We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great spot for some great food with some friends!”
Review of Seamark Restaurant Ltd. - CLOSED

Seamark Restaurant Ltd.
Cuisines: Sushi, Vietnamese
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed July 31, 2014

We took advantage of the patio weather last evening and walked down to Seamark. They have a nice mixture of sushi,sashimi and Vietnamese cuisine. Our party started with the Gyoza and the Beef wrapped in Wild Betel Leaves. These were excellent! I had the Pho Soup and spicy tuna roll and others took a variety of things from the menu. Everyone liked their dish (red curry bowl was excellent as was all the sushi ordered) and the portion sizes very generous. I think they are working through adding staff as there is a Help Wanted sign on the door and the service was a bit slow but we were in no hurry so it was fine. I would definitely go back or recommend to other travellers visiting the area.

2  Thank D_AndrewD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviews (42)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

16 - 20 of 42 reviews

Reviewed July 26, 2014

Maybe we hit them on a bad night, but this was a very disapointing experience. After perusing the menu we placed our order only to be advised they were out of both items. Finally we decided to play it safe by asking firstly "if they had the item" and then found they were out of two more things including a salad...hello!

The dynamite roll was lack lustre, the wonton soup broth proved the same and the tempura batter was thick, soggy and quite sub-standard. Very poor 'wine by the glass" selection to boot. Will not be back.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank Caroljohn2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeamarkRest, Owner at Seamark Restaurant Ltd., responded to this reviewResponded July 27, 2014

Thank you for your feedback, we take all feedback very seriously. We had an unexpectedly busy week and did run out of a few items. Unfortunately, the 3 items (Pho, beef betel leaf, wakame/seaweed salad) we ran out of that night were the items that you requested. Our Pho stock is not a pre-packaged stock, uses no MSG, and takes a few days to make and our Pho meatballs are hand-made. Unfortunately if we run out, we can't just whip up another batch. Our betel leaf is flown in from Vietnam via Vancouver and is not easy to get on the Island. We are waiting for leaf from our supplier and are having difficulty getting it. We are considered removing wakame salad from our menu. Surprisingly, it has been popular of late and we ran out.

All of our soups are made from scratch and we don't use mixes or MSG so it may not have been the flavours you are accustomed to. Our tempura is popular and we don't have complaints about it and we will monitor feedback on ours in the future.

Our wine list is limited. We are a small restaurant and have limited space to carry a large inventory of wine so we carry a few reds and whites so we offer corkage, should people wish to bring their own. We like beer. We have chosen to offer a larger selection of beer for our restaurant and offer many local craft beers as well as a changing selection of imports and ciders.

We take pride in all of our food and value feedback, even on the least expensive items on our menu.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014

Great food, great service, nice, clean atmosphere well worth the stop.

Stopped in with my wife and three daughters, my oldest is not a sushi girl but she loved the udon noodle and beef dish, my wife had the muscles and loved them, I shared an assortment of sushi with my younger daughters they where excellent.

Thanks Ali (server) and chefs you have set the bar high for the rest of are trip!

2  Thank Jason C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 26, 2014

What a great place to eat! First time visit, food was ridiculously fresh! Salad rolls were loaded and tasty. Our party of 3 each had the Vermicelli dish with grilled pork, beef betal, and spring roll. This was so flavourful and so filling. We also tried the Qualicum beach sushi roll which again was to die for. I can't get over how fresh and flavourful everything is. This restaurant is truly a HIDDEN GEM. We will definitely be back over and over!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Jacquie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2014

Spring rolls are best we've had, and we've tried many. The sushi puts others to shame. Most sushi we've had is mostly filler, these are mostly FRESH fish. Delicious flavours. The food was so good, we had to go again before going back home. Also tried bowl 1 and you can tell this food is made fresh.

2  Thank Turkeydewd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seamark Restaurant Ltd. also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing