We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute #1 top place on our West Coast roadtrip from San Francisco to Vancouver!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Absolute #1 top place on our West Coast roadtrip from San Francisco to Vancouver!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2011

My wife and I recently went on a roadtrip from San Francisco back up, home to Vancouver, Canada - something we've long wanted to do but never got around to. Beautiful trip, saw great places, but weren't quite "done" when we were getting close to home (Vancouver), so we decided to put the icing on the cake by ending our trip with a short trip to Vancouver Island, to visit Sooke Harbour House. Boy, did we ever save the best for last...! The Sooke Harbour House really is a very rare treat, that actually puts meaning into the now much overused phrase "boutique hotel". This 28-room "inn" is truly boutique: unique in its design, decor, art-filled public and private rooms and hallways, library, giftshop, gallery, and last but certainly not least - the amazing edible gardens that surround the hotel. Views that take your breath away; strait of Juan de Fuca at your feet, Olympic mountains in the background, East Sooke's forrests to the side, ocean wildlife abound. The food is stunning, both for dinner and breakfast (complimentary gourmet bf served in-room). Since we were wanting to close our roadtrip with a big bang before going back to work, we pulled out all the stops, including an extensive gastronomic dinner menu that lets the chef decide on the countless courses served, excellent wine pairing (the fist-thick winelist, with Wine Spectator grand award status for many years, featured all the wineries we just visited in California wine country, and anything else from any good winery around the globe you could think of!), and we even got a spa session organized in the privacy of our room in the morning. So much nicer than wandering the hallways in your robe to the spa! We were sad to leave, but happy to know that the best part of our trip was the closest one to home - we'll just have to visit more often (and longer), and save on all that driving down to California! What a delight to have Sooke Harbour House in our proverbial back-yard!

Room Tip: All the rooms are unique - there's no going wrong here! Plus, website features full descriptions...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Marc_Larrous
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

466 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    84
    46
    44
    28
See reviews for
45
319
10
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2011

Sooke Harbor House exceeded all our expectations. The setting is superb, the house is well-designed & well maintained, the staff is very professional and accommodating, & the food is great. The excellent library and the art are neat additions to what was a memorable trip. A great place for a getaway.

Room Tip: Ask to take a look at available rooms before you decide.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ifmiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Friday Harbor
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2011

If we could return tomorrow we would. The view from our wonderful room was more than fabulous!
I dont know how to begin telling about the food. Each meal was better than the one before. Breakfast, a pancake filled with berries, syrup and cream was awe unforgettable Forget about dieting, take a walk on the beach after your meal and you will have enjoyed a perfect day.
Cant wait to return.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank linda k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2011

Two nights in a heavenly room: fireplace; mist shower; decanter of Port; soaking tub; king bed; waterfront balcony with a hot tub to take in the incredible view of seals and otters playing and the fishing boats going to and fro to the Strait of Juan Fuchs framed by the Olympic Mountain range. Thinking back about the view etc., I almost forgot the incredible dinner served onsite from the Dining Room with the same view and an excellent staff. Can't wait to go back to enjoy the room, the fine dining, and the meticulous gardens surrounding this inn.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NCLawyer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Louis
Level Contributor
129 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2011

This is our second stay at Sooke Harbour House. The location on the water is dramatic and beautiful. Our room opened to a lovely patio with a hot tub. The gardens are filled with wild flowers and herbs...and very docile deer! The room was spacious and homey with thick towels and robes. Boots were available to troop through the beaches and tide pools. No TVs in the room, but there is a TV if you MUST see it in the potlatch room...but just watch the waves and parade of boats cruise past the Olympia mountains. The rates are pricey and you really need to ASK for specials, since they will not be offered. We came back all the way from St Louis, yet they wouldn't honor a discount coupon that was expired.....now we know it was expired, but the good will that $20 coupon would have bought summed up our experience. Beautiful on the surface, but just missing the mark of customer service that one expects at this price of a hotel

  • Stayed July 2011
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank glu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Luis Obispo
Level Contributor
68 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2011

I could have stayed a week! I had read many reviews but was scared off initially by the prices, until a chance encounter and recommendation at a Portland restaurant led us to decide on this location. For a family of four (2 "children"-17 & 21), we normally need 2 standard rooms and were going to book that nearby but we were able to all stay comfortably in room 27. We paid a little extra but SO well worth it. My kids were in heaven-tub in the middle of the room with a view across the bay. My daughter even went in with her bathing suit on! What a tranquil way to start a vacation.
Perhaps little things could have been fixed beforehand-couple of lights out-but I just laughed and told the desk as we checked out.
Our host and hostess went out of there way-looking for a bicycle pump for our son and a screwdriver for my husbands glasses-all this (unbeknownst to me at the time) while they were entertaining guests for dinner.
I really enjoyed this area and lodging. Hope to return soon. And try out the sauna! Great way to start your day before walking on the spit.

Room Tip: Room 27 good for 4-loft with 2 singles and even an extra single downstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank susieQbee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2011

My husband and I greatly enjoyed our stay at Sooke Harbour House. The property is absolutely beautiful, the staff delightful, the art work throughout the House incredible, and the dining experience one of the best we have encountered in our travels. Great place to enjoyed nature while enjoying the luxuries of life. We highly recommended Sooke Harbour House and hope to return soon.

Room Tip: Room 25 was an excellent rrom as is the Blue Heron Room - privacy and faces the water and Mt Olympus...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank migmartin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
Oak Bay Beach Hotel
#3 of 52 in Victoria
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,114 reviews
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Magnolia Hotel And Spa
#2 of 52 in Victoria
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,475 reviews
The Fairmont Empress
#19 of 52 in Victoria
4.0 of 5 bubbles 3,425 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel

Property: Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
Address: 1528 Whiffin Spit Rd | British Columbia, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 0T4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 Hotels in Sooke
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel is located on Southern Vancouver Island overlooking the Pacific Ocean and Olympic Mountains, and has direct beach access to Whiffin Spit on the Juan de Fuca Strait. Our unique 28 rooms feature a selection of fine amenities including spa tubs and steam showers. All of the guest rooms have wood-burning fireplaces and ocean views, with the exception of the very spacious family room which overlooks our garden area. The internationally award-winning fine -dining restaurant serves organic, seasonal, Canadian cuisine, specializing in wild seafood, mushrooms, herbs, and flowers from its organic gardens. We offer meeting facilities, spa services, recreational activities and eco-tourism in pristine wilderness. Whale watching can be enjoyed within walking distance, and on occasion the Orcas swim in front of the hotel! The Sooke Harbour House is a perfect destination for weddings, romantic holidays and an 'any season getaway'. In 2016 all 28 guest rooms were sympatheically renovated with new carpets, beds, luxury linens and 40 inch flat screens with cable tv. In September 2016 we opened our wonderful new Copper Room, featuring a large selection of Island produced craft beers, wines and spirits as well as international favourites. The Copper Room is open from 11:00am to 9:00pm year-round daily, serving a more casual menu of wholesome and hearty foods as an alternative to our fine dining. *** Please note: From 18th October until Spring our fine-dining restaurant is closed every Tuesday and Wednesday. It is open for dinner Thursday to Monday from 5.30pm to 9.00pm. The Copper Room is open daily making Sooke Harbour House a full service resort. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sooke Harbour House Hotel Sooke
Sooke Harbour Hotel
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing