We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great value...” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of High Falls Motel and Cabins

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
High Falls Motel and Cabins
Ranked #2 of 13 Hotels in Wawa
Certificate of Excellence
Port Elgin, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Great value...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed one night in one of the cabins prior to our fly-in fishing trip. The owners are friendly and welcoming and the place was impeccably clean. Beds were comfortable and the location is just outside of town so it's really quiet. Great value and we'll stay again when we're in the area.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Moolo10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

215 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    186
    25
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
66
97
9
11
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (44)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Burlington, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2011

This year for the first time my husband and I went to see how beautiful Lake Superior really is. On our road trip we planned to stay a few nights and we stopped at High Falls Motel and Cabins which was recommended by our friend. This was a truly amazing place to stay. Conveniently located on the Trans-Canada highway, quiet (cabins hidden in the forest), very clean, well equipped, looked brand new and it was an excellent place for not only a short stay but also for a longer vacation. My husband travels a lot around the world and was amazed at how much the cabins reminded him of those he had spent time in Finland, which happens to have the nicest cabins in the world. For the amenities that were provided and the quality of the cabins, he was very surprised at how affordable they were. We are coming back next year for little longer than two nights but next year we are going to make a reservation in advance as this year we were extremely lucky to get a cabin without calling earlier. Perhaps the most important thing to mention is the hospitality of our hosts. The owners of the High Falls Motel and Cabins make you feel like you are at home or visiting one of your best friends. I would highly recommend this motel for everybody who is looking for a comfortable, peaceful and relaxing place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AJAJAT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gainesville, Florida
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2011

My wife and I enjoyed this cozy little cabin which was well appointed, clean, and very affordable. We would stay here again without a doubt. It is centrally located to many Provincial parks and is a great stop along Lake Superior. The hosts were very friendly. If you're going to be in the Wawa area, don't hesitate about staying in a High Falls cabin.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Captainjack0000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2011

Stayed with small grandchildren in 1 bedroom cabin. Very modern and well taken care of cabins. Owners pleasant and accommodating. Excellent value for money. Plenty of space for children to unwind.

Room Tip: bigger cabins available - be specific about need
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank retiredmediator
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2011

This is the nicest place we stayed on our trip from Inuvik NWT to New brunwsick driving the whole way! Quaint, peaceful and beautiful! You cannot beat the price. Not much in the town but the water falls in the area are great and so close! I suggest upgrading to the cabin instead of the hotel room, we could hear the neighbores showing at 2am and that did wake me up. we had a cabin booked but changed our dates last minute and they were ablt to accomedate up in a hotel room instead. the host is a fantastic lady who is wonderful to talk to, after booking the hotel over the phone I cuold not wait to meet her! We arrived late and that seem to be no problem, she is very accomedating.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kmteed03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thunder Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
63 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

Warm, friendly, immaculate, well appointed, great setting, the list is endless. We were looking for a place around the half way point between Ottawa and Thunder Bay which allowed us to stay with our Labrador retriever. Not only is High Falls very pet friendly, it was the best value of any motel we stayed in. It also allowed me room to park the boat and trailer right beside the cabin without having to unhook. I would not hesitate to stay there again and it will be our going west half way destination from now on. We stayed in a cabin but there are also 5 motel style rooms.

Room Tip: The cabins are the best deal. Fully equiped for housekeeping and very spacious. Book ahead early in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank fishingdavep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
137 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 96 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 27, 2011

The motel more than lived up to its reputation. Anna was super friendly, our cabin was spotless and the kitchenette was very well equiped. The wireless was free and fast. There is a nice outdoor area with a gazebo and barbeque--we didn't use it, but it would have been easy to pick up some steaks in Wawa and have a nice barbeque in a great setting.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnetwentyOTR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wawa hotels
3.2 mi away
No photo provided
Sportsman's Motel
#12 of 13 in Wawa
3.0 of 5 bubbles 20 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mystic Isle Motel
Mystic Isle Motel
#6 of 13 in Wawa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
1.3 mi away
Best Northern Motel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.2 mi away
Makiebares Waterfront Accommodations
Show Prices

Been to High Falls Motel and Cabins? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Falls Motel and Cabins

Property: High Falls Motel and Cabins
Address: 280 King's Highway 17, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wawa
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Wawa
#1 Best Value Hotel in Wawa
#1 Family Hotel in Wawa
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in a scenic valley of pine and birch trees just outside central Wawa, HIGH FALLS MOTEL AND CABINS offers an ideal accommodation whether you are vacationing in the region or just passing through. Our cabins, built with a vertical log construction method, provide a traditional Canadian log-cabin experience with all the amenities of modern accommodation. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
High Falls Hotel
High Falls Motel And Cabins Wawa, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing