We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“needs updating”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gander
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
44 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“needs updating”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2013

Canada/US coast to coast, hotel #17, 1 night

Gander was a pitstop on the way to St John's from Port Aux Basques and fortunately redeemed by a bistro and the staff working there. The Sinbad hotel needs updating, the room was large but the hotel and room had a general musty smell, my wife found the bed uncomfortable. The staff was courteous and I had a good sleep. One silver lining was the included breakfast, it is served up in a regular restaurant that only puts out a small quantity (of eggs, bacon etc) at a time. Since we showed up late we received fresh scrambled eggs and bacon which was great. One negative is the price, the hotel is not great value and I would seek better value if available in town.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amosnov
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    48
    45
    23
    14
See reviews for
31
35
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bancroft
Level Contributor
144 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

Sinbad's is a large hotel with long, long corridors. It took us quite a while to find our room, whick was at the back of the hotel. However, our room was clean and comfortable and just fine for the one night we spent there. The restaurant served tasty food but the service was a bit slow. If you are in the area check out this hotel.

Room Tip: If you have mobility issues ask for a room close to the lobby and restaurant.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Audrey S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kamsack, Canada
Level Contributor
100 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 11, 2013

We booked here on a Thursday night - everything else in Gander was booked up and even Sinbad's was very busy as well. We were on the second floor in an efficiency unit room - came with a stove, microwave and some basic kitchen equipment. Sure it's an older hotel - but all the Steele brand hotels (Gander, Corner Brook and St. John's) are older buildings in need of an update. Our room was very large and clean and we were able to get a good night's rest. You also get a coupon for the hot breakfast in the downstairs restaurant but we did not take advantage of it since we had an early morning flight. If I were in Gander and in need of a hotel room, I would book here again.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank Newfie_Screech
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

As many reviewers have noted this is a basic hotel. But basic doesn't mean bad. The room was clean. The beds are comfortable. The sheets are clean. The shower worked. We arrived at 130am off a flight from Toronto. We slept until 11am. We were out the door at 12 noon.

Room Tip: Room 242 was fine.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank James_Cullin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
82 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2013

We stayed for one night on short notice. It was close to the airport and close to shopping and restaurants.
The hotel has seen better days but the staff is cheerful and helpful. Our room was on the first floor but it was at the other end of the building of winding hallways.
Everything was dated but the room was large enough for four and the beds were comfortable.
I was worried because we could hear the people upstairs walking around, but it stopped by the time we went to bed.
Breakfast wasn't bad at all. My daughter and I had the scrambled eggs with your choice of any or all the meats, bacon, bolona or sausage. There was also fresh fruit and cereal. It was all eaten on a table with tablecloths and china. The only downside to breakfast was the coffee. I asked for decaf but all they had was Sanka.(1970's?)
Would stay here again if I was passing through.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Tusker1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moncton, Canada
Level Contributor
89 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

If you're just driving through while visiting Newfoundland, this is a convenient stay. The hotel is a little dated but it was clean and comfortable. It's located off the highway but near a shopping district with food and gas nearby.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank garycormier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brampton, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2013

Only stayed one night. Very dated all over. From the outside to the inside, carpets to the room. The bed was ok. Even walking in the hallways over the carpet, lots of creaking and noises. I was on the second floor and heard lots of creaking from the hallways/rooms above me. Basic room, basic tv, AC, washroom. Did get a coupon for a free buffet breakfast which was ok, it also served as the spot lunch/dinner at hotel. I saw the menu and personally thought it was over priced for the location/hotel quality. Staff were nice enough. Located across the street from Gander Mall. If you are looking for Gander's "hot spot", Legends at Irving West Hotel(part of the same hotel chain). Although, that hotel looked pretty run down as well, at least the bar/lounge/dance club "Legends" was decent.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Shivers34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gander hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 6 in Gander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albatross Hotel
Albatross Hotel
#4 of 6 in Gander
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.3 mi away
Country Inn Motel & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinbad's Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinbad's Hotel and Suites

Property: Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
Address: 133 Bennett Dr | Newfoundland, Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador A1V 1W6, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gander
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sinbad's Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sinbad's Hotel & Suites has been newly renovated and we are now a 4 star hotel. We are 100% air-conditioned located in downtown Gander and only minutes away from the Airport and shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sinbad's Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinbad`s Hotel Gander
Sinbad's Hotel And Suites Gander, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing