We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“WONDERFULLY CHARMING AND WELCOMING”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa
Ranked #3 of 13 Hotels in Wawa
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
71 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“WONDERFULLY CHARMING AND WELCOMING”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

What a delightful place. The proprietors, Mo and John have a heartwarming and inspiring spirit. I have traveled half way around this planet and this place was the most pleasant surprise of all. A simple roadside place just to rest your weary head it is not. What it is ... is... a joyful place of comfort and ease for the body, mind and soul that will leave you with an experience that you will cherish for a long time.

Room Tip: Just go there...you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank linmari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    184
    44
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
89
80
10
11
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Sioux Lookout, Ontario, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2013

I was happy to end up in such a wonderful motel after a bad experience elsewhere. Pleasant staff, very clean room, comfortable, good breakfast, they thought of everything. I will stay here every time in Wawa....thank you!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sharon R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

Each time I pass through Wawa I have stayed in a different motel. No particular reason, really, as I've never had a bad experience. But I think I've found my "go to" Wawa motel at Northern Lights. What a lovely, warm atmosphere. John and Maureen have obviously put an incredible amount of TLC into ensuring their guests feel welcomed and looked-after. The place is just flat-out fun, ie many jokes, comments, paintings, posters, etc throughout the motel that add a great deal of charm. We thoroughly enjoyed our stay here, and really appreciated that nearly everything we could have wanted was in the room and the breakfast was a great start to the next leg of our journey. When we checked in, we mentioned to John that we were thinking of going for a swim. He suggested we go to Sandy Beach and showed us where it was on the map. It was a breathtaking spot to go for a (chilly) swim. I've been through Wawa many, many times but had never gone down to the shoreline before. I really appreciate John showing us a new side of the community and area. Long story short: This is THE place to stay in Wawa.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CRM2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
afton, va
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

We stayed here in August 2013 and throughly enjoyed the stay. The rooms are very clean, the beds are comfortable and the breakfast was great. Mo and Jon take such pride in this liitle gem of a hotel. If you are looking for something out of the ordinary choose this quirky little hotel, you will love it. They are motorcycle friendly as well.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mjbAfton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manitoulin island
Level Contributor
27 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

Northern Lights is a little gem to be found just outside of Wawa, on Highway 17. We arrived there and were greeted by the owners. We were given our rooms and what lovely rooms they were too. Upon entering the bathroom, we were indeed met by the rubber duck sitting on the side of the bath, and the bathroom was full of jokes, and thoughtful little asides, such as band aids, nail files and ear plugs (in case your partner snores), all of which just added to the quirkiness of the place. We stayed there for one night only as we had to be back in Toronto within a few short days.

The owner asked my husband if he had seen any bears in the area, to which we said no, and she pointed to an old logging road, so off my husband and his friend went. They did in fact see two bears, an event which will remain with them, and his friend was thrilled to see them and took the story of his experience back to England with him.

Breakfast was relaxed and delicious. Fruit, a miriad of cereals, eggs, muffins, yogourt, etc. Something for everyone. Also the breakfast is included in the very reasonable price charged for the room. Should be we in northern Ontario again in the future, for sure that is where we would want to stay. Thank you to the owners for running such a delightful mote.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank manitou2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2012

Easily the most fun motel we've ever stayed at. The little touches keep us coming back, and the excellent breakfast selection makes me look forward to staying there on the way through Northern Ontario. Thanks Moe and John!

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Cassie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brantford
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We stayed two separate nights in July 2013. The room was exactly as stated and very clean. There was no road noise at night. Breakfast was great and we appreciated it being free. It was great to have satellite tv service. The hosts were very friendly. We will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wawa hotels
3.7 mi away
No photo provided
Sportsman's Motel
#12 of 13 in Wawa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
6.9 mi away
Mystic Isle Motel
Mystic Isle Motel
#5 of 13 in Wawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 202 reviews
3.6 mi away
Best Northern Motel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Makiebares Waterfront Accommodations
Show Prices

Been to Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa

Property: Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa
Address: 1014 Highway 17, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wawa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#2 Romantic Hotel in Wawa
#3 Family Hotel in Wawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Award Winning Motel & Chalets. Free Wifi, Premium HD Satellite with Free Movie Channels, Free HBO, Commercial Free Music & more. Beautiful 3 Bedroom Chalets & 2 Bedroom Cottage with wrap around decks, BBQs & Propane. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Northern Lights Hotel Wawa
Northern Lights Motel And Breakfast
Northern Lights Hotel Breakfast
Northern Lights Motel Breakfast
Northern Lights Motel & Chalets - Wawa Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing