We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“passing through”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Wawa
Reviewed October 15, 2006

As a single woman travelling through to manitoba i was pleasantly surprised with the warmth of the kitchen staff when i stopped to grab something to eat on the run...i needed a telephone and that was my original reason for stopping but my brief stop was lit up by the encounter with smiling faces and warm genuine service...i highly recommend making the stop if they're open just to put a smile on your face...wonderful...thanks so much everyone for your warmth and kindness!!!
Sincerely
kim from toronto

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ohyea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (253)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

248 - 253 of 253 reviews

Reviewed September 29, 2006

We stopped here on a recent trip from Winnipeg to Montreal. Wawa is right in the middle. This hotel was above the middle.
The rooms were clean and nice the staff was very good. They don't charge extra for pets.
We ordered from the restaurant and that was good as well. The free breakfast when we left also was a great touch.
We would definatly stop here again.

  • Stayed: August 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank caspersdad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2006

I stayed at the Northern Lights Motel for a night while I was traveling across Canada. My room was very clean with a few unexpected extras like complimentary bottled water and earplugs in case the traffic noise bothers you. (I didn't need them). There were also magazines on the table and a small library of books on one of the bookshelves. The bathroom had a number of picture frames on the wall containing trivia and other interesting facts in addition to all the basic toiletries I needed.

I remember having a very restful sleep that night, dozing off to the howls of coyotes in the distance.

The complimentary breakfast included tasty home-made muffins that had a sign next to them stating something to the effect "No trans fats were used in these muffins".

Overall, I had a very pleasant stay. This little motel has character.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank Nomad1c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mo_NLmotel, Mo the Owner at Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa, responded to this reviewResponded December 16, 2006

John and I always travel with earplugs, and that's why it's just another ammenity we supply here. Highway traffic noise hasn't been a complaint - our rooms are nicely sound proofed. Remember - we supply Q-Tips too, but it doesn't mean that you have dirty ears. lol!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2006

Stayed here on July 4, 2006 with my parents and 2 young daughters (4 & 7). Stopped here on our first day travelling from Midland, ON to Alberta. (8 hour drive). We weren't sure what to expect from this roadside motel but from the moment we entered the reception room and met the very friendly owner, we were put at ease. Everything was spotless, she was very helpful, we had a triple room (3 double beds in one room) which was perfect for our group of 3 adults and 2 kids. There were great magazines provided, lots of books, coffee, free bottled water. The bathroom had a separate room for 2 vanities!

For supper we went to the restaurant connected to the hotel. It was very simple with the best food we had on our trip. My 4 year old kept telling us that we all should have ordered the spaghetti and proceeded to eat the entire thing.

Driving through northern Ontario you have no idea what to expect. This place was exceptional and I would stay here again.

Stayed: July 2006
8  Thank sarchar02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2005

Northern Lights Motel surpassed our expecations. Their free breakfast was great, a lot more than your basic continental breakfast you get in ritzier hotels. Highly recommended if you are in or near Wawa.

  • Stayed: June 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank NoraNanna
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Sudbury, Ontario
18
Reviewed October 4, 2004

The rooms are wonderfully decorated and spotless clean. It is amazing what this nice and cozy place with very affordable rates has to offer. Even the free continental breakfast is out of this world – delicious!
I wish more of the hotel chains would provide such a superior service.
We definitely will stay at the Northern Lights in Wawa again.

8  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wawa hotels
3.7 mi away
No photo provided
Sportsman's Motel
#12 of 13 in Wawa
20 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Northern Motel and Restaurant
6.9 mi away
Mystic Isle Motel
Mystic Isle Motel
#4 of 13 in Wawa
232 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.5 mi away
Lakeview Motel
Lakeview Motel
#9 of 13 in Wawa
25 reviews
3.7 mi away
Makiebares Waterfront Accommodations
3.7 mi away
Air-Dale Fishing and Hunting
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa

Address: 1014 Highway 17, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wawa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Wawa
Price Range: $89 - $99 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Motel & Chalets. Free Wifi, Premium HD Satellite with Free Movie Channels, Free HBO, Commercial Free Music & more. Beautiful 3 Bedroom Chalets & 2 Bedroom Cottage with wrap around decks, BBQs & Propane. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Motel And Breakfast
Northern Lights Hotel Wawa
Northern Lights Hotel Breakfast
Northern Lights Motel Breakfast
Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing