We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The loveliest restaurant with live music and fantastic food” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Root Community Emporium

The Root Community Emporium
Ranked #11 of 93 Restaurants in Lloydminster
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Brunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Level Contributor
64 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“The loveliest restaurant with live music and fantastic food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 26, 2014 via mobile

I travel frequently and always love when I come upon a place like the Root. It's run with a freedoms loving crew of community oriented staff headed by Amanda. She's a fantastic human being who's supports local community services to hire all kinds of staff. Even some with special needs. This does not take away from service or quality, but rather adds to the open hearted vibe.

Now let's chat about the AMAZING food. Healthy, tasty, tons of options and if it's happens to be a special event - a fantastic set menu.

There is usually some kind of live music which has turned this place into a community hub for creative folks and restaurant goers alike. Make sure to grab some crepes on your way out of town for brunch.

I can't wait to come back.



Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Alulalei
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

54 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    31
    11
    5
    3
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Lloydminster, Alberta
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Amazing!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

Live music, super great food!! A nice relaxing atmosphere and it feels like your not even in Lloyd which is GREAT! LOVE IT! I go there as much as I can

  • Visited February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank SaskMannnn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Go for healthy, delicious food and lovely service!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 10, 2013

Like others have said, what a hidden gem! My friend and I went while passing through Lloyminster and had the best meal here!

IF THEY HAVE LEMON MERINGUE PIE - GET IT!!!! The graham cracker crust was to die for!

I shared a green curry full of fresh veggies and a creative fish dish. I especially loved the fish. Great portion sizes. The server was really helpful around our dietary restrictions. Nice eclectic, cool atmosphere.

Also go for their live music - we happened to go when there was a Canadian folk band playing, it was super cute! Would be a great place to hang out if you have more time.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank stilleok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“A gem in Lloydminster. You have to go!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2013

I was passing through Lloydminster last week and can't say I had very high hopes for a great meal, so I was pleasantly surprised finding the Root! The atmosphere was amazing, our server was so friendly I was impressed right away. The food didn't disappoint either! I had the wild northern pike which was amazing! Oh my goodness, you need to try it! I have a few dietary restrictions, I don't eat dairy or gluten, and I've had a hard time finding delicious options on my trip. These weren't a problem at all here, they had a bunch of things to choose from and we're really helpful in recommending options.

If you're in Lloydminster, you 100% need to try the Root.

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Megan S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Inspired & Refreshing”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Just had the most amazing dining experience! The meal (including dessert) was delicious from start to finish and very nicely presented. My meal of chick-pea soup, freshly baked multigrain bread, minced zucchini and corn (formed and topped with alfalfa sprouts), potatoes and pork chop was prepared with locally sourced ingredients. The person who served me was pleasant, considerate and gracious --- which seemed to be the tone of the entire restaurant.

The decor is "relaxed Alberta country" and very comfortable.The many pieces of art throughout the restaurant, the music that was playing, and the good acoustics all contributed to the positive experience.

I found The Root through tripadvisor.ca and am so glad I did!

  • Visited October 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Root Community Emporium also viewed

 
Lloydminster, Alberta
 
Lloydminster, Alberta
Lloydminster, Alberta
 

Been to The Root Community Emporium? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing