We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lied about availability since we had a child”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Buena Vista by the Sea
Ranked #5 of 10 Hotels in Qualicum Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 3, 2008

I called for availbility since I saw such great reviews and when I said my daugther was six, all the sudden there was no availability. The truth came out since I told them I saw availabile rooms on the website that she said the resort was "adult oriented" and there was a rose garden and insinuated that a child could not manage them selfs around that. I was really taken aback. We saw they were right on the beach and did not want a hotel in the busy area of parkville - although she immediately tried to send us that way. Poor customer service.

Stayed: August 2008
2  Thank etmmjw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (128)
There are newer reviews for Buena Vista by the Sea
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

120 - 126 of 128 reviews

Reviewed July 24, 2008

My husband & I stayed at the Buena Vista by the Sea for 4 nights in February. It is close to our family's homes in Qualicum Beach. We stayed in the Texada Suite. Check in with Claire was a breeze (we arrived rather late on a Tuesday night). The suite was roomy & comfy. We loved having a full kitchen with a full size fridge. And the view from our balcony was beautiful.

We will definitely stay here again on our next visit to Vancouver Island & Qualicum Beach.

  • Stayed: February 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
1  Thank saitken69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2006

This was not worth the money. The beds were uncomfortable -- could feel the springs. The room was filthy and noisy -- right on the main road.

  • Stayed: September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
3  Thank Panada
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2006

This is a small waterfront resort with marvelous accomodations and a sweeping view of Johnstone Strait.
There is a beautiful garden area at water's edge which is delightfully lighted at night.
Access to the beach is right there.
The units are well equipped with full kitchen and different bed arrangments.
The Murphey's who own/operate the resort are delightful hosts.
I would recommend this place highly to other travelers.
Donna Douglass
Gig Harbor, WA

3  Thank DJDouglass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Calgary, Albeta, Canada
17
Reviewed June 4, 2006

I have 25 years in International Hotel Management.
I was decieved by the exterior of the building frontage to then find a fabulously elegant and clean oceanfront suite. The facility was immaculate - I know where to look. I was amazed by the view and the quality of the fixtures and finishes. The service was refined and not bothersome. First rate fresh coffee for the suite at check-in and we never saw the Inneeper again. She was very pleasant and informative. The townsite is lie a dream come true. Clean and very wonderful shops. I would recommend this little gem to anyone with a discerning eye for hotel quality. Rate was also superb!

7  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2016
Google Translation

  • Stayed: September 2016, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Andrea V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 3, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlenaRob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qualicum Beach
7.1 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
247 reviews
1.8 mi away
Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
1.5 mi away
Qualicum Beach Inn
Qualicum Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.5 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
1.3 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#9 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
119 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shorewater Resort
Shorewater Resort
#2 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Buena Vista by the Sea? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Buena Vista by the Sea

Address: 3285 Island Hwy W | British Columbia, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 2C6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Qualicum Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Qualicum Beach
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Qualicum Beach
Price Range: $111 - $169 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Buena Vista by the Sea 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All of our rooms have a full kitchen and a beautiful ocean view. Our suites all have undergone extensive renovation. In the upper suites you can sit on your private balcony overlooking the ocean and enjoy the cool sea breezes as you watch the cruise ships pass. The lower suites are walk on waterfront with sliding patio doors opening to our manicured lawn. You have your choice of bachelor, one bedroom or two bedroom suites. Every room has cable TV and high-speed internet access should you get tired of watching the wildlife on the beach or the spectacular sunsets. Unfortunately our accommodation is not suited for small children. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Buena Vista by the Sea reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Buena Vista By The Sea Hotel Qualicum Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing