We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful restaurant!”

Best Northern Motel and Restaurant
Ranked #2 of 14 Restaurants in Wawa
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Polish
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Adams, MN
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Wonderful restaurant!”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the motel across the road and walked down to the Best Northern Restaurant for dinner. Wonderful mix of menu options and they willingly accommodated my gluten-free needs. There were 7 in our party, everyone ordered something different, and we all were very impressed with our food. FYI: Try their take on a Pavlova for dessert--YUMMY!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank TKlaehn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

160 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    32
    11
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Jackson, Michigan
Level 6 Contributor
513 reviews
337 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 166 helpful votes
“Seemed a little pricey to us, but good”
Reviewed July 31, 2013

We stayed at the motel, so it was so convenient just to walk to eat here. We both had the golabki and pierogi dinners and were surprised however that the gravy was brown and not red as it is at home. None the less, it was very good. The serving was large and the presentation was nice. The service was fine. The place was quite small. I had a house wine and my husband had a well gin & tonic. The two drinks and 2 dinners were $50, before tip, and we had no dessert or appetizers.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jackie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Fabulous Polish Fare”
Reviewed July 24, 2013

The best Polish food I've ever eaten. Recipes were quite refined. The mushroom sauce was delicate, a hint of wine. The cabbage rolls cooked without tomato sauce were out of this world. Worth every penny.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lucie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Good Food But Service?”
Reviewed July 17, 2013

We had dinner there in July 2013 based on the recommendation of the motel owner where we were spending the night (not the Best Northern Motel).

I have mixed feelings about this restaurant. The food was good but the service almost inexistant and very slow. It took 20 minutes to simpiy get the menus after we were shown our table, 30 minutes to get our drinks and an hour to get our fist food. The restaurant was about 2/3 full. We saw many staff people but they were inefficient at best.

Again, the food was very good but it should not take an hour to get our apetizers. This is definitively not a place to sit down and enjoy company before getting service.

We will not be back and will not recommend this restaurant to our family and friends.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RPwings
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NC
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Did not stay here but looked really nice!”
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

This property is very nicely situated on the main highway like most of the others but is quite a distance back with lots of plants blocking it. I walked around the property and it was really secluded and new looking.Very upscale for the area with a comfy lobby area, decks off of the rooms with views of the woods plus a hiking trail behind it. I would try if inthe area again based on appearance.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank LadyRouge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Best Northern Motel and Restaurant also viewed

 
Wawa, Northeastern Ontario
Wawa, Northeastern Ontario
 

Been to Best Northern Motel and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing