We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not that great”
Review of Mystic Isle Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Mystic Isle Motel
Ranked #4 of 13 Hotels in Wawa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 26, 2013

We stayed at Mystic Isle Motel as one stop on a motorcycle circle tour around Lake Superior. It had been raining all day so the day was a total bust but we looked forward to a nice warm motel and some relaxation . Upon arrival I was told that I had only made a reservation for 2 when there were 4 of us. I HAD made the reservation for 4 but the lady was not receptive to the conversation. Once in our room the TV did not work and she was still very uncooperative but did send her husband to fix the TV issue. The general reception was very ''cold'' and I would NOT stay here again - there are other accommodations in the area . It was overpriced and just an average run of the mill motel !!!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bikermarv2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mysticmotel, Manager at Mystic Isle Motel, responded to this reviewResponded October 29, 2013

Thanks for you opinion. Unfortunately you did not even try to be fair sharing your view on public
forum. We still have your reservation for two (not four) persons which has been made through third party booking site. We can't accommodate four people for the price of two-sorry. Prices are
clearly published - you exactly knew what the cost of your booking going to be ,so your
"overpriced" comment is out of the line. As for "not working" tv - we understand that remote control
science can be hard for somebody .( "fixing" the tv was done by pressing "tv" button on the remote) We apologize for the "cold reception" - the band had the day off and red carpet was in
the cleaning process. We hope that the rest of your trip was perfect.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (232)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

148 - 154 of 232 reviews

Reviewed October 19, 2013

From the outside, the Mystic Isle Motel initially doesn't look like some place we would want to stay. The motel is up an unpaved hill and sits off a dirt parking lot. The outside looks like an old style motel. Then I took a closer look--flowers, and seasonal greens outside every room, and the place seemed more inviting. The room was clean and fresh. The couple who owns it bought it 8 years ago and has been fixing it up since then. They live in the building that includes the office. We met the woman who was helpful, friendly, and made us feel at home. It seems as if they have thought about what they would like for comfort in a room and they've included small touches that provide that comfort. In addition to a desk with an android tablet on it, the room had a couch and a small round table with 2 chairs by an outlet. The table was in a corner of the room with its own light so one of us could be using it without lighting up the bed area. I recommend this motel for anyone needing a place to stay in Wawa.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sunrise1818
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Before I booked this hotel, I read the reviews. There was one bad review. After staying at this place, I cannot imagine what that person saw that I did not. It was spotless and very nice. The Ipad was a very nice touch. I have never seen one in a hotel room before. The price was reasonable and the I would definately go back here.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jeanine_v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for only one night and chose it for its location right on Highway 17 between Sault Ste Marie and Terrace Bay. We arrived early and the front desk staff were very accommodating. Our room was ready and we were able to settle in. The room was large and airy with 2 queen beds. It also had free wifi and a tablet connected to the internet right in the room. The bathroom was modern and clean. yhe entire experience was great. The front desk was able to recommend restaurants for both dinner and breakfast. I can recommend this motel very highly.

Room Tip: The motel sign is hard to see from the highway because of the surrounding trees and shrubs so be car...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CapeCod1456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

A clean, comfortable, well equipped room for an over night stay on a business trip. This is my third stay and I will be back. The addition of tablet computers to the rooms is a nice touch. The wifi works great. Overall good value

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

After our experience in a motel that left much to be desired in Sault St Marie, the Mystic Isle was a breath of fresh air! The couple who own the motel were fabulous and so very accommodating, especially the woman. She even found us a room for the next night since they were full. Luckily, they had a last minute cancellation and called us to see what we would like to do. NO BRAINER! Stay of course! They even moved our luggage! The rooms do not have AC, but the fresh air was wonderful there. In Canada, communication with family is difficult and expensive. Here at the motel, they had I-PADS in each room with FREE calling! Almost forgot, they have an extensive DVD collection, also free to use. On property they had two decks: one with a small telescope and another with a gas grill - it was so peaceful sitting on them! There was a restaurant across the street, the Best Northern, owned by a Polish couple - it was wonderful - food, service, view (if at a table by the window). We would return to each of these places if ever in the area - such nice memories of beautiful people and places!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Lovingretirement2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

Spent one night at the" Mystic Isle Motel" in WAWA, Ontario. I was conducting an investigation at the time and after a very long drive, it was a relief to arrive at this motel. I would use this facility again. I would recommend, however, that portable air-conditioners be installed in each room... and/or portable fans be made available. This motel is a little hard to find.., so pay attention to the signage about 4 kilometers outside WAWA on Highway 17 as you are driving WESTBOUND. The motel is located up on a hill on the right hand side, when you are driving WB into WAWA. (G.F. WHITE @ "Fifth Avenue Private Investigation Services Inc.", LONDON, Ontario)

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Garry W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wawa hotels
4.2 mi away
No photo provided
Sportsman's Motel
#12 of 13 in Wawa
20 reviews
10.2 mi away
Best Northern Motel and Restaurant
10.3 mi away
Makiebares Waterfront Accommodations
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
10.3 mi away
Air-Dale Fishing and Hunting
Show Prices

Been to Mystic Isle Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mystic Isle Motel

Address: 153 Hwy 17 South, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wawa
Amenities:
Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Wawa
Price Range: $73 - $76 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Mystic Isle Motel 2*
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mystic Isle Motel - Wawa's nicest rooms and premier accommodations situated close to Lake Superior beaches , waterfalls , hiking trails & the golf course . The snowmobile trail goes right through our parking lot.We're nestled on a hilltop in a quiet birch grove with a beautiful view of Lake Superior & rugged Michipicoten Island. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz and Hotwire so you can book your Mystic Isle Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mystic Isle Hotel
Mystic Isle Motel Wawa, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing