We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Seen better days”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Sand Pebbles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Sand Pebbles Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Qualicum Beach
Certificate of Excellence
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Seen better days”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2010

The motel right on the beach had lovely views. I think, judging from the decor, the place was last updated in the early 1970's. From the k-mart quality bed coverings in rust and floral tones to the harvest gold toilet ( which was VERY low.....you think you are falling before you finally land on the seat !) to the melamine laminate countertops, the place has seen better days. There are no alarms/clock radios, so come prepared. The motel was clean. The infrastructure is failing; exterior walls in one area not finished, peeling paint off of posts all point to signs of neglect. We believe the resident owners/caretakers are getting on in years and simply cannot keep the maintenance up. In the morning, the traffic noise from the highway, which is no more than 15 feet from the motel is quite loud.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank WandererVancouver_BC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
beachfr0nt, Manager at Sand Pebbles Inn, responded to this review, March 8, 2011
The Sand Pebbles Inn underwent a renovation in the Spring and Fall of 2010. New wall to wall carpeting was installed throughout the motel. All the rooms were painted, new beds and bed linens ( duvet's), new Sofa Beds and 32" LCD TV's in all rooms. The toilets are all standard toilets and are the regular hight. The countertops are all tile in the bathrooms and stainless steel in the kitchenettes, there is no melamine countertops to be found anywhere in the motel. My husband and I are in our late fourties and do not feel that we are getting on in years. We think that this review may have been posted to the wrong property or by someone witha hidden agenda.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

113 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    46
    40
    19
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
46
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (30)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
British Columbia
Level Contributor
45 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2010

The Sand Pebbles has always been a favorite with us. Just spent a night there with visitors from overseas. We always book room 108, its lovely. Right on the sand, floor to ceiling windows on both sides of the unit, deck on both sides of unit, one side looking out to ocean, other side onto the grassy area in front of the hotel. Room is spacious with a kitchen (which we never use). Everyone is very friendly and helpful. Great place for a quiet getaway and of course Qualicum Beach is just about as pretty as you can find anywhere.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JanokBritishColumbia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2010

Hot and tired from the train trip from Victoria, my friend and I, each with a six year old niece in tow, arrived at the Sand Pebbles Inn and instantly felt at home.
This is the perfect west coast summer holiday venue - like having a tiny cottage at the beach. Yes, it is a 60s/70s era building but that helped make the holiday even better. It seemed almost timeless - unchanged since we were kids.
The Sand Pebbles is a beautifully maintained two story U shaped building with a gorgeous green grass quadrangle, lovely flowers (including a lush hanging basket outside each unit), abundant outdoor furniture and - of course - the beach and the sea. Units consist of a huge, very clean room with two queen beds, a bed chesterfield, small kitchen and dining area and a sliding glass door that literally removes the outside wall and makes your room one with the outside. (Someone commented in their review that they wished there was a window that opened????? The entire wall opens!!) The children ran in and out all day - swimming, hunting for shells, doing acrobatics on the lawn, painting rocks on the patio outside our unit, and occasionally watching the big flat screen TV. Just a few minutes walk down the beach is the Beach Hut with its famous ice cream and old fashioned fish and chips. At night everyone gathers to watch the truly awesome sunsets. After the kids were bathed and read stories they literally fell asleep the minute their heads hit their pillows.
There is an hourly free shuttle bus to the truly charming town of Qualicum. Take time for a visit to Goats on the Roof market - the children loved it and we had a super breakfast as well as some interesting shopping - do not miss the bakery!!
After five glorious days at the Sand Pebbles we have every intention of returning next summer - the girls can hardly wait and neither can we!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gumah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
122 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

Didn't have reservations when we arrived in Qualicum Beach (which, by the way, is a much nicer town than Parksville) - Sand Pebbles happened to have a corner unit right on the water available for the one night we were there (apparently most summers everything would have been booked right up, but this summer there have been fewer tourists). Awesome location! Good size room, with a little kitchenette, two double beds and a pull-out, which meant that our teenagers each got their own bed (a big plus!) Big sliding door right out onto an interior square with beach chairs overlooking the water, where we enjoyed an evening drink, a beautiful sunset, and morning coffee. Good swimming, though the beach (as suggested by the name) is pebbly. Nice view out the window, though it would have been good if it opened. Price very reasonable for what we got. It's not a fancy place... more of a cottagey feel, which we loved.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vagabond_dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

Friendly, accommodating, economical, and talk about location ... RIGHT ON THE BEACH! Beautiful sunsets, ocean breezes wafting through the open doors, protected sun bathing area, child- and family-oriented. Really. What's not to like?

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LionHeart53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level Contributor
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 21, 2010

My friend and I brought our nieces from Victoria to stay for 4 nights at the Sand Pebbles Inn on Qualicum Beach. We were all so thrilled with every aspect of our stay: large, clean comfortable rooms; a lovely green lawn for the children to play on; the beach right there; a short walk to The Beach Hut for ice-cream and coffees; other guests were quiet and friendly; and the owners Debbie and Bruce were wonderful. We cannot recommend it highly enough, and have already promised to return next summer. This was the kind of summer holiday we all dream about.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alexiscelona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chemainus, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2010

I happened across this gem of a place while surfing the internet for a couple days of R&R. Upon calling to book a reservation, we were extremely lucky and got a wonderful room on the 2nd floor, the top corner of the hotel with views facing North and sliding glass doors along 2 sides of the room to an expansive view of the beach. We had both doors open our entire stay with gentle breezes blowing in. It also had a wonderful deck with glass to view the beach and ocean from cozy wooden chairs. The room was clean and the little kitchenette a bonus with everything we needed included. The courtyard was a great place for families as parents could sit by the seawall and safely watch their children play on the beach. We had a great time and yes, we will be back!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Honeycomb1962
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qualicum Beach
0.4 mi away
Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
5.8 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#9 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 215 reviews
0.2 mi away
Qualicum Beach Inn
Qualicum Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Buena Vista by the Sea
Buena Vista by the Sea
#4 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 126 reviews
1.4 mi away
Shorewater Resort
Shorewater Resort
#3 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
6.2 mi away
Beach Club Resort
Beach Club Resort
#3 of 13 in Parksville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Pebbles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebbles Inn

Property: Sand Pebbles Inn
Address: 2767 West Island Highway, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia VC9 2C4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Qualicum Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Qualicum Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Qualicum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sand Pebbles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sand Pebbles Inn is situated at the heart of a miles-long streach of beach many consider to be the finest on Vancouver Island. The Inn is minutes away frome sites like Little Qualicum Falls, Cathedral Grove, Enlishman River and Coombs. World famous Longbeach is an easy day-trip away. With a beautiful golf course next door , as well as all that sand and surf right outside your door there's something for everyone. All rooms have an ocean view and feature bath, shower, cable TV complimentary in-room coffee, fridge and some with kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Sand Pebbles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebbles Hotel Qualicum Beach
Sand Pebbles Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing