We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pet friendly and lovely”
Review of The Wawa Motor Inn

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Wawa Motor Inn
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Wawa
Regina, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Pet friendly and lovely”
Reviewed August 12, 2011

This is a great place with pet friendly rooms available. We tend to stay here for while driving in northern Ontario - and have had a consistently good experience here.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JKA2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    58
    37
    10
    13
See reviews for
39
46
8
31
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Nanoose Bay, British Columbia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 4, 2011

Excellent desk attendent found me a room with no reservation - and they were full - and was very pleasant. Suggested where I could get a meal and coffee in the morning. The room was nice, clean and pretty quiet. Lots of train and/or cable crews stay as well as fishermen. Also fine for travelling families.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamish007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Rooms dated. Some cigarette smoke residual smell. Terrible restaurant. Don't even ask to stay a minute beyond check-out or you'll get ragged on by the desk people. Expensive for the quality of stay. If you're hunting, snowmobiling or partying, this might be the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank mr_tim_2000_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

We stayed here the night before we took the train to go to a fishing lodge. The fishing lodge's website indicated to mention that we were staying with them to receive a discount on our stay. The desk clerk didn't know anything about that. We rented one of their chalets to accommodate two couples. The chalets themselves were nice enough with two bedrooms and a full kitchen but that didn't make up for the fact that we needed to wear bug spray to bed because of the holes in the screensand all the misquitos coming in through them. We tried to plug the holes with tissues but since there were only two in the box in the unit, that was difficult. The portable fan in the bedroom didn't work and when we called to get another one, the again unhelpful clerk told us she'd check to find one and call us back... which she didn't. The clerk the next day was informed of our displeasure upon check out and after much figuring, decided that for our troubles she'd give us a corporate rate, which ended up saving us $11.00 on a $200.00 per night room. Trust me. Consider other options in Wawa. There are plenty to choose from.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Firsttimer020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2011

We were travelling with our 5 month old daughter and I was suprised by the cleanliness of this place. I did not feel squeemish about giving her a bath there! The price is ok for this type of hotel. It would be nice if they had coffee in the lobby for guests in the morning. The crazy, high prices of the breakfast at the on-site restaurant made us chose the Tim Horton's...Give me a break: $6.99 for oatmeal??? (If you want raisins in it: .99 extra!!!)

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mimi_grrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2011

The food is terrible, whoever is running the resturant/kitchen needs to be fired along with all of the resturant/kitchen staff.
Disgusting, I was so disgusted I nearly puked.
Flat ware dirty, glasses filthy, tables and table cloths disgusting.
WARNING: Do Not eat anything at the resturant.
Please, someone from the health and safety close this kitchen down and start again.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank disgusted-patron
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 26, 2011

After ten hours on the road my best friend and I were looking for a comfortable, clean place to stay off the Trans-Canada highway, and were happily surprised by the Wawa Motor Inn. We arrived after 9PM and there was a log village room available at a reasonable price. The check-in receptionist was kind and advised that if we were hungry we should go to their restaurant before they were closing at 10PM. We ordered mozzarella sticks and chicken Caesar salads which came out quickly and we thoroughly enjoyed!

We found the room to be exceptionally clean, cozy and had everything a weary traveler required. Additionally the curtains were dark and allowed for us to sleep in a bit in the morning which was certainly welcomed! In addition, my best friend is an avid cyclist and was very impressed that they even offered bike cleaning cloths for anyone who might need it (though this trip we did not!).

Though it is unlikely that our travels will bring us back through Wawa in the near future, we will be delighted to recommend this location to our family and friends who may be travelling through!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TransCanadaTourist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wawa hotels
0.2 mi away
No photo provided
Sportsman's Motel
#12 of 13 in Wawa
20 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mystic Isle Motel
Mystic Isle Motel
#5 of 13 in Wawa
215 reviews
6.5 mi away
Best Northern Motel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.5 mi away
Air-Dale Fishing and Hunting
6.6 mi away
Makiebares Waterfront Accommodations
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Wawa Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Wawa Motor Inn

Property: The Wawa Motor Inn
Address: 118 Mission Road | PO Box 1190, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wawa
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 13 Hotels in Wawa
Number of rooms: 88
Also Known As:
The Wawa Motor Hotel Wawa
The Wawa Motor Inn Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing