We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Drop in every time we're going by.” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lefty's Restaurant

Lefty's Restaurant
Price range: $7 - $19
Cuisines: American, Canadian, Soups, International, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Special occasions, Large groups, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Accepts Mastercard, Accepts Visa, Free Off-Street Parking, Free Wifi, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Street Parking, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible, Wine and Beer
Description: Located in downtown Qualicum Beach, Lefty's has been crafting fresh food daily since 1996. Open for breakfast, lunch, dinner and desserts (with many gluten-free and vegetarian options available), the restaurant features comfort food with a twist and seasonal specials along with a warm, welcoming ambiance and cozy tables. Lefty's now offers stone-baked artisan thin-crust pizzas with sauces made from scratch, blended cheeses and fresh ingredients. Or start your morning with a Lefty's local breakfast, made with free-range eggs, custom British-style banger sausages, house-made jam, hot sauce and fresh-brewed locally-roasted organic coffee.
Black Creek, Canada
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Drop in every time we're going by.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Well breakfast - Our grown son & our daughter-in-law and wife & I all in for breakfast - service was quick & very friendly - meals were excellent - we stop in for supper, lunch, whatever - whenever we are near Qualicum Beach. We just don't get enough dessert! We never plan for it! But we did have dessert once and of course it was just right. We are true regulars even though we live 80 miles away.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank AndrewE807
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

471 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    209
    149
    68
    30
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver Island, Canada
Level Contributor
34 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Eat here, just do it.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2013

Perfectly cooked prawns (which is rare, I try them a lot) and an amazing (AMAZING) burger. Eat here, you need too. Great kids menu as well. Exceptional service...

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank FarrantFamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
171 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Good food...Good Service.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2013

Went there for lunch today. Menu is varied. We both opted for the mushroom/bacon burger. Very nice burger and we both enjoyed the potato wedges. Will definitely be going back.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank RobinsFolly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Recent visit not a good experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 12, 2013

We've visited Lefty's a number of times in the past, Qualicum restaurant. yesterday was not a good experience. We sat at a table by a side door, which I normally notice, in our past visits, was not used. Yesterday, after at least 10 door openings, it was quite annoying. Then our breakfast was finally served, after at least 30 minutes waiting. My dish was quite unappealing, a pile of sliced boiled potatoes at the side, I think they were supposed to be fried potatoes, but not crisp, some were warm, mainly cold and they just didn't look attractive at all. The huevos were skimpy and the server, although quite bubbly, actually reached across my dish of food and it was at this point that I completely lost my appetite. I didn't want to make a scene, and really should have sent the dish back. However, it was the final straw, of the server's arm just hovering over my food that repulsed me. It would have been much more polite for her to have actually gone over to the side of the table, to replenish my partner's drink. Not impressed.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Hugs20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe, England
Level Contributor
336 reviews
198 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 112 helpful votes
“Excellent pre-theatre dinner”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 9, 2013 via mobile

Having enjoyed lunch the previous day at Lefty's in Parksville (see separate entry and review) we decided to try their Qualicum venue for dinner as we had booked the nearby Village Theatre.
We were not disappointed!
I had smoked salmon pasta in a delicious Gorgonzola sauce and my wife had vegetable pasta in a lovely white sauce.
Lefty's pies all look wonderful but we decided to share just one - the lemon meringue pie, with whipped cream. This was wonderful, but we would have pigged out had we had one each!
As with the Parksville Lefty's the service is friendly and helpful.
We recommend both Lefty's.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank malawi40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Lefty's Restaurant also viewed

Parksville, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Parksville, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Lefty's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing