We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worn out”
Review of Mystic Isle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Mystic Isle Motel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Wawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 20, 2013

This .was a last minute reservation and we needed a pet friendly place. The place was totally empty while others in the area were full. Room were dated and bathroom needs renovation. Beds were clean and comfortable.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Louryn956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (226)
There are newer reviews for Mystic Isle Motel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

140 - 146 of 226 reviews

Reviewed November 5, 2013

The rooms are very dated. The room we stayed in needs some fixing up. The bathroom could use a total over haul and the tub has seen better days.
The beds were comfortable, but one if them was too close to the wall where the baseboard heater was and I had to be careful getting out of bed not to burn myself. The beds needed a couple more pillows each.
There is no cell service in the area but they offer wifi which didn't work too great, very slow.
Dog friendly - and there was a ski-doo trail close by to take them out a walk and do their buisness. It was a last minute booking so we took a chance on what it would look like. I wouldn't want to stay there more than one night.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank T M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at Mystic Isle Motel as one stop on a motorcycle circle tour around Lake Superior. It had been raining all day so the day was a total bust but we looked forward to a nice warm motel and some relaxation . Upon arrival I was told that I had only made a reservation for 2 when there were 4 of us. I HAD made the reservation for 4 but the lady was not receptive to the conversation. Once in our room the TV did not work and she was still very uncooperative but did send her husband to fix the TV issue. The general reception was very ''cold'' and I would NOT stay here again - there are other accommodations in the area . It was overpriced and just an average run of the mill motel !!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikermarv2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysticmotel, Manager at Mystic Isle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks for you opinion. Unfortunately you did not even try to be fair sharing your view on public
forum. We still have your reservation for two (not four) persons which has been made through third party booking site. We can't accommodate four people for the price of two-sorry. Prices are
clearly published - you exactly knew what the cost of your booking going to be ,so your
"overpriced" comment is out of the line. As for "not working" tv - we understand that remote control
science can be hard for somebody .( "fixing" the tv was done by pressing "tv" button on the remote) We apologize for the "cold reception" - the band had the day off and red carpet was in
the cleaning process. We hope that the rest of your trip was perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2013

From the outside, the Mystic Isle Motel initially doesn't look like some place we would want to stay. The motel is up an unpaved hill and sits off a dirt parking lot. The outside looks like an old style motel. Then I took a closer look--flowers, and seasonal greens outside every room, and the place seemed more inviting. The room was clean and fresh. The couple who owns it bought it 8 years ago and has been fixing it up since then. They live in the building that includes the office. We met the woman who was helpful, friendly, and made us feel at home. It seems as if they have thought about what they would like for comfort in a room and they've included small touches that provide that comfort. In addition to a desk with an android tablet on it, the room had a couch and a small round table with 2 chairs by an outlet. The table was in a corner of the room with its own light so one of us could be using it without lighting up the bed area. I recommend this motel for anyone needing a place to stay in Wawa.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunrise1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Before I booked this hotel, I read the reviews. There was one bad review. After staying at this place, I cannot imagine what that person saw that I did not. It was spotless and very nice. The Ipad was a very nice touch. I have never seen one in a hotel room before. The price was reasonable and the I would definately go back here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanine_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for only one night and chose it for its location right on Highway 17 between Sault Ste Marie and Terrace Bay. We arrived early and the front desk staff were very accommodating. Our room was ready and we were able to settle in. The room was large and airy with 2 queen beds. It also had free wifi and a tablet connected to the internet right in the room. The bathroom was modern and clean. yhe entire experience was great. The front desk was able to recommend restaurants for both dinner and breakfast. I can recommend this motel very highly.

Room Tip: The motel sign is hard to see from the highway because of the surrounding trees and shrubs so be car...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeCod1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

A clean, comfortable, well equipped room for an over night stay on a business trip. This is my third stay and I will be back. The addition of tablet computers to the rooms is a nice touch. The wifi works great. Overall good value

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Wawa
4.3 mi away
No photo provided
Sportsman's Motel
#12 of 13 in Wawa
20 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Northern Motel and Restaurant
10.3 mi away
Makiebares Waterfront Accommodations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Air-Dale Fishing and Hunting
68.9 mi away
Voyageur's Lodge & Cookhouse
Voyageur's Lodge & Cookhouse
#1 of 2 in Batchawana Bay
65 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Isle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Isle Motel

Address: 153 Hwy 17 South, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wawa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wawa
Price Range: $75 - $88 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mystic Isle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Isle Motel - Wawa's nicest rooms and premier accommodations situated close to Lake Superior beaches , waterfalls , hiking trails & the golf course . The snowmobile trail goes right through our parking lot.We're nestled on a hilltop in a quiet birch grove with a beautiful view of Lake Superior & rugged Michipicoten Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Mystic Isle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic Isle Hotel
Mystic Isle Motel Wawa, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing