We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you want more than ordinary”
Review of Bistro 694

Bistro 694
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $11 - $17
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Edmonton, Canada
Level Contributor
51 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“If you want more than ordinary”
Reviewed April 26, 2014

We have never been disappointed with any meal we've had here so it's no wonder you need reservations for dinner. It's a small dining room with personality in the food they serve.

Diner receive fresh, warm bread with a trio of whipped butter, olives, and fully emulsified olive oil & balsamic vinegar to nibble on while we browsed the menu. We ordered the hummus to share before our meal. I love that it came with warm (and fresh) pita bread as well as with crisp fingers of romaine leaves. Lovely.

For our meal we each ordered a different type of curry dish. My husband had the evening special, Thai curried scallops and I off the menu I had the Balinese Prawn Curry. They gave us the option of having it mild or perked up a bit in spice. We both chose to have it with medium 'heat'.

The flavours of both dishes were distinctly different, as they should have been. And delicious -- full of flavour. The vegetables were fresh and properly cooked (al dente). The jasmine rice also was properly prepared and ideal for soaking up that flavourful curry.

The service is always attentive, friendly but never forced or fake. We felt comfortable and at home.

Yes, you will pay a few dollars more for an entree but the food is definitely a level or more above the average restaurant. We would both recommend this for a date night, a special occasion, or simply a fine meal for those who really appreciate the finer things.

Bon Appetit!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fromHythe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

345 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    279
    55
    10
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Qualicum Beach, Canada
1 review
“Never Disappointed”
Reviewed April 25, 2014

The meals are freshly prepared, innovative and always delicious. This is my go to place for celebratory dinners and the atmosphere is very cosy. It is difficult to choose from the interesting menu but I have always been delighted with the result. Ranks as my favourite restaurant in our small town.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wendy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Qualicum Beach, Canada
1 review
“favourite local restaurant”
Reviewed April 24, 2014

Great local dining at a fair price. Exceptional service with well presented food from an interesting menu.Great dining experience for couples or with friends. Good wine list with BC wines. Wonderful deserts!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank azgolfers77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Florida
Level Contributor
651 reviews
453 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 263 helpful votes
“Very nice restaurant”
Reviewed April 23, 2014 via mobile

Had a very pleasant lunch at this restaurant today. Very efficient service and nice environment. Good wines by the glass. 2 had the Curried tuna salad and said it was very tasty, with an attractive presentation. I had the Bistro club for $13, which is a few dollars more than most places but the whole setting warrants the price. Great service, nice bread, real wine glasses, fresh flowers etc.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Golferboy18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parksville, Canada
Level Contributor
139 reviews
100 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“try it and enjoy”
Reviewed March 23, 2014

I went there last night for dinner and found the service welcoming, efficient and warm. The food was excellent. Halibut cooked to perfection, and chicken done in a lovely mild tomato sauce with linguine and fresh vegetables. It is a place where one feels welcome and knows the food is fresh and excellently prepared. Just relax and enjoy the meal and the atmosphere.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank normpimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bistro 694 also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Bistro 694? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing