We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant but not exceptional”
Review of Mai's Restaurant

Mai's Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 58 Restaurants in Bathurst
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Chinese, Thai, Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Bathurst, Canada
Level Contributor
99 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Pleasant but not exceptional”
Reviewed August 5, 2014

According to an in-house advertisement this restaurant is one of three in N.B.
Had a light supper, 'Beef in a Curry Sauce'. Requested the 'hot' curry but it was pretty mild although very tasty. Service was pleasant, restaurant was empty on a Thursday night. Price was fair. We would go back for a meal but it is pretty middle of the road.

  • Visited July 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 88Duncans
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    38
    30
    11
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Mai's never disappoints!”
Reviewed August 2, 2014 via mobile

Whenever I'm in Bathurst I eat at Mai's, it never disappoints. The food has a quality home cooked taste with its own unique flare, service is quick, and the menu is decent with both Chinese and Vietnamese options.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank mckrob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dieppe, Canada
Level Contributor
45 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Different food in bathurst”
Reviewed July 25, 2014

This was a nice non traditional "asian food" restaurant, we enjoyed our food and the ambiance was fun. They have a fish tank with a gigantic fish, when we were there we saw the chef feed it, it was fun!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Guy_Hache
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
148 reviews
118 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“What a gem!!”
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

I am totally depressed that I have been coming to Bathurst for over a decade and I've never stopped here before today! The Pho is great and the Pad Thai is absolutely delicious!! The serve is awesome and the food comes out fresh and piping hot! I'll be back!!!!!

Helpful?
Thank SchneiderGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“great service average food”
Reviewed June 17, 2014

The Thai food is average but nothing spectacular. The service was great. The dining room is a bit dated.

  • Visited June 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ron M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mai's Restaurant also viewed

Bathurst, New Brunswick
Bathurst, New Brunswick
 
Bathurst, New Brunswick
 

Been to Mai's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing