We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A joyous stay in an English garden.”
Review of Markham House

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Markham House
Ranked #13 of 24 Sooke B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 17, 2010

The Markham House was a wonderful and unexpected surprise. The rooms are beautiful, the breakfasts are gourmet quality, the setting is several acres of English garden and the proprietors are charming, helpful and courteous. It was an overall magical experience.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AllenL11a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (32)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 22 of 32 reviews

Reviewed August 13, 2010

Our stay at Markham House was the end portion of a three part vacation - and now we wish we'd booked a longer stay!

The home itself is in a fantastic location - very quiet, away from the city and so makes for an incredible night's sleep, and yet Victoria is a mere 30 minute drive away, should one want to partake of some shopping, dining, sight seeing, or what have you. The grounds are impeccably kept, and you could spend hours just sitting and taking in the scenery and breathing the fresh clean air. Lets also not forget the outdoor hot tub, which goes perfectly with the cool Sooke evenings.

We were booked in the Garden Suite, and it was huge! King sized bed, bathroom, jacuzzi, TV and DVD player (not that we used them), and high speed wireless internet. Could not have asked for a better room/suite.

Breakfast every morning was an absolute feast! We were there four mornings, with a different breakfast every morning. Blueberry pancakes, waffles, omelettes, scrambled eggs, fresh fruit, muffins, scones, sausage, bacon, granola, yogurt, home-made jam and marmalade, freshly squeezed orange juice - we never quite knew what would greet us each morning, but we knew it would be delicious!

Finally, I would be remiss if I did not mention our hosts, Lyall and Sally themselves. They managed to be friendly and attentive, yet kept a low profile at the same time. Privacy was never an issue, yet if you needed something, they were right there. I'm quite certain there was some kind of magic involved. They were helpful with suggesting local attractions, and made for some wonderful conversation on many occasions

In the end, I wish we had been able to make our stay longer, and consider Markham House to be a location of choice the next time we find ourselves in BC. Do yourselves a favour and book a stay with Sally and Lyall if you ever find yourselves in the area.

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TrevorSmith1969
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2010

I recently spent 3 days at the Markham House B & B. My husband and I spoke with Sally several times over the phone and received wonderful customer service. We knew we were in for a treat when we arrived with 7 members of our family last week. We were fortunate enough to rent the entire B & B and even extend our trip by a day, in order to catch some great charter fishing down in Sooke.

The food was incredible. Lyall even packed us a picnic lunch for our fishing trip since we missed the fabulous breakfast one day. We were married on the beautiful grounds and couldn't get nearly enough of the scenery and flowers. The beds were heavenly and we couldn't have dreamed of a better place to get married, spend time with our familes and start our honeymoon off the right way!

Lyall and Sally are a dream! You are amazing at what you do and we all wish you the best in your future endeavors. I hope whoever buys the Markham House keeps it just as you have it. It couldn't be better!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CGal3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 31, 2010

We spent the previous night looking for BnBs on the internet, but web sites can't give the feel of a place. We wondered if Markham House could live up to the professional looking photos on their web site; in fact the experience is better in every way. The rooms are very nice, and the decor tasteful rather than twee (a two volume edition of Carlysle's French Revolution was amonsgt the books in our room). The gardens are simply superb, over 3 acres of landscape and 6 more of forest to explore. The hot tub is probably the best located I've ever used; and Lyall and Sally are lovely, and can't do enough to help. The cooked breakfast is also a far cry from the usual hotel and motel fare. The house is Tudor style so has small windows and isn't the brightest, and except for the beautiful trout pond and stream in the gardens there is no water view, but the positives far outweigh the negatives. Thoroughly recommended.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank madwab22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 7, 2010

The Markham House is the gold standard by which I judge all other B & B's. Lyall and Sally set the bar so high, I almost feel sorry for other hosts. Totally relaxing, never formal or stuffy. They have great recommendations for things to do and see but are never intrusive. The house and gardens are beautiful and the breakfasts are out of this world. A short trip from all the sights of Victoria, but far more relaxing and enjoyable. A fantastic hot tub, too! The perfect hosts and the best place to stay in Sooke.

  • Stayed: April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank orcasgypsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2010

This bed and breakfast was amazing! The hosts are gracious and thoughtful but allow you your privacy. They provided us with great information on restaurants and hikes in the area, as well as a homecooked breakfast of pancakes, hot muffins and scones, fresh fruit salad, eggs, tea, coffee, juice...

The rooms were beautiful and comfortable with down bedding and pillows, nice linens, well decorated in soft colors with a luxurious antique feel. The gardens and fishing pond evoke English country gardens with blooms everywhere.

Sooke was quiet but a relaxing retreat which was still convenient for trips around the Island and only 20 mins outside of Victoria.

  • Stayed: August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank seh19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 5, 2010

The room, the beds, the bath were all perfectly comfortable. The owners were attentive but not hovering. The food was delicious and above average. The table was set with beautiful china in a beautiful room. I didn't expect blueberry pancakes and omelets and scones.

The distance from Victoria was perfect for a relaxing sleep, very quiet and peaceful. I would go back and my friend agrees.

  • Stayed: December 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank martessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Sooke
Fairfield
Abigail's Hotel
Abigail's Hotel
#1 of 49 in Victoria
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Moonlit Cove B&B
#8 of 24 in Sooke
89 reviews
Ocean Wilderness Inn
#2 of 24 in Sooke
105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Markham House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Markham House

Address: 1775 Connie Rd, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 1C8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 24 B&Bs / Inns in Sooke
Price Range: $76 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Markham House 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Secluded on 10 acres, only 35 minutes from Downtown Victoria, B.C. Close to beaches, parks and hiking trails. Extensive Gardens and Forest. King, Queen and Twin beds. Honeysuckle cottage on the edge of our woods is a favorite for romantics. Cable, DVD, Stereo, Telephone, WiFi in all rooms. Elegant breakfast served at the time of your choice in the main dining room or, at the cottage for cottage guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Markham House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Markham House Sooke, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing