We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Girls Spa Day/Night” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Auberge de la Vallee

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auberge de la Vallee
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bathurst
Certificate of Excellence
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Girls Spa Day/Night”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2013

I will start with the positive, The cabing was amazing, very spacious and comfortable, we had the last cabing that sleeps 6. Very clean. Salt water pool and hot tub were fun. Estetician Dany is amazing!!! and also one massage therapist I can't remember her name. I was 100% satisfied with my massage and facial.

We enjoyed our day/night at this Spa only because we were together and made the best of it...
5 girls booked a spa day and overnight stay about 1.5 months ago. We were so excited for this weekend only to find out 2 hours before our appointments that one massage therapist called in sick and they had to cancel all the services of one person. She ended up waiting in the room for us. It was not possible to book our services together so we ended up being seperated over different times. No wine was offered nor were we told we could bring our own, we were offered water in tiny paper cups. both receptionists seem to have no people skills... they are soo shy that they can't even look you in the eye very unprofessional. They should aslo be wearing SPA atire. Presentation was not very inviting. One massage therapist was very *lazy* kept yanning while giving massages and she actually fell asleep let out a little snoar and woke up... couldn't breath due to a cold so the girls heard heavy breathing for the duration of the massage... Imagine wishing the massage would end?!!

The spa decor is outdated. When leaving in the morning there was a bad sell throughout the spa.. I'm sure glad I wasn't coming in that day.

I wouldn't suggest this spa to any of my friends. I would not return.

Suggestions for the Spa :
Have a backup massage therapist on call
Have more mature staff greeting customers and working the evening shift.
get rid of the smells
have better setting for groups

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Nathalie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberge d, Propriétaire at Auberge de la Vallee, responded to this review, November 30, 2013
First, I thank you for your comments on the Inn, we are currently doing everything in our power to give to all our clients, the more comfort possible and we are very serious about the site’s cleanliness. Indeed, one of our beautician called in sick only 2 hours ahead of time to advise us that she was too sick to work on that day.
We offered to replace the scheduled ‘Star massage’ by a relaxation massage, which was accepted at first by the client, but then declined.In a small town like Bathurst, it is very difficult (almost impossible) to have competent on-call staff. I understand your deception, I apologized for it and I also had a chat on that afternoon with one of the girls where I proposed discounts on the next treatments taken at the Auberge.
Concerning the Massage Therapist you’re talking of, I am very surprised, our certified Massage Therapists all have between 2 to 10 years of experience and all receive great comments by the majority of our clients. Some of them are even booked until June 2014!
The spa offers a spring water fountain, which we find in many other facilities and the tea is always offered in the relaxation room by our beauticians and massage therapists.
Concerning the receptionists, they are indeed professionally young, but very serious and very implied and they don’t have to deal with the clients’ problems, I have been present during all your stay (until midnight at the reception) and could have discussed all these points with you at the time of check-out where no one made any remarks or asked to see me.
About the odors. We have certain times where we have problems with the ventilations. We are starting to work on that soon, the material ordered since September, coming from Moncton.
Generally speaking, I take notes on every remarks you gave, I have been the owner of the Auberge since now 5 months and the satisfaction and the comfort of our clients are our priority. I hope that I will be able to discuss with you on all these points and that we will see you again at the Auberge where I could indeed offer you a good glass of wine with a discount on your treatments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

52 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    31
    13
    5
    1
    2
See reviews for
14
18
4
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (12)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Ottawa, Canada
Level Contributor
433 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 28, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in this hotel but it really is more focused on spa activities.

The decor is somewhat dated but is ok given the theme of the quasi-resort. it had just changed owners and still needs a bit of fine tuning.

Front doors are locked at 10 pm and access to rooms is through a side door (not my idea of the best set-up but I guess they can cut costs by not having night staff).

The outdoor sign to the hotel is not lit at night, so you can easily drive past it. However, the street is not a long one and you would find the place in short order.

WiFi is dreadfully slow but we weren't sure if this was a problem with the hotel or simply the location (i.e. Northern N.B.).

Room Tip: If you can afford it, the cottages are much better than the rooms (more space, more amenities).
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CharlesSeems
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2013

Stayed there recently. The location is good, the service was excellent, the pool/hot tub quite nice, the breakfast was fine. I would have rated it very good but unfortunately the bed and pillows are horrible. I'd suggest to invest in some proper beds and pillows and this will be an excellent place to stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NBourque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auberge d, Propriétaire at Auberge de la Vallee, responded to this review, November 29, 2013
Google Translation
Bonjour,
Je m excuse de ma réponse un peu tardive, mais je suis le nouveau propriétaire depuis seulement 5 mois (1 semaine avant votre passage) et nous avons bien pris en compte votre message, a ce jour, tous les draps, couvertures et oreillers de toutes les chambres ont été changes a neuf.
J espère vous revoir bientôt a l auberge de la vallée ou il me fera plaisir de vous offrir un bon café ou un bon verre de vin de notre nouveau bistro ouvert le mois dernier
Dominique
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
69 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

This hotel was a good place to stay, but its decor was dated. Bathurst is not a tourist town, so the location of the hotel on the outskirts of the town was good, because it had a rural setting, surrounded by a mini forest. The staff were friendly and helpful. The hotel also doubles as a day spa with massage and beauty therapy treatments available. We did not choose any of those options. There was a free indoor swimming pool and spa on site suited to doing laps, which I did not use.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank DAMMC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Level Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013 via mobile

This is a beautiful place to go for a relaxing massage. They have professional staff and they are making sure you will go back. They also have all kinds of service for men and woman. A salt water pool. They also have beautiful rooms great food. It s place where you can relax enjoy a nice plate. Wifi is also available for business. It is locate near the regional hospital in Bathurst. If you need to get away in a nice and calm and relax environment. This is the place you want to be.

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Andre L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maritimes
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2013

I have been to this hotel several times in the last few years. It provides great value for your money. The rooms are fantastic. I wish the restaurant was still operating! Regardless I highly recommend it for couples or families. Quiet, relaxing, with comfy beds and great bathroom facilities. Pool area is lovely as well.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Stuart_G7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Bathurst
2.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Bathurst Hotel & Suites
1.7 mi away
Danny's Hotel Suites Event Centre
0.7 mi away
Atlantic Host Hotel
Atlantic Host Hotel
#6 of 7 in Bathurst
4.0 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Lakeview Inns & Suites Bathurst
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Bathurst
Comfort Inn Bathurst
#2 of 7 in Bathurst
3.5 of 5 bubbles 67 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Chateau Albert
Hotel Chateau Albert
#4 of 7 in Caraquet
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge de la Vallee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge de la Vallee

Property: Auberge de la Vallee
Address: 1810 Vallee Lourdes Drive, Bathurst, New Brunswick, Canada
Location: Canada > New Brunswick > Bathurst
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Spa Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 7 Hotels in Bathurst
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Auberge de la Vallee 3*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The hotel, classified 4 stars by Canada Select, is located in Bathurst, northeastern New Brunswick, along the wonderful Bay of Chaleur. This enchanting site offers quality accommodation in the heart of a park of 12 acres. You get all the services of a spa with beauty treatments and massages, lounge and French bistro where you can relax enjoying a good glass of wine. To enhance your stay, the hotel also offers an indoor pool, a sauna and whirlpool. Located at Auberge de la Vallee in Bathurst New Brunswick Canada, Bathurst Adventure offers various services to enjoy the ATV trails of the beautiful Bay of Chaleur. We offer ATV rental or hiking quad and side by side. Discover experience in incredible landscape of lakes and forests. During your stay Auberge de la Vallee offers different circuits in authentic nature. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your Auberge de la Vallee reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge De La Vallee Bathurst, New Brunswick

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing