We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Only So-so”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Riverside Resort & Campground
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Qualicum Beach
Reviewed August 21, 2013

We went with another couple. We requested a two bedroom cabin, but ended up with a two bedroom, small, converted apartment unit above the store.It was right on the road, so lots of road noise in the bedrooms. From the tiny living area the view was of the children's play area and pool- both also noisy areas. Housekeeping came only twice during the whole week. We think they forgot they had paying guests staying upstairs above the store/office since there were a couple other units that seemed to house employees.They are under new management and perhaps have not gotten into synch. Our friends have gone there for many years, staying in cute little cabins back from the road and had never had a bad experience like this one.
Qualicum itself is a very pretty area and the town is clean and cute. Went to the summer live theater which was terrific, farmer's/artists market was fun, golf is great and a visit to the ancient, old growth Douglas Fir forest was awe inspiring. Also, must go to Goats on the Roof in nearby Coombs- an adventure into itself!

Room Tip: Do not accept a room above the office/store-way too noisy. Request a cabin in the rear.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Smcallis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for Riverside Resort & Campground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

123 - 129 of 164 reviews

Reviewed August 18, 2013

We stayed here years ago and will come back again, They go out of there way to make you feel Welcomed a perfect 10 to the staff here. it's a great location here as well... This place was nice relaxing place to have a holiday at.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Dale C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 15, 2013

WE stayed for 3 nights in a 2 bedroom cabin and it was great. This is the perfect place for the whole family, we had grandma, teenagers and an 8 yr old and our dogs. Everyone had lots of fun. We spent so much time exploring the area we need to go back and try out the golf!!. The pool was great and the kids loved meeting new friends there.
We have spent every summer for 10 years up this way but in a private cabin. With this not available to us this year we really didn't think we would like anything but this place was FABULOUS.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gail E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

We have heard this is a great family RV/resort and upon checking in, service was courteous and expedient but after that, it all went downhill!
The RV sites are small and dusty; we ended up beside campers who smoked cigarettes and dope so much it wasn't enjoyable to sit outside - day or night; the pool was overpacked with unsupervised children (under 10) who didn't obey the rules or requests of the lifeguard on duty; you have to pay $4.25 per day/per person for use of one water slide (if you so choose to use it); wifi services were terrible; there are not enough speed bumps or signs to slow down drivers going over 10km/h with numerous kids running/biking around the resort and river access is limited.
Not worth the money when there are so many other beautiful campsites on the Island.

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
5  Thank CLKMAB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

we stayed for 3 nights in July 2013,staying in our trailer. our pitch was very small and when we arrived a large motor-home had its pop out sides over our fire pit! The kids loved the pool and it was great having the shop for ice-creams and coffees. The park was ok,more for the little ones. ours enjoyed riding the bikes around and playing by the river. The wifi signal was very weak. overall its a great,affordable stay and we would stay again

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank hunkydory1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 14, 2013

We discovered Riverside when we had to duck out of a terrible storm almost 30 years ago. We sold our trailer. Have been going to Riverside every summer since then- now taking our grandchildren for the 4 th year. Dont expect peace and quiet!!! You will have noisy kids, fun and create memories! Dont go there if you expect anything else. This is not a place for old codgers and stuffy nosed campers- just great family fun and meeting new friends!!!

Room Tip: 2 to a room and make sure you snore- it drives the kids nuts!!!
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Werzel1949
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 10, 2012

Was a last minute booking for one night, we stayed in a one bedroom hotel room, which had 2 double beds. It was your usual standard room for the price you paid. It was rather noisy at night and couldnt turn the heaters off so it was boiling! but otherwise it was a good experience, there is a lovely beach about 5mins walk away, a good park and a cute little pool with slides. They are also pet friendly. So overall it was good.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank rugratisme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qualicum Beach
7.6 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#7 of 13 in Parksville
247 reviews
7.6 mi away
Travelodge Parksville
Travelodge Parksville
#6 of 13 in Parksville
580 reviews
2.3 mi away
Crown Mansion Boutique Hotel & Villas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.0 mi away
Qualicum Beach Inn
Qualicum Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
237 reviews
0.5 mi away
Ocean Crest Motel
Ocean Crest Motel
#6 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
59 reviews
0.5 mi away
Buena Vista by the Sea
Buena Vista by the Sea
#5 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Riverside Resort & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Riverside Resort & Campground

Address: 3506 West Island Highway, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 2H4, Canada
Phone Number:
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Qualicum Beach
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Qualicum Beach
Price Range: $89 - $178 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Riverside Resort & Campground 2*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your Riverside Resort & Campground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Riverside Resort And Campground Hotel Qualicum Beach

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing