We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really nice gardens!” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fish Tales Cafe

Fish Tales Cafe
Cuisines: Seafood, British, Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Special occasions, Local cuisine, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: Why not treat treat yourself to a traditional English favorite:Fish & Chips, we pride ourselves on offering the best Fish'n chips on the Island as well as an extensive selection of seafood, steaks, chicken, salads, homemade soups & daily specials. Enjoy the ambience of an old English country garden setting, just steps away from the beach.
alberta
Level Contributor
34 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Really nice gardens!”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 1, 2014 via mobile

All you can eat fish and chips! Yum! Gardens were really pleasant to sit in. I wouldn't want to eat inside.. The carpet is circa 1970 and smells that way too..

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank vicky66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

256 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    83
    78
    50
    24
    21
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
canada
Level Contributor
20 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Relaxing lunch”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2014

Great. Outdoor dining food service fast. So relaxing sitting outside ocean breeze. Bunnies hopping about no bees awesome oyster burger and cod and chips! Can't wait to return

  • Visited August 2014
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank debsCanada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Best Fish & Chips!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Delicious! I highly recommend the fish & chips, I was surprised how good it tasted, it was the best I've ever had!

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank WoodwardsCondo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
calgary,canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“BEST FISH AND CHIPS AROUND”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

Lovely English outdoor garden setting,the food was fabulous,had the one piece halibut dinner that I could hardly finish,my wife had the calamri dinner,nice staff,very beautiful setting with lovely gardens abound,will definitely return one day

  • Visited August 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
2 Thank jack123156
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nanaimo, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Time to take a look”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 25, 2014

As a family 10 years ago we loved this special seafood restaurant...have been back last year and again this year and I was very disappointed. The gardens are unkept, the wooden garden furniture is peeling and I noticed that last year...nothing has changed ...the garden trellis is in need of paint as is the fence...in other words, time is standing still...no changes..the fish and chips were awful..the prices were unreasonable..the servers didn't know if there were any specials...the liquor prices were unreasonable...The bathrooms were disgusting...our outdoor chairs were uncomfortable and when we lifted the cushions we saw the rungs were duck taped...pitiful! ...sad to say we will never be back. There are much better restaurants in Qualicum beach that keep up with the times and the prices.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank ikc_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fish Tales Cafe also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Fish Tales Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing