We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“The most exquisite amazing sushi I have ever tasted”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Seamark Restaurant Ltd. - CLOSED

Seamark Restaurant Ltd.
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Lund, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The most exquisite amazing sushi I have ever tasted”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2013

If you are looking for fresh amazing sushi and Vietnamese food look no further. The chef, Hieu has brought forward the absolute best of her family's restaurant history. The sushi is the best sushi I have ever tasted (and I have eaten more than my fair share...:) I highly recommend this restaurant and will be returning every time possible. My last word..WOW!!!!

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SavaryResort
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    11
    3
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
16 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“awesome”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

have gone a few times and the food and service is always excellent. Great fresh food. Qualicum really needs more restaurants like this.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
13 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Faux Sushi, Limited Menu, Spartan Decor”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

An attempt at Asian fusion (Japanese/Vietnamese) still in the experimental stage. Overall, sushi is acceptable but the rice is slightly off and the fish portions skimpy, although fresh. Spring rolls and mains also edible, but presentation needs help. Food choices are few, we're told the menu is "still developing."

A sterile restaurant environment is clean but startup fund planning forgot to include the inside decor piece. Serving staff are polite, clean, but leap around like gnomes attempting to provide something they currently cannot. Remaining owners/staff loiter in the small space seemingly without any specific duties to fulfill.

All said, the place has immense potential if the focus is on food. The trick will be to bring the quality & portion size (sushi fish) up to standards found in more urban settings. Should be an easier task on the island, considering the local fresh seafood availability.

I'll check it out again in a few months.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank BigBoomBang
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SeamarkRest, Owner at Seamark Restaurant Ltd., responded to this review, March 1, 2014
We are genuinely sorry that your experience at our restaurant was not as great as we hope it to be. We take everyone's suggestions to heart and have made some changes. We have been showing local artist's work in our restaurant for a few months now and have added a few more touches to hopefully improve our "Spartan décor" ;-)

We have also changed some of our suppliers in attempts to improve the quality of our dishes. If you are ever in the neighbourhood again, we hope that you give us another try as we are working hard to improve the dining experience in Seamark Restaurant.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Great new place!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

Nice fresh food, all reasonably priced. I work close to the restaurant and we are loving ordering lunch and picking it up each Friday for a treat. I've had the salad rolls each time and they are so fresh and good. Coworkers rave about the soups (Pho and Wonton). YUM

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank sunlover221
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
qualicum beach
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“If you've been to Vietnam you'll love this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2013

what an amazing addition to the culinary delights of Qualicum Beach! Word of mouth directed us here, and they did not steer us wrong! Having been to and cooked our way through Vietnam it is an absolute amazing find that the food here is not deep fried but fresh and true to its origin. Spring rolls are truly minty fresh while the prawn on sugarcane brought back vivid memories of cooking with the KOTO cooking school in Hanoi. Service is equally stunning.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank hemlockcottage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Seamark Restaurant Ltd. also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing