We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A must-stay for anyone travelling around Qualicum”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Qualicum Beach
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Free Spirit Spheres
Certificate of Excellence
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A must-stay for anyone travelling around Qualicum”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 19, 2011

This was an experience that will be memorable for a lifetime. Staying in a sphere was comfortable and novel, but more importantly it was peaceful, serene, and harmonizing. You have to experience it for yourself, and then you will most definitely be back.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank GREYBIRD061
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

95 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    5
    0
    0
    1
See reviews for
6
67
6
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2011

This was a very memorable vacation. I can't say enough good things about the tree spheres! The hosts have thought of everything - and were so accommodating and friendly! Their welcome basket was the perfect touch.

We only stayed for one night - but we had such a great time. There are no toilets in the spheres, but well equipped showers / steam room / kitchen / toilets etc just a 2 minute walk away. They even had a BBQ for guest use if you wanted to cook.

It was a bit out of the way, which made it nice and quiet, but difficult to access services.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JKiefer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 29, 2011

we stayed in Melody on the first night of a Vancouver Island trip, and could not have been more pleased. Melody is built like a well designed boat... everything you need or want is tucked away inside is wonderful floating room.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank partygirlhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
26 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2011

We absolutely loved our stay in Eve (the original and smallest of the spheres on the property) and would come back in a heartbeat the next time we are on the Island. Of all of the experiences of our two week trip to Vancouver, Vancouver Island, and the Okanagan Valley, this was one of our favorite stops.

Tom and Rosey are incredible hosts. Tom showed us around the property, gave us restaurant advice, and lent us his map book to help us plan the next step of our journey. The next day Rosey told us all about the story behind the spheres and gave us a peek inside the workshop where new spheres are being made. As part of our stay, we received a basket of treats overflowing with fruits, baked goods, juice, and other treats which was an additional special touch.

Eve was small (as described) but cozy. We marveled at all of the thoughtful design details (lighting, speakers, storage, etc.). Of course, nothing can compare to the feeling of falling asleep and waking up suspended in the trees. When not in the sphere, we also enjoyed reading next to the pond on the property. It was all very peaceful and serene and we left feeling very refreshed and happy.

Of course, because you're sleeping in the trees you have to descend if you want to use the bathroom or take a shower. We were given headlamps for when it got dark, but people who like to have a private en suite bathroom should probably look elsewhere.

Overall, every part of our stay was incredible and something we will never forget. Would definitely come back if given the chance!

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank actrombone
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Ontario
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2011

We chose to spend the night at the Free Spirit Sphere's as part of a tour of Vancouver Island, and despite all the experiences we had from one end of the island to the other, some of our favourite and most talked about moments happened at FSS....
The moment we arrived we were greeted by an adorably friendly woman who happily toured us around the property on the way to our sphere 'Eve' (the original). She even noticed that we had toted guitars with us and encouraged us to go and sit inside a partially created sphere to experience the incredible acoustics (which we did and were blown away!).
We got to 'Eve' and were fascinated... the whole thing is simply ingenious. Our tour-guide explained all the nooks of our sphere and then left us to our own devices... but not for long. She soon returned with champagne, orange juice and pastries for us to enjoy! What an unexpected treat!
The sphere had plenty of room for the two of us (but you definitely want to like the person you're travelling with, lol). Felt a lot like a very nice way to go camping =-)
There was a little outhouse just outside that was so clean and well kept that you don't feel like you're in an outhouse at all... and the whole thing is shingled and looks a lot like a mushroom or something...
When night fell we were provided with headlamps to make our way around, and enjoyed relaxing in the sauna house (there is a changing area and private showers here as well) and meandering around the property.
The bed was plenty comfortable, and waking up to a view of nothing but tree tops is unforgetable and beyond peaceful! And the sphere moves ever so slightly in the trees making you feel like you're a part of the forest as opposed to just in it...
We only wished two things were different: That there was somewhere to get dinner on site (we loved our sphere and didn't want to leave it for a second!), and that we had booked for more than one night!
The surrounding area is beautiful, and we found several places nearby that were great dinner options.
We absolutely loved our time at Free Spirit Spheres and hope to one day stay there again. Excellent value for the money.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank AmbNad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 23, 2011

We stayed in the Melody Sphere for one night. Rosey and Tom are ever so friendly and we even had a quick tour of their workshop where the spheres are handcrafted.
The Spheres themselves are a marvel to appreciate as they gently sway in the trees and the Experience of being inside them is unique.
In some ways it is like spending a night in an air-borne spherical ship out in a very gentle sea.
We combined this stay with a stay at the Innchanter near Tofino/Hot Springs - thoroughly recommend both accommodations and if you can do both!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Mel_LondonUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
36 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2010

We were made very welcome and had an exceptional stay at Free Spirit Spheres. Melody is beautifully appointed with great attention to detail. Very peaceful surroundings and a great place to get back in touch with the things that matter. Hopefully we will return one day.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Vash
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qualicum Beach
8.4 mi away
Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
60.8 mi away
Wickaninnish Inn and The Pointe Restaurant
3.6 mi away
Shady Shores Beach Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.2 mi away
Qualicum Beach Inn
Qualicum Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
14.1 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
6.1 mi away
Riverside Resort & Campground
Riverside Resort & Campground
#6 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Free Spirit Spheres? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Free Spirit Spheres

Property: Free Spirit Spheres
Address: 420 Horne Lake Rd, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 1Z7, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Qualicum Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 7 Specialty Lodging in Qualicum Beach
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
We provide accommodation in luxurious Spherical Tree Houses that are suspended from the trees by ropes. The spheres are suspended in the forest canopy and guests get to hang out in a serene forest setting in a sphere. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing