We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing place!”
Review of Rock Island Lodge

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Wawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Rock Island Lodge
Ranked #1 of 3 Wawa B&B and Inns
Ontario, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Amazing place!”
Reviewed August 20, 2012 via mobile

My husband & I stayed in the Patterson suite while my sister & brother stayed in the main building. Both were well appointed & clean but I preferred the Patterson suite for the privacy. The lodge has an amazing location with spectacular views! Dave, the owner has an amazing staff that are welcoming and helpful. The lodge offers many sports and great meals & entertainment. Wishing I was still there!

Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank KL_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

59 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    10
    0
    1
    2
See reviews for
17
26
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2012

My Brazilian friend and I were passing through Wawa, braced for yet another highway hotel when someone suggested we check this place out. Words cannot describe the relief and thrill on discovering this amazing place. The location is breathtaking, the staff very warm and welcoming, the accommodations beyond anything we could have hoped for. We wined, dined, paddled, chatted, and absorbed the incredible beauty of Lake Superior for 2 days. We left Rock Island rested and recharged, ready for the long drive back to Toronto. The highlight of our trip...

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank czund1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Grand Rapids, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
163 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2012

If you are a Great Lake Sea Kayaker, this place should be on your "bucket list". My two buddies and I finished our Superior trip (August of 2010) with an overnight stay at this fantastic lodge. The lodge is a base for sea kayaking trips on Lake Superior. Even if you do not sea kayak, the location of this lodge is second to none. The staff are great and the views are....well.....SUPERIOR.

Room Tip: Every room has views, sounds and smells of Lake Superior. You can not miss with any room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 29, 2011

The staff is great. The atmosphere is very relaxed. The views are georgous, especially during storm season. If you are looking for a place to relax and get away, this is it. The rooms are a little on the rustic side, not a 5 star hotel, but the location more than makes up for it. I would definately return here for some R&R. The only place to stay well in the Wawa area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Grey1980
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

A gem along the shores of Lake Superior. Great for outdoors enthusiasts.

Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank PAStimeCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary
1 review
Reviewed August 18, 2011

We had a family gathering for my mothers 85th birthday and everyone thorougly enjoyed themselves. The staff was wonderful and the meal we had fantastic! We had a great time out in the voyageur canoe. The relaxed attitude of the staff to our numerous requests was greatly appreciated and sitting on the deck under the stars was so relaxing. Dinner at the Great Northern on highway 17 was excellant and the European Birthday Cake was delicious. All told a great time was had by all!!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank McCoy_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2011

We stayed overnight here at the start of our kayak journey along the shores of Lake Superior Provincial Park. The staff were courteous, helpful and friendly. Dave sat with me to give me tips and information about highlights of the park, which were very helpful. The room was clean. There was no TV, which only added to the charm of being in this Lodge. We would certainly recommend this.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank wellgal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wawa hotels
1.0 mi away
No photo provided
Sportsman's Motel
#12 of 13 in Wawa
20 reviews
5.0 mi away
Mystic Isle Motel
Mystic Isle Motel
#4 of 13 in Wawa
218 reviews
5.4 mi away
Best Northern Motel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.5 mi away
Air-Dale Fishing and Hunting
5.5 mi away
Makiebares Waterfront Accommodations
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rock Island Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rock Island Lodge

Property: Rock Island Lodge
Address: 10 Government Dock | Lake Superior, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wawa
Amenities:
Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Wawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Rock Island Lodge is located on the shores of Lake Superior at the mouth of the Michipicoten River near Wawa, Ontario. We have 4 guest rooms, each with en suite bath. All of our rooms are no farther than 50m to the water's edge. We operate bed and breakfast-style with additional meals available. Situated between Lake Superior Provincial Park and Pukaskwa National Park, our location is ideal for those of you who like to get outside and explore. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Rock Island Lodge Wawa, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing