made with produce from the on-grounds gardens. The grounds just invite one to stroll or sit and relax, including a wonderful sitting area with a firepit near the water. An easy walk takes you to the Whiffen Spit and another great stroll.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank GEdmonds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (541)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 340 of 541 reviews

Reviewed September 6, 2012

We went all over British Columbia and this was my favorite place to stay. The rooms are lovely, comfortable, and unique. The restaurant was fabulous; I felt like I was in the middle of the ocean. Altogether, their service was spectacular. The complimentary breakfast in your room was decadent and delicious! I cannot wait to go back someday!

Room Tip: My children loved the family suite!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank JBDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Although I had heard a lot of people mention how lovely this place is, I really didn't do any research beforehand. As a result I was totally surprised and impressed. The room was very special - the bed huge with lovely linens that just enveloped you when you slept with the doors & windows opened. There is a soaker tub on the balcony that sets a perfect mood looking out at the Olympic Mountains. The dinner was gourmet quality with lovely wines to match each course.
Would highly recommend it particularly to east coasters looking for a unique B.C. experience.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank debbie1webbie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

The accomodations were very comfortable and absolutely unpretentious. Our stay at the beach house; the view to the straits, and the sense that we were all alone was sublime. All this topped only by the food which, either in the restaurant or nearby, was fresh, interesting and simple wonderful. We will be back.

Room Tip: Rooms at the "beach house" level walk straight out to a fabulous patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jim H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed 2 nights for a long weekend to celebrate a special birthday for my mother. She LOVED it. She is a photographer and couldn't get enough of the pictures of the view at every time of day. I also brought our dog who enjoyed walking on the spit just outside of Sooke Harbour House. The dinner was outstanding with unbelieveably good service. Local oysters, ling cod, pork, unusual teas and delicious desserts. The front desk staff was also terrific - they really mean it when they say they will go out their way to make your stay comfortable. Rooms are large and comfortable and the fireplace makes it that much more cozy. This trip reminded me of why this is a favorite getaway.

Room Tip: Read the descriptions online to pick the one that fits your mood! Everyone is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

(We also had a wonderful meal at the restaurant--five stars for that!) We spent three nights here as a long weekend celebration for a special anniversary. The staff was friendly on check in and our room had an exceptional view of the ocean, wonderful bath amenities and linens. The fireplace was ready to light. We did not realize until we arrived that breakfast was not served in the restaurant, but in your room. While the food was delicious and our server/housekeeper was very kind, it just was not comfortable to have to eat hunched over the coffee table--especially when right below us the beautiful dining room with perfect views was empty. This has the feel of the fading beauty of an old house. We could not get consistent internet service in our room, so we ended up spending an hour each morning at the Best Western hotel coffee shop just so we could check and send emails. This is a destination wedding spot, as well. At 11pm we finally closed our windows so we did not have to hear "The Macarena" which was being played by the DJ at the reception in the garden. We would return (again and again) for the food and dinner ambiance of the restaurant. But, for the price, there are many better places to stay in and around Victoria. It seemed to us that they catered more to people who were just spending one night after a meal, rather than travelers who wanted a base from which to explore the lower west coast.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank DCtripview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. The place is lovely - beautiful and peaceful location. Accommodation was charming and lovely. Breakfasts are good - delivered to your room each day at an appointed time. Sooke's musch heralded restaurant is an abomination. Our dinner was like the Keystone Kops. Expensive with jarring combnations that do not work. To add to that, they did not refill wine, 45 minutes between courses and then the food was not cooked through. Major disappointm,ent.

Room Tip: Kingfisher room has a solarium in it, ideal for eating breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Catapano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 47 in Victoria
1,352 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 47 in Victoria
1,086 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 47 in Victoria
3,916 reviews
Olympic Lodge
#1 of 16 in Port Angeles
2,024 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel

Address: 1528 Whiffin Spit Rd | British Columbia, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0T4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Price Range: $121 - $290 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel is located on Southern Vancouver Island overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Olympic Mountains, and has direct beach access to Whiffin Spit on the Juan de Fuca Strait. Our unique 28 rooms feature a selection of fine amenities including spa tubs and steam showers. All of the guest rooms have wood-burning fireplaces and ocean views, with the exception of the very spacious family room which overlooks our garden area. The internationally award-winning fine -dining restaurant serves organic, seasonal, Canadian cuisine, specializing in wild seafood, mushrooms, herbs, and flowers from its organic gardens. We offer meeting facilities, spa services, recreational activities and eco-tourism in pristine wilderness. Whale watching can be enjoyed within walking distance, and on occasion the Orcas swim in front of the hotel! The Sooke Harbour House is a perfect destination for weddings, romantic holidays and an 'any season getaway'. In 2016 all 28 guest rooms were sympathetically renovated with new carpets, beds, luxury linens and 40 inch flat screens with cable tv. In September 2016 we opened our wonderful new Copper Room, featuring a large selection of Island produced craft beers, wines and spirits as well as international favourites. The Copper Room is open from 11:00am to 9:00pm year-round daily, serving a more casual menu of wholesome and hearty foods as an alternative to our fine dining. *** Please note: From 18th October until May 31st our fine-dining restaurant is closed every Tuesday and Wednesday. It is open for dinner Thursday to Monday from 5.30pm to 9.00pm. Throughout the high season the fine dining restaurant is open 7 days a week for dinner. The Copper Room is open daily serving food and beverages making Sooke Harbour House a full service resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Otel and Hotwire so you can book your Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sooke Harbour House Hotel Sooke
Sooke Harbour Hotel
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing