We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always a favorite”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Seattle, Washington
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Always a favorite”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

Stayed 2 nights for a long weekend to celebrate a special birthday for my mother. She LOVED it. She is a photographer and couldn't get enough of the pictures of the view at every time of day. I also brought our dog who enjoyed walking on the spit just outside of Sooke Harbour House. The dinner was outstanding with unbelieveably good service. Local oysters, ling cod, pork, unusual teas and delicious desserts. The front desk staff was also terrific - they really mean it when they say they will go out their way to make your stay comfortable. Rooms are large and comfortable and the fireplace makes it that much more cozy. This trip reminded me of why this is a favorite getaway.

Room Tip: Read the descriptions online to pick the one that fits your mood! Everyone is different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank C L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

516 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    299
    87
    54
    44
    32
See reviews for
60
345
11
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

(We also had a wonderful meal at the restaurant--five stars for that!) We spent three nights here as a long weekend celebration for a special anniversary. The staff was friendly on check in and our room had an exceptional view of the ocean, wonderful bath amenities and linens. The fireplace was ready to light. We did not realize until we arrived that breakfast was not served in the restaurant, but in your room. While the food was delicious and our server/housekeeper was very kind, it just was not comfortable to have to eat hunched over the coffee table--especially when right below us the beautiful dining room with perfect views was empty. This has the feel of the fading beauty of an old house. We could not get consistent internet service in our room, so we ended up spending an hour each morning at the Best Western hotel coffee shop just so we could check and send emails. This is a destination wedding spot, as well. At 11pm we finally closed our windows so we did not have to hear "The Macarena" which was being played by the DJ at the reception in the garden. We would return (again and again) for the food and dinner ambiance of the restaurant. But, for the price, there are many better places to stay in and around Victoria. It seemed to us that they catered more to people who were just spending one night after a meal, rather than travelers who wanted a base from which to explore the lower west coast.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DCtripview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 5 Contributor
81 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 14, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. The place is lovely - beautiful and peaceful location. Accommodation was charming and lovely. Breakfasts are good - delivered to your room each day at an appointed time. Sooke's musch heralded restaurant is an abomination. Our dinner was like the Keystone Kops. Expensive with jarring combnations that do not work. To add to that, they did not refill wine, 45 minutes between courses and then the food was not cooked through. Major disappointm,ent.

Room Tip: Kingfisher room has a solarium in it, ideal for eating breakfast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catapano
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremont, California
Level 6 Contributor
481 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 157 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2012

After seeing this hotel on a local TV travel show, I decided to stay here. It is everything we'd hoped for and then some. The room was wonderful, with a view of the Olympic Mountains in Washington from the patio and bathtub. Absolutely gorgeous. The inn is pet friendly too so traveling with our dog was no problem. Because of the dog, we didn't eat in the dining room but instead had room service and had the very same food. It was fantastic. We stayed here 2 nights and both nights were just ideal. We'll stay here again some day.

Room Tip: Splurge, get the best room you can afford and enjoy the view
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shaymur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
1 review
Reviewed July 29, 2012

We stayed in the Sooke Harbour House with our two 11 year old sons, and we were again blown away by the stunning seaview, and the exquisite cuisine. The elk neck was so tender, slow cooking at its finest. We were made to feel very welcome, and even our children enjoyed the homey though stylish atmosphere. The deer came right up tot our door to nibble at the lovely tended gardens. The library and the art we found everywhere in the hotel are an absolute extra.
We can fully recommend the Sooke Habour House.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Petrak066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kirkland, Washington
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We bicycled to and from Sooke Harbour House on the Galloping Goose Trail from Victoria. Our stay and meal was our reward for our exerted energy in traveling there. Each room of the House has an art theme and and is peaceful and relaxing. No two rooms are alike but each are carefully and tastefully appointed and a treat to stay in. Dinner was expensive, however all the food was of exceptional quality and prepared to perfection. We ordered the wine fleet with our meals and with each course the bottle was left on the table allowing for more than just a one glass pour. Very generous. We found the service to be friendly and attentive. Sooke Harbour House is one of a kind. It's not a chain resort and should be enjoyed for what it is, a unique retreat.

Room Tip: Sooke Harbour House is popular place for weddings. If you want a quiet seclusion it might be best to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melody_440
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Island, Nebraska
Level 6 Contributor
652 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 371 helpful votes
Reviewed July 17, 2012

Our first visit to SHH took place in 1985 when we made a six-hour journey from Seattle just to have dinner. We were hooked and have returned about every two to three years since. The inn is located at the end of a peninsula that becomes a spit and juts into the bay. The view from the rooms, quite frankly is one of the most stunning in the Northwest or the world for that matter. One looks across the Strait of Juan de Fuca as tankers purposefully chug along in the distance, making their way toward Seattle. Beyond the Strait, though, the gorgeous Olympic Mountains shoot many thousands of feet above the water, forming a spectacular backdrop. In the winter they are covered with snow and during other seasons, fingers of fog caress them. It makes for a view that beckons you to spend hours on your private porch. Adding to the view, waves lap the pebble beach below you, the smell of salt air invigorates and intoxicates, and gulls cackle back and forth as they pass overhead. If this sounds magical, I assure, it definitely is. SSH has a way of washing all your troubles away with each lapping wave. There are about thirty rooms in the inn, many with soaking tubs and fireplaces of one sort or another. Each has a different motif that relates to the Northwest or the inn. If you like Native Northwest art, the Victor Newman Longhouse room is the way to go. For the best view, the rooms on the third floor are the best. They have offered seaweed tasting classes in the past and this is a wonderful experience to appreciate how delicious kelp and seaweed truly are when freshly harvested. It may help with your survival skills if you ever happen to be stranded near the ocean. Wildlife is present is present everywhere so be sure to walk, walk, walk. This is a great place for kids as well and everyone will enjoy the wonderful and varied art that adorns the hallways, much of it for sale.

Room Tip: Be sure to have dinner at SHH. Surprisingly, the weather can be quite pleasant here in the winter w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mingfatsai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 49 in Victoria
1,223 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,036 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Hotel Grand Pacific
#14 of 49 in Victoria
2,060 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#20 of 49 in Victoria
3,698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel

Property: Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
Address: 1528 Whiffin Spit Rd | British Columbia, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0T4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel is located on Southern Vancouver Island overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Olympic Mountains, and has direct beach access to Whiffin Spit on the Juan de Fuca Strait. Our unique 28 rooms feature a selection of fine amenities including spa tubs and steam showers. All of the guest rooms have wood-burning fireplaces and ocean views, with the exception of the very spacious family room which overlooks our garden area. The internationally award-winning fine -dining restaurant serves organic, seasonal, Canadian cuisine, specializing in wild seafood, mushrooms, herbs, and flowers from its organic gardens. We offer meeting facilities, spa services, recreational activities and eco-tourism in pristine wilderness. Whale watching can be enjoyed within walking distance, and on occasion the Orcas swim in front of the hotel! The Sooke Harbour House is a perfect destination for weddings, romantic holidays and an 'any season getaway'. In 2016 all 28 guest rooms were sympathetically renovated with new carpets, beds, luxury linens and 40 inch flat screens with cable tv. In September 2016 we opened our wonderful new Copper Room, featuring a large selection of Island produced craft beers, wines and spirits as well as international favourites. The Copper Room is open from 11:00am to 9:00pm year-round daily, serving a more casual menu of wholesome and hearty foods as an alternative to our fine dining. *** Please note: From 18th October until May 31st our fine-dining restaurant is closed every Tuesday and Wednesday. It is open for dinner Thursday to Monday from 5.30pm to 9.00pm. Throughout the high season the fine dining restaurant is open 7 days a week for dinner. The Copper Room is open daily serving food and beverages making Sooke Harbour House a full service resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sooke Harbour House Hotel Sooke
Sooke Harbour Hotel
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing