We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Lloydminster
St. Albert, Canada
2 reviews
“Dirty”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2014

Stayed here with our granddaughters ball team. The place is not cleaned properly. It looks like the rooms were semi vacuumed, but there were large particles of stuff behind the table, and along the edges of the floor and behind the door. A dirty cleaning rag was left on the floor of our bathroom and was there to greet us when we first got in the room. There was a streak of something reddish brown on the dust ruffle of one of the beds, Yuck! One of the little ball players was taking a shower in her room and the water just stopped! In our room the water ran from hot to cold to burning hot. I had to constantly adjust it to avoid being scalded. When we were leaving the room for the day, the cleaning staff saw us leaving and asked if we "needed" the room cleaned. I just asked for towel replacement. She took our towels and did not come back with fresh ones. We had to go searching for towels and toilet paper ourselves later. It seems that with the previous comments of this place being dirty that management would step up and take control. Our grandkids enjoyed the free breakfast and the water slides. Beds were comfortable however I will not stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cherky777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Thank-you for your response! So sorry for your inconvenience, I wish you would have called to the front desk upon arrival to your room so that we could have changed your room. Not to lighten your inconvenient stay with us, but we do have new housekeepers whom obviously need more training and to inspect the room before they close the door. Again, I do apologise! I am glad that you did enjoy the water slides, the comfy bed, and the complimentary breakfast.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

73 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    10
    12
    16
    33
See reviews for
21
10
3
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    2 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Smithers, Canada
Level Contributor
92 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2014

We had called ahead, and they had a spot for us, ............
We were tired and glad to have a place to rest our heads.
The check-in clerk was friendly.
We checked in, and "initialed the check-in document " for our non smoking room.
Thus far the GOOD news.
Now, up the elevator to our floor .......
The hallway was NOT clean, and smelled awful.
Our room, was NOT clean, and smelled like a smoking den.
The sheets were clean enough, but under the mattress cover, ..... GROSS
The bathroom was FILTHY
The shower produced only a pathetic dribble, and squirted water at the "diverter control", obviously the shower head was partially plugged.
Oh well, "it's only for one night".....
Upon checkout, ... another friendly person, ......... I thought I had better share my thoughts......
"could I please see the check-in document" ........... "we asked for and signed for a non-smoking room", .............
"It IS a ""non-smoking room", sir" We heard as a reply.
"well, actually , you are WRONG, I DO KNOW what smoke smells like." I replied.
" and I do not appreciate the false pretences" I continued.
Then came the clincher, ...... "but Sir, as of 2 weeks ago we changed the WHOLE tower to ""non smoking"" status."
AHA, now I get it, ........ : Proclaim it to be "non smoking", and "in 2 weeks" it shall be fresh and clean, miraculously.................
We will not darken their doorway again, even if it would mean to sleep in our vehicle.
PS .... the included "free breakfast" was fine.

Room Tip: Avoid this establishment.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Peter P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 25, 2014
Thank-you for your review. We were in the process of changing our tower rooms to non smoking rooms including new carpets, new bedding, painted ceilings, ect. Your stay was right in the middle of our transition, I do apologise for this inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Lloydminster hotels

Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
22 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Stayed 3 nights, Pros: friendly staff, comfortable beds, clean room, good breakfast. Cons: requested cleaning staff to clean room later in day (not done), busy, crowded breakfast area between 8:00 - 9:00 a.m., need more lighting in the rooms - stayed level one, rooms on the 7th floor much brighter (more lighting). In comparison to other places in Lloydminster, the price is reasonable and the added hot breakfast is a bonus.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fav4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, April 17, 2014
Thank-you so much for your review! The breakfast room does get a little busy in the morning especially when we have many teams in the hotel. We are in the process of renovating our property, We appreciate your comments, and are pleased that you enjoyed your time with us. Thank-you again!!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
11 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I've stayed here way too many times. They say the definition of insanity is doing the same thing over & over again & expecting a different result. Well I guess I'm insane. I gave this joint way too many chances to step up, yet nothing. Bottom floor, I ended up with bites all over my body in more than one room. other floors seem to be okay. The best part of staying here is the beds, they are nice. I end up swearing & cursing everyday once I step into the hotel, but subsides when I finally get into my room after I go there & find out my key card does not work. So down to the front desk I go & request they make the key card work for more that one day, a 10 min at best turn around with my hand full. "Well I'll try, but they are finicky" My deal is 125 a night if you can get a room in one of the many nice hotels even for a little more, do it! This place is not worth the aggravation! 105 a night would fit it it's place in the market. I can't wait for the new hotels to open up to drive the prices down for these gougers!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jason H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, February 3, 2014
Thank-you for your response! Sorry that we could not satisfy you during your time with us. We as well as other hotels take the threat of "bed bugs" very seriously and should not be thrown around litely! If you had bites from multiple rooms , I would expect you come to the front desk and question what was going on. We would have had a pest control officer in our property within a half hour for an inspection. Good luck wherever you do stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 12, 2013 via mobile

First of all the staff is completely clueless and rude ! Second incident was that someone walked in on me while i was having a shower! They rented the room twice to two different persons ! And last but definitely not least.. I was at work the next day and i started itching all over my right side( side that i sleep on), got back later that day, took shirt off and no doubt about it, bed bug bites. Trust me ive got them once before and i know what they are. I've done my research and actually went to the hospital to get them checked out! Now im throwing away arpund 2000$ worth of work gear and clothes due to contamination and all they (tropical inns staff) can do is give me 50% off my one night stay !!! Unacceptable !!!!!So long story short: strike one, two and three all within 24 hours !! Me( projects supervisor) and all personal of company will never stay at this hotel again

Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
5 Thank Lannen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 16, 2013
Thank-you for your response. We are terribly sorry for your inconvenient stay with us. We do have new staff on and that should never happen. We will take more time on training our new attendants. We do take the threat of bed bugs very seriously. However, we had pest control at our property and they found no evidence of bed bug activity. I am sending you a copy of the inspection report on your room. Again, we are sorry for your inconvenience.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

Staff was enthusiastic and professional. The room was sparkling clean with a really nice pillowy bed. The WiFi was fast (able to stream Netflix no problem). Free breakfast and room service too! Great stay. Recommended!

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Genevieve M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, December 3, 2013
Thank-you so much for your review. We are delighted you enjoyed your stay and we look forward to your next stay with us!!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Regina, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

When we got to the hotel the lobby was nice but hard to get around to find our room. The room was not very clean and the pool was terrible that my kids were scared. The hotel is a bit old and it need renovation. We are not comfortable at all, we change hotel the next day.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank E C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TropicalInn, General Manager at Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre, responded to this review, September 5, 2013
Yes our hotel is a bit of a maze as it is so large. I do apologise for your room not being up to standards, we will work closer with our housekeeping staff to improve this. We are in the process of renovations, I do hope you will give us another try. Thank-you so much!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Lloydminster hotels
1.2 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Lloydminster
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Meridian Hotel
1.8 mi away
Hampton Inn by Hilton Lloydminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Super 8 Lloydminster
Super 8 Lloydminster
#8 of 14 in Lloydminster
3.5 of 5 bubbles 251 reviews
0.2 mi away
Days Hotel & Suites - Lloydminster
0.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Hotel & Suites Lloydminster
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre

Property: Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre
Address: 5621 44th Street | Alberta, Lloydminster, Alberta T9V 0B2, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > Alberta > Lloydminster
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 14 Hotels in Lloydminster
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre 3*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Tropical Inn is Lloydminsters largest full service hotel hosting 165 rooms. We have two large waterslides, pool, jacuzzi, sauna and ecercise room in the water park. For dining we have Tony Roma's and Bennigan's Irish pub. Our hot buffet breakfast is perfect for starting the day. We also have a cold beer and liquor venue on site. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Tropical Inn Hotel and Conference Centre reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tropical Hotel Lloydminster
Tropical Inn Hotel And Conference Centre Lloydminster, Alberta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing