We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Birthday dinner at Lefty's”
Review of Lefty's Restaurant

Lefty's Restaurant
Price range: $7 - $18
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Soups, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Special occasions, Large groups, Families with children, Kids, Local cuisine
Dining options: Lunch, Brunch, Breakfast, Late Night, Dinner, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in downtown Qualicum Beach, Lefty's has been crafting fresh food daily since 1996. Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and desserts (with many gluten-free and vegetarian options available), the restaurant features comfort food with a twist and seasonal specials along with a warm, welcoming ambiance and cozy tables. Lefty's now offers stone-baked artisan thin-crust pizzas with sauces made from scratch, blended cheeses and fresh ingredients. Or start your morning with a Lefty's local breakfast, made with free-range eggs, custom British-style banger sausages, house-made jam, hot sauce and fresh-brewed locally-roasted organic coffee.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Birthday dinner at Lefty's”
Reviewed January 7, 2014

We had a wonderful,birthday party at Lefty's. The halibut was very fresh and moist.
Excellent salsa on it. They exchanged my carb with the fresh veggies of the day and this was
Done very willingly and graciously. The steak sandwich was cooked to perfection. We thoroughly
Enjoyed the food and service.

  • Visited January 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 1LOVEY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

486 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    216
    156
    69
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Whistler, Canada
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“It was ok”
Reviewed December 12, 2013

Not a lot of restaurant options in Qualicum Beach so it was ok. The Crab Jalapeño Poppers were bland. Sat on a huge wasteful pile of spinach. I would get rid of spinach and put it on a plain white plate with a drizzle of sour cream sauce across it. Better presentation and less wasteful of other products. The beer selection is not great, but not many places in Qualicum have decent craft brews anyways. The Chicken Burger was ok, but again a wasteful plate, so much food as it has a burger, fries and salad ugh. Server kept going back to 'check'. If you were packed you shouldn't have time to go back checking and finding the answers to our questions. I know it's a small community and people develop a relationship and knows everyone etc but that shouldn't get you good reviews.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Ser07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Robert H, Owner at Lefty's Restaurant, responded to this review, December 14, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Food tastes are obviously subjective and we are sorry we disappointed you. We will consider your recommendations. I politely disagree with you on the topic of reviews based on our relationship with our guests. Of course the food, environment and service are important to our guests experience in varying degrees but we have always treated it as the 'hospitality industry' first with all that that phrase implies. If our guests are inclined to review us based on those criteria we will leave that "subjective' decision to them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
173 reviews
47 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“For a quick or relaxing meal”
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Lefty's have two restaurants the one in Qualicum Beach and another in Parksville. We have never eaten at the Parksville location but have eaten often in Qualicum Beach.
The food is excellent and the service great, keep in in mind that you are not eating at a 5star white table cloth restaurant ,so if that's the food/service you crave try the Empress in Victoria. Expect to get some great food offerings, my wife who is a vegetarian can always find something to eat all at a great price. We also like the take away pizza to cook at home - fresh.
My wife likes the breakfast because they say they use free range eggs, I like it because you get a lot!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Italyinjune07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ridgefield, Washington, United States
Level Contributor
265 reviews
170 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 114 helpful votes
“Not as good as the one in Parksville”
Reviewed November 12, 2013

We were going to eat at the Lefty's in Parksville, but it had a special event so we drove over to this one. It was not nearly as good as the one we ate at before. First thing was that they were out of many things on the menu. It is not a huge menu so that made it a bit difficult. We also had trouble using our debit card, which was not a problem at the other location. The service was minimal, and we wouldn't go back to this location.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank emmalea3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Courtenay, Canada
Level Contributor
42 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great food at a great price.”
Reviewed November 12, 2013 via mobile

One of if not our favorite places to stop on our way down island. The food is great for the price and the service is even better! As someone with expensive taste it's nice to find a place where the food is actually reasonable but still great. Our server last time was great. Didn't catch his name but he was extremely attentive to all the tables around us. My only comment would be that the room could use a sweep and wipe down of ledges. All and all one of my favourite lunch stops!

Helpful?
Thank avidtravels5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lefty's Restaurant also viewed

Parksville, Vancouver Island
Parksville, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Lefty's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing