We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“great location for so many family activities”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Val David
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalets Le Village Suisse
Certificate of Excellence
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“great location for so many family activities”
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We loved the location and the amenities of the Swill Village for all our family's needs. The village of Val-David is so close for your amenities and there are so many activities surrounding the area. With several teenage kids, we all had fun with the communal fire pit (smore's), peddal boat and accomodating chalets. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank christina s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    90
    20
    2
    7
See reviews for
123
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed August 25, 2012

My family of four stayed in a chalet for five days. We had initially been planning to stay at Mont Tremblant, but after reading through many reviews, decided that this would be the more rustic, back-to-nature kind of stay we were looking for. It was perfect! Not fancy, but everything we needed to cook meals (including a grill), relax on the porch or by the fire at night, jump in the pool or hot tub, and sleep comfortably. The kids loved having their beds in the loft area. There was not much storage space as far as closets, but because we weren't using one of the bedrooms, we stored all our luggage there.

The town of Val-David is very cute. The main activities seem to be biking (there is a paved trail that goes right by Village Suisse), hiking at the national park right down the street, and canoeing or kayaking. There is a small grocery store and several galleries and restaurants. The lake at the Village Suisse is really not swimmable, which was a disappointment. We did have fun with the paddle boats though.

I would recommend it to anyone looking for a simple, comfortable lodging with plenty of outdoor activities nearby.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank km_north
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed August 20, 2012

6 friends spent a night at cottage (La Geneve), our experience was very bad. Chalet is very basic, kitchen was too compact (like in a studio), bedrooms were ok, flooring is bad, if you walk you can hear tweaking sound all over the cottage, deck was too compact good enough for 2 people to sit comfortably, it is not lake front as described, bath room did not have exhaust so it was very inconvenient to use it back to back. I will recommend you to avoid it, it was not able a enjoyable stay since we had to make lot of comprises. The only good thing was bread served in the morning was good quality.

Room Tip: Don't go by photos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sri_Ch_22_06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgarroway, Owner at Chalets Le Village Suisse, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
I'm sorry to hear that the chalet was not as you were expecting, however, we do not advertise that our Chalet La Geneve is lakefront (it has access to the lake as others the other chalets do). The photos of the chalet on our website are clear - showing the kitchen, bathroom and balcony. It also clearly states that our chalets were built in the 1950's and are ~550 sqft. They have been well maintained, but are certainly not a modern construction. It is true that the original wood floors have some scratches/wear.
For future clients - please take note: our chalets are rustic!! Please expect an authentic 1950's chalet experience. We continually invest in upgrades and maintenance, but the walls, floors, windows, fireplaces, some furniture and exteriors are original! It is not for everyone, but most find it very charming. (PS- all the beds/linens/pillows/tvs/cooking utensils are new!).
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
1 review
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We were 4 couples who rented 2 connecting chalets (Geneve & Zurich, 2 bedrooms each), and the accommodations could not have been better. We had a child with us and a dog and everybody absolutely loved their stay. Comfy beds, TV, wi-fi... and we were happy to find the chalets equipped with: toaster, pots and pans, coffee maker, cutting boards, dish soap, hair dryer, flash light. We had everything we needed for our nightly cook-outs.
Though the pool was a little small, the hot-tub was great and the location was perfect: great walking trails, bike trail and close enough to the local depanneur, Metro supermarket and farmer's market.
Loved it!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chrystina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

NEUCHATEL - 1 floor cabin summer 2011
- 2 bedrooms with 1 double bed in each
- BBQ, Microwave, TV, DVD, Internet, fireplace
- Washer and dryer in basement of 1 of their cabin
- Pool was nice and well heated (even a 2nd one for small kids)
- Office people, very very helpful
- Francine (cleaning lady) is quite quick to come if you have any problem but the only problem for me is that she cleans cabins with her 2 dogs. It's ok to bring dogs along for a trip but not so much for the cleaning lady
- Val David is a VERY NICE village but would recommand you to do the grocery at Ste Agathe
- Walking trail right on site
- very affordable
- For people complaning about the kitchen's sink, I would just answer *It's a CABIN!* If you want the same feel as your home, stay home
- Kitchen Floor was going down in one corner but again, it's a cabin
- Beds were pretty comfy
- Bread delivered for free! And tasted great!
- For the cabin's smell (humidity) bring scented candles, works perfect

LES ALPES - 2 floor cabin winter 2012
- 2 bedrooms with 1 double bed in each
- Mezzanine with 3 Twin size beds
- TV, DVD, Microwave, BBQ, Internet
- Fireplace was very efficient! Beleive me!
- Washer and dryer in basement of 1 of their cabin
- Pool is nice in summertime
- Spa
- Office people, very very helpful (french man)
- Francine (cleaning lady) is quite quick to come if you have any problem but the only problem for me is that she cleans the cabins with her 2 dogs, it's ok to bring dogs along for a trip but not so much for the cleaning lady
- Val David is a VERY NICE village but would recommand you to do the grocery at Ste Agathe
- Walking trail right on site
- very affordable
- For people complaning about the kitchen's sink, I would just answer *It's a CABIN!* If you want the same feel as your home, stay home
- Beds were pretty comfy and kids enjoyed sleeping on the mezzanine a lot, had enough Duvets in all bedrooms, we were not cold at all
- Kitchen was spacious enough - we were able to sit easily 4 at the table and 3 at the breakfast counter
- Bread delivered for free and tasted great!
- For the cabin's smell (humidity) bring scented candles, works perfect


Will come back again for sure! Loved *Les Alpes*
Loved all the office people I've met
Loved Francine's help (but not the dogs so much, I'm just not into dogs)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MrsPalmBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sainte-Adèle, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2012

A friend and I recently stayed at the Village Suisse and loved it! The handmade wooden furniture and mezzanine bedroom upstairs gives the chalet real charm and character. The beds were super comfy, the fireplace had us glued to the sofa, and the chalet was clean and well-equipped. Next time I'd love to come with my son; it's the perfect family vacation spot with a hot-tub for the grown-ups, swimming pool and safe yard area for kids, and easy access to the artsy village of Val David. Thanks for everything Diana!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnieRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My husband and I are avid cross-country skiers and were looking for an affordable and peaceful winter "reading week" retreat - we found this at Le Village Suisse. The cross country skiing at the adjoining Park and on the "p'tit train du Nord" was a real treat (both just steps away from our door). We were booked for 5 nights and ended up staying an additional night in a different Chalet (which we wanted to try) because we couldn't make ourselves leave after a beautiful snow fall the previous evening. The cottages themselves are very sweet, charming and we found the beds surprisingly comfortable (we are very picky about that). We enjoy cooking our own food, so having a full kitchen was ideal (there are, however, great restaurants in Val David available). Having a roaring fire every night was fun and cozy after a day of skiing. The staff were fantastic, warm, helpful and relaxed - a real pleasure. Fresh bread at your door also a real bonus. There were a few negatives that we should mention for the more sensitive traveler; We found that our first chalet had an odd smell that made it feel dirty (we bought scented candles, real fire wood, and incense at a local store); it really turned us off at first. As well, the counter in the first Chalet was worn (we covered it ourselves for our stay) and the seal around the front door was torn up (we made our own duct tape seal to prevent the cold air from getting in) - in general, it needed some sprucing up. Do note, however that we did not complain about these things because we didn't really care too much and we just wanted to be left alone and enjoy our skiing. We mention this because if you are sensitive to such things and need more "Ritzy" accommodations, this may not be for you (we like it rustic). Our second Chalet was much better in terms of scent and cleanly ambiance; so I think there is likely some variability depending on which Chalet you get. We typically have stayed at La Sapiniere in the Winter (five course meals and huge breakfast buffets don't interest us anymore)- Le Village Suisse will have our business from now on. We want to return tomorrow! We are going to book for next year absolutment!

Room Tip: If you are a couple, we advise getting one of the "stand alone" chalets (though perhaps a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgarroway, Owner at Chalets Le Village Suisse, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience. We are really happy you enjoyed the fireplace and rustic nature of our chalets. Plus the amazing snow! It is absolutely our pleasure to greet and help out our guests. I'm pleased you felt welcomed.

I'm glad you mentioned the rustic side of our chalets and hopefully it does help other potential guest to decide if a rustic chalet experience is for them or not. Our chalets were built in the 1950's although we try very hard to keep on top of all the maintenance items, there are invariably always items on our list. In response to your particular details, we did find the source of the off smell (there was a partially blocked pipe) - which was not normal and has been repaired- and the door seal has been replaced. The counters are still the originals from the 50's and we are planning on an upgrade in the next year.

Thanks again and see you next time!
Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Val David
0.4 mi away
Auberge Prema Shanti
Auberge Prema Shanti
#2 of 4 in Val David
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Sainte Agathe des Monts
Super 8 Sainte Agathe des Monts
#2 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel Le Radisson De Val-david
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chalets Chanteclair Villegiature-Resort
2.3 mi away
Chalets Lac a la Truite
Chalets Lac a la Truite
#1 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Le Village Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Le Village Suisse

Property: Chalets Le Village Suisse
Address: 1175 Rue de la Spainiere, Val David, Quebec J0T 2N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Val David
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Val David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalets Le Village Suisse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Curl up next to the fireplace with your family in a cozy swiss-style chalet. Ski from your door onto 130km of perfectly groomed cross-country ski trails or take off with your dog to explore the snowshoeing trails and beautiful lookouts. Like to cook? Your chalet is equipped with everything you need. Or enjoy one of the amazing french restaurants that are in easy walking distance. On site, enjoy our full service resort including outdoor hot tub (year-round), swimming pools (summer only), lakefront, free peddle boats (summer) and housekeeping options. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalets Le Village Suisse Val David, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing