We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“*Neuchatel* et *Les Alpes*”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Val David
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chalets Le Village Suisse
Certificate of Excellence
West Palm Beach, Florida
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“*Neuchatel* et *Les Alpes*”
Reviewed April 12, 2012

NEUCHATEL - 1 floor cabin summer 2011
- 2 bedrooms with 1 double bed in each
- BBQ, Microwave, TV, DVD, Internet, fireplace
- Washer and dryer in basement of 1 of their cabin
- Pool was nice and well heated (even a 2nd one for small kids)
- Office people, very very helpful
- Francine (cleaning lady) is quite quick to come if you have any problem but the only problem for me is that she cleans cabins with her 2 dogs. It's ok to bring dogs along for a trip but not so much for the cleaning lady
- Val David is a VERY NICE village but would recommand you to do the grocery at Ste Agathe
- Walking trail right on site
- very affordable
- For people complaning about the kitchen's sink, I would just answer *It's a CABIN!* If you want the same feel as your home, stay home
- Kitchen Floor was going down in one corner but again, it's a cabin
- Beds were pretty comfy
- Bread delivered for free! And tasted great!
- For the cabin's smell (humidity) bring scented candles, works perfect

LES ALPES - 2 floor cabin winter 2012
- 2 bedrooms with 1 double bed in each
- Mezzanine with 3 Twin size beds
- TV, DVD, Microwave, BBQ, Internet
- Fireplace was very efficient! Beleive me!
- Washer and dryer in basement of 1 of their cabin
- Pool is nice in summertime
- Spa
- Office people, very very helpful (french man)
- Francine (cleaning lady) is quite quick to come if you have any problem but the only problem for me is that she cleans the cabins with her 2 dogs, it's ok to bring dogs along for a trip but not so much for the cleaning lady
- Val David is a VERY NICE village but would recommand you to do the grocery at Ste Agathe
- Walking trail right on site
- very affordable
- For people complaning about the kitchen's sink, I would just answer *It's a CABIN!* If you want the same feel as your home, stay home
- Beds were pretty comfy and kids enjoyed sleeping on the mezzanine a lot, had enough Duvets in all bedrooms, we were not cold at all
- Kitchen was spacious enough - we were able to sit easily 4 at the table and 3 at the breakfast counter
- Bread delivered for free and tasted great!
- For the cabin's smell (humidity) bring scented candles, works perfect


Will come back again for sure! Loved *Les Alpes*
Loved all the office people I've met
Loved Francine's help (but not the dogs so much, I'm just not into dogs)

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank MrsPalmBeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

217 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    98
    90
    20
    2
    7
See reviews for
123
50
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Sainte-Adèle, Quebec, Canada
1 review
Reviewed April 4, 2012

A friend and I recently stayed at the Village Suisse and loved it! The handmade wooden furniture and mezzanine bedroom upstairs gives the chalet real charm and character. The beds were super comfy, the fireplace had us glued to the sofa, and the chalet was clean and well-equipped. Next time I'd love to come with my son; it's the perfect family vacation spot with a hot-tub for the grown-ups, swimming pool and safe yard area for kids, and easy access to the artsy village of Val David. Thanks for everything Diana!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MinnieRichardson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

My husband and I are avid cross-country skiers and were looking for an affordable and peaceful winter "reading week" retreat - we found this at Le Village Suisse. The cross country skiing at the adjoining Park and on the "p'tit train du Nord" was a real treat (both just steps away from our door). We were booked for 5 nights and ended up staying an additional night in a different Chalet (which we wanted to try) because we couldn't make ourselves leave after a beautiful snow fall the previous evening. The cottages themselves are very sweet, charming and we found the beds surprisingly comfortable (we are very picky about that). We enjoy cooking our own food, so having a full kitchen was ideal (there are, however, great restaurants in Val David available). Having a roaring fire every night was fun and cozy after a day of skiing. The staff were fantastic, warm, helpful and relaxed - a real pleasure. Fresh bread at your door also a real bonus. There were a few negatives that we should mention for the more sensitive traveler; We found that our first chalet had an odd smell that made it feel dirty (we bought scented candles, real fire wood, and incense at a local store); it really turned us off at first. As well, the counter in the first Chalet was worn (we covered it ourselves for our stay) and the seal around the front door was torn up (we made our own duct tape seal to prevent the cold air from getting in) - in general, it needed some sprucing up. Do note, however that we did not complain about these things because we didn't really care too much and we just wanted to be left alone and enjoy our skiing. We mention this because if you are sensitive to such things and need more "Ritzy" accommodations, this may not be for you (we like it rustic). Our second Chalet was much better in terms of scent and cleanly ambiance; so I think there is likely some variability depending on which Chalet you get. We typically have stayed at La Sapiniere in the Winter (five course meals and huge breakfast buffets don't interest us anymore)- Le Village Suisse will have our business from now on. We want to return tomorrow! We are going to book for next year absolutment!

Room Tip: If you are a couple, we advise getting one of the "stand alone" chalets (though perhaps a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PatriciaRae
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgarroway, Owner at Chalets Le Village Suisse, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience. We are really happy you enjoyed the fireplace and rustic nature of our chalets. Plus the amazing snow! It is absolutely our pleasure to greet and help out our guests. I'm pleased you felt welcomed.

I'm glad you mentioned the rustic side of our chalets and hopefully it does help other potential guest to decide if a rustic chalet experience is for them or not. Our chalets were built in the 1950's although we try very hard to keep on top of all the maintenance items, there are invariably always items on our list. In response to your particular details, we did find the source of the off smell (there was a partially blocked pipe) - which was not normal and has been repaired- and the door seal has been replaced. The counters are still the originals from the 50's and we are planning on an upgrade in the next year.

Thanks again and see you next time!
Diana
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
37 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2011

My husband and I decided to have a small weekend getaway with our two dogs. We are not nature people, but wanted to try something different. The alps is by far the best in terms of location and nicer inside. It's a good place if you bring your dogs, lots of places for them to run.

It is a rustic chalet with with basic essentials, nothing fancy. Surrounded by trees and woods, there are tons of insects everywhere in August so bring lots of repellent. When arrived, the owner was very helpful and very accommodating. The place is conveniently located near everything, 5 minute drive to a convenience store and a metro grocery store just a bit further.

The good:

-for the price, it is a good value, the essential are there, fridge, stove, TV with a few dvd's, a few games.
-fireplace
-good if you bring pets, lots of place for them to run
-good location
-bbq provided
-staff is very helpful and approachable

The bad:

-the place is too cold even with the fireplace, bring extra blankets with you
-bed was somewhat lumpy
-wished they would have been more amenities provided
-if you bring dogs that are hyper and get overexcited, be careful with the little stairs that go on the second floor for the extra beds, they can be dangerous. Both of dogs fell from there after a few stairs and I had to block the access.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rosestar99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgarroway, Owner at Chalets Le Village Suisse, responded to this review, March 12, 2012
Thanks for taking the time to write about your experience at Le Village Suisse. I'm glad that overall you seemed to enjoy your getaway with your dogs and the fantastic location of our chalets.

I'm surprised you found your chalet cold in August. Each chalet is insulated for 4-seasons and has electric heating in every room. Each bedroom has down duvets and extra blankets. It is true that if the heating is not used, generally the chalets stay quiet cool in summer (usually a good thing).

The bugs are actually very mild at our place compared to most chalets in the Laurentians. Being so close to town gives us the advantage of fewer bugs.

Also, we have baby gates available (free of charge) for the stairs. I'm sorry you were not made aware of this. If you have any suggestions at all for the amenities you would have like to see, please do not hesitate to contact me: info@villagesuisse.ca

All suggestions are always welcome. Thanks again for your comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
YYZ
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2011

My wife and I and our 2 kids (aged 14 and 11) stayed at Le Village Suisse for 5 nights recently. The location is good, about a 5 minute walk from the pretty village of Val David in the Laurentian mountains.

Overall, I would say that the chalets offer decent value for money. I gave it an overall rating for 4 out of 5 stars, but 3.5 would be a better score. The chalets are pretty basic, but clean, and have the necessities for a self-catering holiday: fridge, stove, microwave and all cookware and plates/glasses. No dishwasher, at least for the chalet we were in. I found my bed to be a bit lumpy, but my wife thought it was OK.

The pool was great: good size with a deep end and a diving board. My kids spent a lot of time in it. They also provide wood for a campfire, which we took advantage of on a couple of nights,

Diane (one of the owners) provided lots of info about things to do around Val David. We took advantage of a deal she has with "Pause Plein Air": for $100 (taxes in) we got 2 canoes for a 7.5km lazy paddle down the Riviere du Nord (North River) to Lac Raymond, where the staff from Pause Plein Air met us with bikes, and we biked the 3km back to Val David. The canoeing was fun (you are going with the current) but the bikes were not exactly Cadillac models. Still, highly recommended.

Le Village Suisse also has passes that you can use to get free entrance to Secteur Dufresne of the Parc régional de Val-David‑Val-Morin. The entrance is literally next door to the chalets. We did a 2 hour hike, that saw us climbing to several hilltop vantage points for a great view of the valley. The Park is huge and you could easily go on a all-day hike if you have the time and fitness level.

Finally, Le Village Suisse is about 100m away from the "Parc Linear", a 200km crushed gravel bike path that was built on an old rail bed. I rented a decent bike from Roc and Ride and had a good 3 hour ride. The great thing about a trial built on a rail bed is that there are no huge uphill gradients.

Overall Le Village Suisse reminded me of the old "family-style" resorts you used to see a lot in Muskoka: they weren't terribly fancy, but they were a good choice for a family vacation and the average joe could still afford them.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Hogtowner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
23 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed August 22, 2011

Admittedly, we had imagined a larger property from the pictures on the website so our high expectations probably made it difficult for the place to meet them in reality. Everything is pretty much as shown and explained in the website. We stayed in the Neuchatel cottage which was cozy but lacked air conditioning, a dish washer and was close to the street. That was probably what made the most jarring first impression, the proximity to a somewhat busy street with a row of privacy hedges to separate us. It the front entrance to the chalet had faced the other way it would have looked over the nice green open field of the property and made for a nicer impression. If given a choice, choose Les Alps or Le Montreux chalets. They are in the best positions on the property. It was also a bit of a walk to take out the garbage or do the laundry (but it's nice that it's free). The website had also warned us, but we had forgotten to bring shower soap so it would have been nice if they could have provided some additional bathroom amenities besides toilet paper for this reason. The staff was very helpful and accomodating and the toy shop/reception idea is nice. However the hours are usually from 10am to 5:30pm and not to 8:00pm as noted. That was a bit of an inconvenience as the longer hours would have been nice to give us time to get DVD's, games, etc.. after supper. The location of the overall property was great. At most a 10 minute stroll to downtown Val David, restaurants and grocery store. Also a short 5-10 min drive to the local attractions (beach, amusement parks for small kids). Make sure to go ask about discounts to local activities because the village suisse can provide great discounts. The heated outdoor swimming pool was fantastic fun for the kids. If they could figure out how to install a playground area for kids it would be nice, but I'm not sure there is enough space. The firepit to roast marshmellows was a nice touch though. So overall it was just an ok experience for us probably due to our expectations but it is likely to be enjoyable for most.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms furthest from the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank travelwithfamily8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dgarroway, Owner at Chalets Le Village Suisse, responded to this review, October 24, 2011
Thank you for your honest comments and despite your initial expectations, I am happy to hear that overall you enjoyed your stay. Le Neuchatel is our smallest chalet (and least expensive). A good size for couples, but for families with children, our 3 bdrm chalets are certainly a more comfortable size.

As stated on our website, the chalets are located on 2 acres of land (spacious, but not huge!), and are between 400 and 600 sqft.

The road mentioned here is actually a private (dead-end) entrance for Hotal La Sapiniere just next to us. It splits our land (most chalets on one side, access to the small lake on the other). In peak season, it would be rare to see more than 20 cars per hour, and otherwise passage is no more than a few cars per day.

The reception hours were recently changed (closing at 5:30 instead of 8) because of lack of demand. Our cell phone is always open (and we- the family owners- live on-site) and we are happy to help outside of the reception hours. Will be sure to update the website to refect the new hours - thanks for pointing it out.

In response to your needs, we have moved the dvd collection to the laundry room (open 24hrs) and will look into installing a 2nd garbage closer to Le Neuchatel/LesAlpes.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
montreal
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 12, 2010

I have to say that our weekend at "Le Village Suisse" was everything we were hoping for. The house we rented was adorable and very clean from top to bottom. A really comfortable home that I only have good things to say about. The owners left nothing out as it had everything we needed to be comfortable. When they say the only thing you really need to bring is your own towel, that is the truth. They supplied everything from the toilet paper to even the pepper and salt. Beds were comfortable and the area, beautiful. Lot's of walking paths and lakes. A great place to get away to for a little R@R. We will certainly be back. Thank you to Le Village Suisse.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank traveller69Montreal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Val David
0.4 mi away
Auberge Prema Shanti
Auberge Prema Shanti
#2 of 4 in Val David
4.5 of 5 bubbles 194 reviews
3.5 mi away
Super 8 Sainte Agathe des Monts
Super 8 Sainte Agathe des Monts
#2 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
4.0 of 5 bubbles 392 reviews
0.8 mi away
Motel Le Radisson De Val-david
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.4 mi away
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
Hotel Spa Chateau Sainte-Adele
#2 of 11 in Sainte-Adele
4.0 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
2.4 mi away
Chalets Chanteclair Villegiature-Resort
2.3 mi away
Chalets Lac a la Truite
Chalets Lac a la Truite
#1 of 4 in Sainte Agathe des Monts
4.5 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chalets Le Village Suisse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chalets Le Village Suisse

Property: Chalets Le Village Suisse
Address: 1175 Rue de la Spainiere, Val David, Quebec J0T 2N0, Canada
Location: Canada > Quebec > Val David
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Ski-In / Ski-Out Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 5 Specialty Lodging in Val David
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chalets Le Village Suisse 3*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Curl up next to the fireplace with your family in a cozy swiss-style chalet. Ski from your door onto 130km of perfectly groomed cross-country ski trails or take off with your dog to explore the snowshoeing trails and beautiful lookouts. Like to cook? Your chalet is equipped with everything you need. Or enjoy one of the amazing french restaurants that are in easy walking distance. On site, enjoy our full service resort including outdoor hot tub (year-round), swimming pools (summer only), lakefront, free peddle boats (summer) and housekeeping options. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Chalets Le Village Suisse Val David, Quebec

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing