We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Happy to have stayed here”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Wawa
Certificate of Excellence
1 review
“Happy to have stayed here”
Reviewed August 5, 2014 via mobile

We found this place online and were not disappointed. We stayed in cabin #3 and had a good nights sleep. We found everything we needed for 4 adults; two bedrooms, living room with TV and kitchen. Nice and clean. Good speed on the WiFi. We we enjoyed the humor :) Enjoyed a healthy breakfast and recommend this place to others.

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Maj Irene S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    44
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
89
80
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 3, 2014

We called ahead to book the room and the gentlemen that answered was very pleasant, the only thing he wasn't clear on was directions, but I did have the address and I wasn't too concerned. When we showed up, he (the same man) was very personable. He quickly checked us in and explained where the cabin was. He had also went to the cabin to turn on the lights before we got there. We proceeded to the cabin and was quite impressed. Most of the furniture was very well kept and quite modern. There was cute little notes posted everywhere explaining the tv, the BBQ, and so on. The bathroom seemed to have been recently renovated and was very very clean. They also have little things like band aids and nail files neatly pinned to the wall with cute sayings. They also provided ear plugs. (It's the small things that count). There is free wi if and a flat screen tv and they have 25 or so books in the tv unit for the book lovers. I have to say, it was all the small and cute things that counted. Overall- excellent

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Melp7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Best motel we have stayed at! Very clean comfortable good size room. Attention to traveler's every need. Lots of parking available. Pet welcomed. Free wireless Great breakfast included. We will definitely stay here again in the future! Highly recommended!

Stayed August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2014

We have stayed here a couple of times with our puppy. The room is very clean and comfortable and the owners very friendly. We enjoyed the special touches in the room like books and humourous notes to guide you! It has more of a B&B feel. There is a light breakfast included. Great Value! We will be back!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
1 review
Reviewed July 25, 2014

While traveling through Northern Ontario, we were blessed with the opportunity to stay at the Northern Lights Motel. The Chalet was emaculate and included the most unique amenities. Thank you Maureen and John for a memorable stay!

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RachelleLavigne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
21 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2014

If you visit Wawa, don't miss staying here. Rooms are clean, comfortable and peaceful. They have thought of everything, from ear plugs to bandaids..all offered with a seasoning of humour. Friendly, reasonably priced. Great place. Try it!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Shirley H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2014

Because of weather we decided to book a motel to spend the night instead of camping, and we're so glad we chose Northern Lights. Maureen was such a pleasure to deal with, and it was very welcome after a long day of riding.
She bumped us up to a chalet (probably took pity on our state!) and it was hands down the best stay on our entire 7 day trip. The chalet was huge, with everything we could want, and all the little touches the owners have added just added so much welcome personality, a far cry from the generally sterile or disgusting interiors of most motels.
The continental breakfast was well-stocked and there was a wide variety of juices, bread and cereal.
We're definitely staying here again when we're in the Wawa area!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wawa hotels
3.7 mi away
No photo provided
Sportsman's Motel
#12 of 13 in Wawa
20 reviews
6.9 mi away
Mystic Isle Motel
Mystic Isle Motel
#5 of 13 in Wawa
202 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Northern Motel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Makiebares Waterfront Accommodations
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa

Property: Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa
Address: 1014 Highway 17, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wawa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wawa
#3 Family Hotel in Wawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Motel & Chalets. Free Wifi, Premium HD Satellite with Free Movie Channels, Free HBO, Commercial Free Music & more. Beautiful 3 Bedroom Chalets & 2 Bedroom Cottage with wrap around decks, BBQs & Propane. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Hotel Wawa
Northern Lights Motel And Breakfast
Northern Lights Hotel Breakfast
Northern Lights Motel Breakfast
Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing