We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome spot for a wedding!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Auberge Prema Shanti
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Val David
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Awesome spot for a wedding!”
Reviewed October 7, 2013 via mobile

We just got married at Prema Shanti and everything was absolutely perfect! The setting is warm and welcoming, the food is amazing, the service is flowy and the staff is friendly and so much fun!
The rooms are all decorated differently which made it more fun for our guests who were all curious to see what the other rooms were like. Yes, some could use some updating, but the charm and warmth is definitely there. None of the rooms have a phone or alarm clock and some only have a bath and no shower. That didnt bother us at all! As a guest, you can also use the paddle boats and the huge hot tub in the back.. Which just adds to the fun and relaxation! :)
The owners helped us with tips on everything from seating plans to decorations and they did everything to accomodate us. They offer an all-inclusive type package and though the numbers might seem high at first, they are not considering everything the staff does for you. They handle all the logistics on the big day so the bride and groom can relax and enjoy every moment! They did get us worried a few times for different reasons, but everything turned out more than fine.
We've been to this inn 3 times now, including the wedding day, and we've always been entirely satisfied. Our guests had nothing but positive comments about the food and the service.
To sum up, awesome food, great service and amazing setting (whatever the season) for all occasions!
We'll be back to see you guys soon enough!

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

197 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    37
    11
    11
    13
See reviews for
33
117
4
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
145 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
Reviewed September 9, 2013

Prema Shanti appears to have had a number of renovations in recent years with a focus on making it an attractive site for weddings. However it also served our purposes very well. We spent one night there while cycling the Petit train du Nord bike path. The Auberge is very conveniently located just off the path about one km from the centre of Val David. It is in a quiet neighbourhood on a small lake. We did not swim in the lake but did take advantage of the outdoor hot tub. Our rooms were clean, with king beds and overlooking the lake - very restful. Like many other places on the bike path, it had a separate room to store our bikes safely. The breakfast - served at 9:00 unless you ask for it earlier - was of good quality with eggs, crepes, bacon, beans and potatoes. All in all a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hawkhardt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Prema Shanti offers a charming environment combining a tropical feeling between Morocco and Africa. A perfect place for an "intimate" wedding (we had 100 guests). The personnel is friendly. The owners, Karim and his wife Dani, get personally involved in the planning of a perfect wedding. The staff enhanced the experience for our guests. They were instrumental in delivering a perfect wedding while taking over the smallest details.

Room Tip: The rooms in the Annex don't have a shower in the room. Only a bath in the middle of the room...
See more room tips
Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Business082
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Terrebonne, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Been there with my mom (85) also my sister & the place is AMAZING. everything is perfect, located on a Lake, the view is very nice. Nice big rooms with kitchenette, the host are so nice & helpful with everything you need :-)) I can't wait to go back & I recommended to everytbody, I'm sure you'll enjoy your stay!!!!

Room Tip: If you book in advance ask for a room on the lake side...wow!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Windsor, NY
Level Contributor
34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed August 6, 2013

We stayed with another couple at Prema Shanti in July 2013 while we were biking from Mont-Laurier to St-Jerome on Le P'tit Train du Nord rail trail. The inn is about 1 km SE of the center of Val-David on Lac Dore, a small, quiet lake (no power boats). The inn has a private swim beach, dock, and platform. The inn is easily accessible from the rail trail, though not obvious.
We arrived in the afternoon and were given rooms in an annex building across a quiet street. Our rooms had therapeutic baths, rather than showers, so we asked to be moved to rooms with showers, and they seemed happy to switch us. Since we were across the street, our rooms did not have a view of the lake, but the rooms were comfortable, air conditioned, and nicely furnished, if somewhat oddly arranged. The beds were very comfortable. We seemed to be the only occupants in the annex, and the doors of the unoccupied rooms were left standing open, so we walked around and looked into some of the rooms. Some of those bedrooms were truly luxurious! But those rooms had the therapeutic baths, not showers.
The inn provided secure storage for our bikes in a separate building.
It was a fairly hot day for Quebec, so we spent some time swimming in the lake before dinner. Just lovely. Kayaks and paddleboards were also available at the beach.
Dinner was outstanding, and the service was excellent. The tables look out over the lake, a lovely setting. Apparently, breakfast is normally served starting at 9 am, but we asked if we could have breakfast at 8 am, to get an earlier start biking. Again, the staff seemed happy to accommodate us, and we were served breakfast at 8 am.
Definitely staying here again next time we are in the area.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PFern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2013

Our small group only stayed one day and night but it was a very good one. I took advantage of the lake to swim and used one of the kayaks to go around this peaceful lake and see the beach I used to swim at as a child. The hotel staff members were very helpful ( they cheerfully changed our room at the last minute and opened the new building across the road for us to accommodate my cousin who was having an unanticipated mobility problem) . The rooms were very comfortable and attractive.
We ate at the Inn for dinner and breakfast. Everything served was exceptional both in taste and presentation. I hope to return in the future.

Room Tip: The older rooms are closer to and have some facing the lake. The newer ones are across the road but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Threl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013

We just returned from a week in the Val David area, and stayed 5 nights here. This is a family owned inn with 15 rooms facing a crystal clear lake with swimming. The owners are friendly and solicitous. An excellent Breakfast and 4 course dinner with choices are cooked on the premises for the guests daily. Wow! How relaxing.

Room decorations was a little whimsical, very untraditional and creative, with an Nuevo-Indian feel. Lots to do in the area, close to town. Bikes and pedal boats are available free.

It sets up a very relaxing, retreat-like feeling. Highly recommended if you like things just a little bit different.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vacationer6081154
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Val David
4.6 mi away
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
Auberge aux Nuits de Reve
#1 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
341 reviews
4.2 mi away
Auberge Hotel Spa Watel
Auberge Hotel Spa Watel
#3 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
310 reviews
4.0 mi away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Motel Le Radisson De Val-david
8.4 mi away
Esterel Resort
Esterel Resort
#1 of 1 in Esterel
723 reviews
3.7 mi away
Super 8 Sainte Agathe des Monts
Super 8 Sainte Agathe des Monts
#2 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
392 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge Prema Shanti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge Prema Shanti

Property: Auberge Prema Shanti
Address: 1005, Tour du Lac, Val David, Quebec J0T 2N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Val David
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Spa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 4 Hotels in Val David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Auberge Prema Shanti 3.5*
Number of rooms: 30
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Auberge Prema Shanti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge Prema Shanti Val David, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing