We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A real gem.”
Review of Parkway Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Parkway Motel
Ranked #1 of 13 Hotels in Wawa
Certificate of Excellence
Harrow, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“A real gem.”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for business the coldest time of the year. It's a real lovely place with newly appointed interior and done very tastefully. It's roomy and cozy. Lovely hosts as well. The location is well enough back from the road to minimize any traffic noise.

Room Tip: Great web booking option.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ron G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ParkwayMotel, Manager at Parkway Motel, responded to this review, February 2, 2013
Thank you for taking time to provide your feedback regarding our motel.
We would take pleasure to welcome you back on your next travel to Wawa.
Anna and Andrew
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

298 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    236
    50
    10
    1
    1
See reviews for
80
126
25
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (45)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

We were presently surprised by the Motel. When we drove up we thought oh dear maybe we should cancel. I am very glad we did not. The rooms are newly renovated and very clean, the staff was great. Thank you very much!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Laura T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2012

After looking at several over-priced and shabby motels in Wawa, we discovered this beautiful little gem of a motel just south of the town along (but off) Hwy. 17. The gorgeous fuchsia hanging plants outside the motel rooms made a better advertisement than their highway sign! Our room was very clean and nicely decorated with resort-type furniture, new refrigerator, new bathroom and great shower. We decided to stay two nights there and enjoyed a sunny Sunday afternoon sitting outside in their wooden "boat", built by the owner himself. He and his wife are friendly and welcoming and recommended not only great hiking trails in the area but also an excellent restaurant nearby (international cuisine). A wonderful little place to have spent two nights with temps in the lower 30's!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Donald N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harbor Springs, Michigan
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We highly recommend this motel. It was very clean and comfortable. It is nicely decorated and newly renovated. The bathroom is beautiful! Very nice hosts. It was easy to find. Our hosts recommended a very nice restaurant nearby. We would definitely stay there again!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Janice M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
133 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

Great motel, CLEAN, CLEAN, CLEAN and well decorated. Much more than I expected for the reasonable rates. The owners were wonderful and made a fabulous dinner recommendation. When I do the Lake Superior trip again I will be sure to stay again.

Room Tip: No AC, but I think it's cool enough in the area all year round.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HarleyGirl61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed September 13, 2012

This motel is very very clean. It is quiet as it is far enough back from the hwy that you don't hear the traffic. It has a BBQ and an outside hot tub. Great for a good nights sleep. Very close to the high falls and 5 mins from wawa. Try the Italian restaurant for take away, the chicken parm. Was very good. The rooms have been renovated nod the shower is awesome. Only thing that might not be great in the summer is no a/c, but if you are driving until evening and leaving in the morning I don't think it will bother you.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Karlak50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 24, 2012

This motel is a little gem. From the highway it looks like a nice enough but fairly ordinary highway motel. It’s well kept, with flowers and nice touches like the lifelike bear carvings and the wooden ship/picnic area out front but you suspect the rooms may be a little dated. On the contrary, inside you will find a bright clean spacious modern room with a large bathroom, a microwave and fridge. Other little details that add to the enjoyment include an upholstered chair to match the sofa, pretty coffee mugs with saucers, a selection of magazines in the room, and free long distance calling in the office, as well as free DVDs on loan. The friendly owners are happy to provide information about local sights to drive or hike to. You might decide to stay longer than you planned – if there is a vacancy.

Room Tip: Wireless internet service is better the closer you are to the office.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Barbara Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wawa
3.6 mi away
No photo provided
Sportsman's Motel
#12 of 13 in Wawa
20 reviews
0.8 mi away
Mystic Isle Motel
Mystic Isle Motel
#5 of 13 in Wawa
216 reviews
9.5 mi away
Best Northern Motel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.6 mi away
Air-Dale Fishing and Hunting
9.6 mi away
Makiebares Waterfront Accommodations
0.0 mi away
Voyageur's Lodge & Cookhouse
Voyageur's Lodge & Cookhouse
#1 of 2 in Batchawana Bay
57 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Parkway Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Parkway Motel

Property: Parkway Motel
Address: 232 Highway 17 South | P.O. Box 784, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wawa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Wawa
#3 Romantic Hotel in Wawa
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Fully renovated Motel. Extra large units, Free Hi Speed Internet. Beautiful and modern design creates perfect place for relax or work. Parkway Motel is located right on the Trans Canada Highway. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Parkway Hotel Wawa
Parkway Motel Wawa, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing