We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pure Relaxation”
Review of Sand Pebbles Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sand Pebbles Inn
Ranked #8 of 10 Hotels in Qualicum Beach
Swindon
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Pure Relaxation”
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Just want you need after a long travel from the UK. The location, the view, just scrumptious ! a great place to unwinding & get the vacation into motion. This was our second visit/stay at Sand Pebbles so we knew what to expect & it doesn't let you down.
Despite the lack of a bar, restaurant it has everything you need. Cook in if you want. However
there are a number of excellent establishments for dining with one of the best - The Beach Cafe only 100 metres away.
Do go - watch the world go by in a nice comfortable, clean place overlooking the beach, water to the mountains beyond and a glass of local BC red wine in your hand . Ah !!!!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SwiftSenior982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    40
    19
    6
    4
See reviews for
34
47
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Thame, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2013

The Sand Pebbles Hotel at Qualicum Beach does not set out to provide luxury accommodation, but is in such a beautiful setting that its lack of amenities can be forgiven. There is no bar, no restaurant, no lounge - only rooms; but the hotel could not be closer to the sea, set on the water's edge overlooking the bay. Having said that, the rooms are spacious, clean and well appointed, and the beds are comfortable - what more do you need with that sort of view?

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sjakeb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooks, Canada
Level 6 Contributor
109 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed September 3, 2013

Just stayed there Sept 1, 2013
Staff friendly and helpful, great room overlooking the ocean, clean and well kept, a little tired and could use some TLC for the price. Very short walk to a few eateries, fuel service close by.

Room Tip: Ask for the second floor if you desire the optimum view
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Greyfeathers47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

Comfortable, clean, basic units with fantastic views. We enjoyed our stay here with extended family. Too bad the tide came in by late afternoon so there was no sandy beach in the evening...but sitting on the comfy deck chairs, enjoying wine and the lulling effect of the waves (or was it the wine?!) more than made up for the lack of sandy beach in the evenings.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MCCL0510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

We stayed at the Sand Pebbles for three nights and loved the room. Had an upper corner room, with the most amazing view. i wouldn't hesitate to recommend this hotel.
The rooms are getting a little tired, but still a lovely place to stay. Nothing a coat of paint or replacement carpet won't fix. The front office staff is extremely friendly.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank VicfromVic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edmonton, Canada
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed August 17, 2013

My husband and I stayed for one night on our way to Comox. The room was very clean and as spacious as a bachelor apartment. You could live quit comfortably in the room. It has a kitchenette that is well stocked. You can actually rent the rooms weekly and monthly in the off season. When the tide was out I had a lovely walk down the beach. When the tide was in could walk on a path on the road but it is very busy. The owner is very friendly and if you forget any items, he will call you on your cell phone to come back and get it. Ask him to show you the pictures of the winter storms that happen in Nov. or Dec. I think it would be worth the trip to see these huge waves.

Room Tip: always top floor so you don't hear people walk above you
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank judy P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ottawa
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My wife, 3-year old daughter and I enjoyed a 2-night stay at the Sand Pebbles Inn (motel) in July.

We had a really good experience although I think that's mostly due to the amazing location above the beach (high tide literally hits the wall below the motel) and the constant perfect temperature of Qualicum Beach.

As other reviewers have noted the motel is pretty dated in terms of decor. Our room was a bit small for us (an extra room for our daughter would have been better). We had a corner room (112). Although our living room did have a small window to the ocean our patio actually faced the other rooms - not the ocean. Most rooms are like this. This means you can look into all the other rooms. Still, that's not hard to fix, as you can simply turn your chair and look at the ocean instead. We found this amusing. Some people might get annoyed.

The motel was pretty quiet for July, which was nice. Next door is the The Beach House Cafe, which is very convenient for an evening meal on the patio. A 5 min walk down the beach is the 'beach hut' for ice cream and hot dogs, hamburgers. The other side has the local city information centre.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simjenk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qualicum Beach
5.8 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
243 reviews
5.8 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
568 reviews
0.4 mi away
Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Qualicum Beach Inn
Qualicum Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
231 reviews
1.4 mi away
Ocean Crest Motel
Ocean Crest Motel
#6 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
58 reviews
6.2 mi away
Beach Club Resort - Bellstar Hotels & Resorts
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sand Pebbles Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sand Pebbles Inn

Property: Sand Pebbles Inn
Address: 2767 West Island Highway, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia VC9 2C4, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Qualicum Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Qualicum Beach
#6 Romantic Hotel in Qualicum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Sand Pebbles Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 21
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Sand Pebbles Inn is situated at the heart of a miles-long streach of beach many consider to be the finest on Vancouver Island. The Inn is minutes away frome sites like Little Qualicum Falls, Cathedral Grove, Enlishman River and Coombs. World famous Longbeach is an easy day-trip away. With a beautiful golf course next door , as well as all that sand and surf right outside your door there's something for everyone. All rooms have an ocean view and feature bath, shower, cable TV complimentary in-room coffee, fridge and some with kitchenette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sand Pebbles Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sand Pebbles Hotel Qualicum Beach
Sand Pebbles Motel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing