We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Lovely Retreat”
Review of Orveas Bay Resort

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Sooke
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Orveas Bay Resort
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Sooke
Saskatchewan, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“A Lovely Retreat”
Reviewed January 24, 2014

A friend and I stayed at Orveas Bay a couple of years ago. What a wonderful spot to relax and enjoy nature. The views from our cabin were beautiful and we had the entire resort to ourselves as it was off season. The cabins are well appointed with everything you need to enjoy your time at Orveas Bay. Our hosts were helpful and welcoming. We were delighted to come home one afternoon to find slabs of chocolate cake waiting for us. I would highly recommend this spot if you are looking for a quiet retreat.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Faith R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    5
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
46
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sunshine Coast BC
Level Contributor
228 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2013

We recently spent 3 nights at Orveas Bay Resort and it was a delightful getaway. It is not too far a drive from Victoria, and we had arrived in at Swartz Bay, taking the ferry over to the Island from Tsawwassen. The First Mates suite is bright and airy and contains all you need - a well equipped kitchen, breakfast items, including a good pancake mix, and coffee and tea fixings. The view is beautiful and there are lovely comfy chairs on the deck as well as inside, in case it is not great outdoor weather. In Sooke there are plenty of eateries, and Point no Point has a lovely dining room for a special dinner. We were able to take the short drive from Orveas Bay up to China Beach and then we did the 17km hike,round trip, from China Beach to Mystic Beach and then on to Bear Beach. A bit of a challenge but a great walk through the trees. September is a gorgeous time here on the West Coast.
The one caution I would offer is to be sure to arrive at Orveas Beach in daylight as it is much more difficult to find landmarks in the dark. Also the turnoff from the main road is at the Shirley Delicious Cafe, which is a great little spot to stop at.
All in all, a great place to go to.

Room Tip: The Captains Quarters and First Mates quarters have fully equipped kitchens if you want to go this r...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cucina58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pequot Lakes, Minnesota
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay! Here are a few reasons why:
-Close to some of the beautiful rugged beaches on the road to Port Renfrew
-A great break from the crowds of Victoria and even Sooke.
-Awesome view of the ocean--also there is beach access, but be advised that it is only for those that are fit and easily able to navigate a steep slope.
-Amazingly clean cottages that are spaced out from one another offering great privacy
-Rooms are stocked with many of the basic grocery items.
-Your own hot tub (clean!) and BBQ Grill (clean!)
Just a great place--low key and beautiful.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank berglund07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Squamish
1 review
Reviewed August 6, 2013

This was like a little peace of heaven. A VIP experience without any problems, nothing missing, and most importantly home from home. Never have I seen a cabin with so much art to enjoy. I cannot wait to return for a family reuinion at the Captains cabin. Magnificent.

Room Tip: any cabin will have all the facilities and beauty of the place.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Meg W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

We stayed for 4 nights July 28-august 1 in the First Mates Cabin. We absolutely loved our stay. Comfortable and relaxing. It is just like visiting a friend. Ron and June have toght of almost evything to make your stay as comfortable as possible. When tidying our room one morning, Ron even noticed my daughter was using the turtle lamp at night to use yiur ipod all night without bothering me. He replaced the turtle with a lovely night light. They are knowledgable of the area and pointed us to the finest beaches and meals in Sooke. Had some excitement when the downdown was vandalized and the bank set on fire in Sooke, again, they kept us updated on what was happening. Great, quiet and beatiful views and gardens. You won't regret your stay here!

Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jude V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gothenburg, Sweden
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 2, 2013

I cant say one bad thing about Orveas Bay Resort. Me and my boyfriend stayed in the port cabin for a few nights and it was superb. Loved the layout of the cabin, and the cosy atmosphere. Every need had been anticipated, and more! We felt so relaxed watching the beautiful view of the ocean and cooking outdoors on the grill that was provided. On our first day there was a power outage for a few hours. It didnt bother us one bit. The next day, our hosts gave us a bottle of wine to compensate for this. Again, it had been no inconvenience to us but the sentiment was heart-warming. I would recommend this place 1000 %!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2013

For a girlfriends getaway, we stayed here for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed ourselves! Between the gazebo hot tub to the nice little fireplace and eclectic movie collection...we made ourselves right at home. Great place to disconnect from the outside world and just spend time relaxing. We stayed in the First Mate's Quarters and next time think we might rent the 'Captain's Quarters' just because it looks a little more roomy...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sarah w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Sooke hotels
9.3 mi away
Sooke Harbour House Resort Hotel
8.9 mi away
Prestige Oceanfront Resort, BW Premier Collection
3.1 mi away
Ocean Wilderness Inn
Ocean Wilderness Inn
#3 of 24 in Sooke
4.5 of 5 bubbles 96 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.9 mi away
Points West Oceanfront Resort
6.7 mi away
4 Beaches Bed & Breakfast
8.8 mi away
Sooke Harbour Resort and Marina
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Orveas Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Orveas Bay Resort

Property: Orveas Bay Resort
Address: 2577 Sunnybrae Rd | BC, Sooke, British Columbia V9Z 1G4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Victoria Capital Regional District > Sooke
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 18 Specialty Lodging in Sooke
Number of rooms: 4
Also Known As:
Orveas Bay Resort Sooke, Vancouver Island

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing