We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A Lovely Meal...”
Review of Bistro On Roe

Bistro On Roe
Ranked #1 of 42 Restaurants in Gander
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $24 - $47
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“A Lovely Meal...”
Reviewed August 23, 2012

We were running late and decided to order take out for a picnic while driving across the island. The food was wonderful...the seared scallops with blueberries were excellent and the duck and chicken dishes also very good. Yummy, flavorful mashed potatoes!
Try the partridgeberry flake for a fantastic dessert treat!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank RoseGoes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

172 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    119
    43
    6
    2
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Worth rowing to Newfoundland for”
Reviewed August 20, 2012

My wife and grandchildren had an unforgettable meal here, pleasurable in every respect. Everything was top-notch, starting with the gifted chef. If I was a Michelin reviewer I'd give it two forks. Some of the locals looked as stunned by the food as the village people in Babettes's Feast. If you made it to Newfoundland, it's worth a special trip to Gander.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 21Noname
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fine dining but bring your kids!”
Reviewed August 13, 2012

We had a one night stay in Gander and were just going to pick a place on the main street to eat but we were glad to find this great restaurant! With an 8 and 5 year old were not sure but upon arrival, the staff did a wonderful job with adjusting the menu for our boys! This is a great place and the food is fabulous!!! Our boys loved it and ate every bite of the specially made fettuccine and chicken. We will certainly go back on our next trip through Gander!!!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank 3084marie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“A Gem in Gander !”
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Location isn't everything. You wouldn't think getting a top notch meal with excellent service in a medical strip mall, but the internal ambiance, wine list and menu with fun takes on local favorites is worth the trip! We skipped appies as we read about the desserts. My husband had the shrimp pasta, which was very good, but not special. I had the moose burger ( based on our servers recommendations) which was divine. For dessert we had excellent cappuccinos ( a hard thing to find in NL) and 2 amazing desserts. I had the flourless chocolate torte which is served warm and with berry coulois. My husband ordered the partigeberry flaky which was also excellent. Our bill with a bottle of wine was $100. We were full and satisfied!

My only note : The decor could use a little softening to make it feel less strip mall more bistro. The local art work is a nice touch.

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Slizered
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
24 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“A Gem in Gander”
Reviewed August 6, 2012

After a long day of driving across Newfoundland, an overnight in Gander allowed us to discover Bistro on Roe. It was mentioned in the Newfoundland Tourism Guide and the Gander Tourist Information Booth helped us to find the restaurant which is located in a non-descript commercial mall. We had a wonderful supper in a nice atmosphere. The menu was interesting, with local ingredients well prepared. The caribou burgers as appetizers and the partrigdeberry flaky pastry as dessert were delicious. Our 11 month old grand son was welcome too. Do not miss Bistro on Roe while in Gander.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank boup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro On Roe also viewed

 

Been to Bistro On Roe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing