We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome place in 1985, now just OK”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gander
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
106 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Awesome place in 1985, now just OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Friendly staff. Nice size rooms. Decent prices. Clean.

Desperately needs updating though - the hotel is getting very very tired.

Noticed in the hotel information binder that I could get a "VCR Rental" for only $7. My daughter said "Daddy what's a VCR?"...lol

My mother in law (yes she was staying with us...."fun"), couldn't figure out how to work the water temperature in the shower. To be fair, it was very confusing. One tap for water volume, the other for temperature...Weird.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IMARover1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

145 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    15
    48
    45
    23
    14
See reviews for
31
35
7
37
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Cape Breton Island, Canada
Level Contributor
75 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

This hotel provided us with an excellent room and a very good seniors discount package , which alone is a major plus and one reason to say they are excellent . Their front desk staff and dining room staff were very professional , welcoming and very efficient. The room was spacious , clean, well furnished and quiet . The hotel layout is a bit awkward , so can mean a bit of a long walk to some rooms . The layout means some rooms have a view and some do not, the wing facing the street and and the entrance are really not doing them justice , but don't let that / the pictures deter you. The name has a cute Newfoundland story to it , so if you find it an odd name don't let that deter you either . These owners (the Steele Group) have several places in Newfoundland and seem to put the customer first and care about quality. Their dining room is very well furnished , (imagine white linen on the tables these days) , very quiet and relaxing. Their breakfasts are great , their evening menu is also very good, albeit a bit pricey, they just need a few more options . So overall , excellent, but based on previous reviewers sounds like there are some rooms yet to be refurbished .

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank caperbeach
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012 via mobile

A clean and friendly hotel situated fairly close to the airport, surrounded by a few shops and fast food restaurants.
The facilities are somewhat basic and the decor old fashioned but this reflects in the price. Ok for a short stay, nothing longer.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rusty9368
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. John's, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

The room was huge and very comfortable? The staff were very friendly
Would definitely stay there again.excellant value for your money. Shopping mall was within walking distance from the hotel. Very quiet.Would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who wanted a quiet getaway.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Clara M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Niagara Falls, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

A basement room with a terrible odour! (old smoking room?) And a window with a view to make me sleep with one eye open! #1 on my list as my worst hotel experience! Staff at desk were friendly enough, but come on, they had to have known they were giving us the left-overs! Location was excellent, great stop-over offering a variety of places to eat and shop.

Room Tip: ask to see your room!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jandk1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2012

Clean Comfortable rooms with friendly staff. I accidentally left some items in the room when we checked out and when I called about them a few days later they had them wrapped up and waiting for me to pick them up the next time I was in Gander. I was impressed with their honesty.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tincase
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto
Level Contributor
141 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2012

Great bedding. Good staff. Recommend this hotel. Good value. Free internet. Interesting city. Lovely airport.

Room Tip: Close to Shoppers Drug Mart and a good mall across the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bseagram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Gander hotels
0.6 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#1 of 6 in Gander
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.6 mi away
Albatross Hotel
Albatross Hotel
#4 of 6 in Gander
3.0 of 5 bubbles 102 reviews
2.3 mi away
Country Inn Motel & RV Park
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sinbad's Hotel and Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sinbad's Hotel and Suites

Property: Sinbad's Hotel and Suites
Address: 133 Bennett Dr | Newfoundland, Gander, Newfoundland and Labrador A1V 1W6, Canada
Location: Canada > Newfoundland and Labrador > Newfoundland > Gander
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 6 Hotels in Gander
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Sinbad's Hotel and Suites 3*
Number of rooms: 107
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sinbad's Hotel & Suites has been newly renovated and we are now a 4 star hotel. We are 100% air-conditioned located in downtown Gander and only minutes away from the Airport and shopping center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sinbad's Hotel and Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sinbad`s Hotel Gander
Sinbad's Hotel And Suites Gander, Newfoundland

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing