We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We were tired”
Review of Algoma Motel

Algoma Motel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Wawa
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Algoma Motel
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Wawa
Reviewed July 27, 2012

Great motel after a long days travel. Clean, older,but well maintained. Quiet. Big surprise in the morning the muffins are home made and awesome. Reasonably priced. Bikes welcomed,easy to find. Great resturant across the street. Gas station nearby. Good showers and beds.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Linda C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (40)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 36 of 40 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2012

We stayed at this hotel twice, one night on our way to camp and for one night on our way back from camp. The first time we were in one of the older rooms but it was still very clean and comfortable. The second time we were put in one of the remodled rooms. This room was also very clean and comfortable and with the newly remodled look even made us feel like we were in a fancy hotel. The water pressure in both showers was excellant! Muffins were good and wi fi was fast enough at 3MB/sec. We will definitly be staying here next year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bailey d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2012

We'd checked into the Sportsman across the street and checked out immediately. Enough said about that place. I saw the Algoma across the street and off we went. It's a small cozy roadside motel. It's humble, don't expect all the creature comforts. You are in the wilds of Northern Ontario after all, but the rooms are clean, the rates are reasonable, and the folks in the office are friendly and helpful. The beds are decent, not squeaky or too soft. The shower was roomy and had great water pressure. Over all a pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank notdex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2011

Motel has been renovated. Basic room, nice and clean, has bar fridge. Room had an electric fire place. Decent value for money. Coffee and muffins in morning, skip the coffee, muffin was good. Clerk was friendly and witty

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pembroke54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2011

We drove down the strip and looked at all the motels. This one had the most cars outside and was also very together looking on on the outside. I met the owner and very nice Irish chap that runs the front desk. My wife and I had a nice stay. Again, I rarely give a 5 start rating, but considering the price point they are hitting and what they give you for it they deserve it. The muffins aren't bad either!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bobalbin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 12, 2011

I really liked teh whole stay in Algoma. A small village, wine tasting, even a gallery with modern arts. THe Motel was exactly what I needed. Clean, unpretentious, very nice people!

  • Stayed: August 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Holgomat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2009

We had a very pleasant night's stay here. The room was clean, and comfortable. Complimentary freshly baked muffins and coffee (creamer only) in the morning.

One thing to note - we stayed in the room next to the office. The person at the front desk was very chatty, and we could hear her (indistinctly) up until about 10pm. This really was not a big deal, but maybe important to know if you are a light sleeper!

We'll certainly stay here again the next time we pass though Wawa.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SlartyB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Wawa hotels
0.1 mi away
No photo provided
Sportsman's Motel
#12 of 13 in Wawa
20 reviews
4.3 mi away
Mystic Isle Motel
Mystic Isle Motel
#4 of 13 in Wawa
232 reviews
6.3 mi away
Best Northern Motel and Restaurant
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.4 mi away
Makiebares Waterfront Accommodations
6.4 mi away
Air-Dale Fishing and Hunting
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Algoma Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Algoma Motel

Address: 164 Mission Road | PO Box 205, Wawa, Ontario P0S 1K0, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Ontario > Northeastern Ontario > Wawa
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 13 Hotels in Wawa
Price Range: $43 - $74 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Also Known As:
Algoma Motel Wawa, Ontario, Canada

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing