We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff in a tired building.”
Review of Albatross Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Albatross Hotel
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Gander
Corner Brook, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
57 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Great staff in a tired building.”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

In Gander, NL all of the hotels/motels are older structures, so there is little choice in terms of age. The Albatross is no exception. The building looks aged from outside, it has a maze of corridors and levels inside, it's difficult to find your way around, but there is evidence of some upgrading and modernization. Our room was on the back of one of the 'wings' so it was quiet there. Watch out for road-facing rooms because they can be noisy, especially if you like to open your window. The hotel fronts right on the Trans Canada Highway, within about 50-60 feet of the road, although traffic speed is reduced in that area.

Our room was small but comfortable, no problem with the bed comfort or furnishings, but the bathroom fan was exceptionally noisy! The bathroom itself had clearly been upgraded, it is attractive, but there were other shortcomings. With a pedestal sink and little shelving available, there is nowhere to place your toiletry bag, razor, etc. The grout between the tiles in our bath looked like mildew was forming, a obvious maintenance item.

The dining room serves breakfast, not price-included with room (there's no such thing as a free breakfast!), but the food was well prepared and priced reasonably. We did not try lunch or dinner.

The biggest asset to the Albatross is the staff. They were friendly and helpful and made you feel at home. Sometimes, that is more important than the overall ambience of the building. We would stay here again. Is it on par with the other local hotels? I suspect so.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John_CornerBrook
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

106 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    30
    44
    16
    7
See reviews for
19
30
4
35
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Corner Brook, Newfoundland, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 29, 2013

Can anyone tell me what the Jacuzzi room is like? Not the bridal suite, but the regular $130 room. It seems like such a great price for a jacuzzi that i'm wondering if it is too good to be true lol. Thanks in advance!

Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank ReneeMichelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stephenville, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was very disappointed with this hotel, the beds were sunken in the center and the toilet wasn't bolted to the floor so every time you used it ,it moved. Then every flush of the toilet you had to remove the back lid to stop the water from running constantly. For the cost of $136 a night it was far from acceptable!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Janet A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitch0186, Manager at Albatross Hotel, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
We are sorry to learn that you didn’t enjoy your stay with us. We would appreciate you contacting us to let us know which room you stayed in so we can rectify these issues. In the future, if you do you chose to stay with us, again, we would appreciate if you would report any issues with your room to the front desk, so that we may take care of them right away. Taking care of our guests is very important to us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Gander hotels

Placentia, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 8, 2013

as a young couple on our way to placentia from corner brook with our 1 year old daughter this was an awesome spot for us to crash for the night.. across island drives always seem longer with a toddler aboard!! front desk staff were awesome and really friendly, the rooms were spotless and spacious, the baby loved the zig zag hallways LOL we had a time trying to find our room again but it was a nice stretch for our legs after the long drive..... we had jungle jims when we got there, which is literally RIGHT NEXT DOOR, how awesome is that?! and had a delicious, reasonable priced breakfast delivered right to our room, with a speciality order of 1 pancake and some fresh fruit for our baby :)

Room Tip: if you aren't a heavy sleeper id recommend a room in the back of the motel away from the buildin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank cae s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stratford, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2012

We had no great expectations for this hotel but we were pleasantly surprised. The room was spotless, comfortable and roomy enough even if on the smallish size. The dining room was quite pretty. Our room was at the back of the hotel so there were no highway noises. The only negative is the plumbing noise from neighbouring rooms was obvious. Staff were extremely helpful and without any prompting, offered us a better rate with a complimentary breakfast...how often does that happen? I definitely recommend this hotel to anyone staying in Gander.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcgwill
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mitch0186, Manager at Albatross Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
We are happy to see that you enjoyed your stay. We pride ourselves on our friendly, helpful staff. They truly do make the difference in the experience you have with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada, Kentucky
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 10, 2012

Well before we booked the room here we did read the reviews.. and like most hotels.. there are always a few bad reviews with the good ones.. but with this hotel.. i would give this a bad one. The staff and the lobby entrance was good.. had to walk up a few stairs to get to the room and the smell in the hallway was so terrible.. even my son held his breathe until we could get in the room.. they need to strip that carpet and freshen up the hallway.. it was terrible.. The room was clean.. still old and little outdated but not bad.. and it was going ok until the air conditioning kicked in. It was not our's that was going in the room ,, we turned it off because it was so loud.. but the air conditioning in the building.. my god it was so loud. We got in bed and it was a constant humming and almost vibration in our heads.. it was terrible.. WE had called to the office and they did put us in another room.. but it was late and my son had to be woken up and was upset because he to wake up and move to another room and it took a while to get our stuff and get situated again. The new room was little quieter, thank god, and we did get a little sleep. Maybe if we had got this room at first I would not be writing this review.. but we were so tired the next day because of the move that was late at night.. So will I stay here again.. NO..Just don't want to go through this again..

Room Tip: ask for a quiet room where you dont hear the air conditioning from the buidling ALL NIGHT LONG!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lslslslslsl l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
168 reviews
163 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2012

This is quite a basic motel that is situated on the side of the Trans Canada Highway on the outskirts of Gander. There is an on site restaurant and also a couple of fast food outlets in the vicinity. This is just a place to overnight and there is not a lot of choice in Gander.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peter_sue20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Gander
0.1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 6 in Gander
185 reviews
0.6 mi away
Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
2.4 mi away
Country Inn Motel & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
The Gaultois Inn
The Gaultois Inn
#1 of 1 in Gaultois
13 reviews
Show Prices

Been to Albatross Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Albatross Hotel

Property: Albatross Hotel
Address: 114 Trans Canada Hwy | P.O. Box 450, Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador A1V 1P8, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gander
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 Hotels in Gander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Albatross Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 89
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline and Hotwire so you can book your Albatross Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Albatross Hotel Gander, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing