We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Used to be good but no more”
Review of Gary's Bistro

Gary's Bistro
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Late Night, Reservations
Parksville, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Used to be good but no more”
Reviewed June 4, 2014

Used to be good in the early 2000's but has gone seriously wrong in recent years.

Last time I was there they had run out of the beer I wanted and the food. Prior to that 3 times the food came to the table cold.

Let's hope they improve. They certainly can't get any worse!

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank bob b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

175 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    78
    33
    12
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A great family restaurant, the kids always enjoy it here!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Gary was a car guy, the walls at this place are covered in pictures of hot rods and old musclecars, the kids always enjoy it here! Good food and good friendly service.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank IslandHighwayMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Miss you Gary, but the food is still GREAT!”
Reviewed May 29, 2014

Gary was not only a friend, but ran what I think was (and still is) one of the best restaurnats in
Qualicum Beach. To the new owners .... keep up the great work!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traven47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
117 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Tasty food every time.”
Reviewed May 28, 2014

We've eaten at Gary's a few times now and the food and service have always been very good. The last time I had their Taco Salad and it was delicious. We've also enjoyed their burgers. Love the tables for two with the comfy arm chairs. We will return.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank RobinsFolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“awsome”
Reviewed May 18, 2014

Love the food never had anything not good from here. Tje staff are super nice to. The prices arw reasonable.

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Gary's Bistro also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Gary's Bistro? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing