We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice room”
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gander
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 27, 2012

Very comfortable king-size bed, reasonable price. Temperature in the room was easily controlled. I had no trouble getting the TV to work (Sometimes it can be very complicated, if you know what I mean). Continental breakfast was perfect, and coffee was excellent. Nice front desk people. I was hitting the road early next morning and they allowed me to store a sandwich in their fridge. Much appreciated.

Room Tip: I didn't have any kind of a view but then I didn't need a view either. If that's importa...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 2TsingTao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (210)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

166 - 172 of 210 reviews

Reviewed September 7, 2012

Recently stayed here for five nights for an event in Gander and really thought the room was nicely done with amenities. It was a comfortable and enjoyable stay! Having Junge Jim's restaurant on site was certainly helpful as well. Never got tha chance to take advantage of the breakfast being offered but indications from other guests I spoke with were impressed. I usually spend a little time in Gander each year and will certainly be staying at Comfort Inn in the future!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dave E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Certainly not a motel i will ever visit again. Stayed here in June 2011 for one night. Check in time is from 2 PM. Upon arrival at 3:15 pm my room was not ready. It would be ready at 4 pm. When returning at 4 pm it still was not ready. Finally, at 4:15 pm, i received the key. In the room was some device that was creating a bad smell in the room. It was picked up by somebody half an hour later, who was surprised to find me in the room. Apparently the room was not ready when i got the key. The window could not be opened, because there was an a/c unit fitted in the window space. Breakfast as usual in an American motel, cardboard dishes, plastic cutlery, too little tables, coffee, tea, bread, cereals, toaster, jam and muffins. Bathroom was clean. Room had a big flat screen television, which i did not use.

Room Tip: Not advising anybody to stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank ronvst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

There are only a handful of hotel/motel options in Gander, Newfoundland, almost all of them set side-by-side on the weirdly empty Trans-Canadian Highway. The Comfort Inn is, of course, part of a chain and, like the other two places we stayed in Newfoundland, very clean and well maintained.
Our room was on the first floor (of two), with an uninspiring view of the rear parking lot, the fenced-in propane storage tank, a picnic table and benches where employees took their breaks, and a gazebo-in-the-making, the finishing touches to which workmen were adding...very, very slowly. But the place was amazingly quiet, and the staffers were all efficient, helpful, and genuinely friendly. When we checked in we noticed that our tub wouldn't drain but, after mentioning it to the front-desk person, the hotel's charming handyman was immediately summoned and, within just a few minutes, the problem had been fixed. There is a small, but well maintained, breakfast room (complete with t.v., for keeping up with the latest news) and the complimentary breakfasts included one of those make-your-own waffle machines--with two flavors of "mix." Very popular, especially with the young kids (this place is definitely family-friendly). And the lovely, multicolored flowers outside the main door indicates that someone has thought seriously about visitors' first impressions.
The hotel adjoins a restaurant called "Jungle Jim's,"part of a local chain, which is convenient; it's also directly across the highway from an official provincial tourist information office/gift shop. We only walked through the lobby of one of the other (more-expensive) hotels on the same "strip"--it had a fancier restaurant, but didn't feel nearly as welcoming.

Room Tip: Try to get a second-floor room, facing the rear. There's no "view," but you won't...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nancy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 1, 2012

It's a Comfort Inn, so there's no expectation of full-service amenities like room service, etc. It was just fine for my needs and very reasonably priced. The check-in experience was positive and quick and any interactions I had with staff were good. The wi-fi worked very well and the fitness centre had a decent selection for the size of the hotel.

Room Tip: I had a room quite near the lobby - so there was some traffic by the door - but nothing I would call...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank atomic1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 25, 2012

The rooms are dark, narrow, and a little outdated.
The new shower enclosure and flat screen tv screen are the most endearing part of the the 'Comfort Inn' experience.
The price is the same as the big cities and - however continental breakfast is included.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bibi_azim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2012

This property just converted their old kitchen units to 100% remodeled units- very clean, comfortable property. I always choose this property in Gander, it is the most up to date and cleanest which is very important.

Room Tip: Ask for renovated rooms- everything is new and updated
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank capernl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gander hotels
0.7 mi away
Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
0.4 mi away
Quality Hotel & Suites
0.1 mi away
Albatross Hotel
Albatross Hotel
#5 of 6 in Gander
114 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Country Inn Motel & RV Park
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Address: 112 Trans Canada Hwy, Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador A1V 1P8, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gander
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Hotels in Gander
Price Range: $124 - $165 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Comfort Inn 2*
Number of rooms: 64
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, Choice Hotels, TripOnline SA and Evoline ltd so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Gander
Comfort Inn Gander, Newfoundland
Gander Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing