We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Modestly appointed, Clean, Good Value” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ocean Crest Motel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Ocean Crest Motel
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Qualicum Beach
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
125 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Modestly appointed, Clean, Good Value”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 24, 2011

This motel is a little older than some others along this ocean strip of the Island Highway, and in most ways it's pretty standard fare; however, it's very clean and the owners make a consistent effort to keep it well-maintained. We have stayed here four times in the past year, latterly in Dec.2011. We've always had two queens and a kitchenette (no oven), and I. think most units are set up this way. The kitchenettes have only basic equipment and supplies, but Han (owner) will try to meet any special needs you may have.

The Ocean Crest is across the highway from the beach, hence the lower cost. A convenience store is a short walk to the North, and a pub right on the beach--serving good food--(the pub, not the beach!) is a short drive to the South

This motel "is what it is"--clean, basic accommodation. A good sleep.for a very reasonable cost.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank moonfroth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

53 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    9
    34
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
13
22
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, BC
Level Contributor
33 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 5, 2010

Nice, clean motel. Very good value compared to other establishments, mainly due to being on the opposite side of the road from the beach. Rooms are standard motel fare, but well maintained.

Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Vancana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta
Level Contributor
107 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 26, 2010

This motel is the best deal around. It is an older motel but rooms are very clean, bright, and the kitchenette was well equipped. Location is great - right across the road from the beach with beach access down a little road. At $114 for four of us, this was great value.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vagabond_dreams
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tucson, AZ
Level Contributor
104 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

My family of 5 adults stayed at the Ocean Crest Motel in July 2009. The motel is very basic and somewhat dated. However, the rooms are clean; the location is across the street from the beach; the bed was comfortable; it was quiet; and the price was reasonable. We had only a short drive into town for anything we might need. All in all, the motel is very good value.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tipsfromtucson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2008

A solid 4 in every category. The price in August 2008 is $104 per night but that is good in this area at this time. This is a 2.5 star facility and must be judged as such.
The kitchen was adequately equipped. We had one queen bed and 2 easy chairs plus a table with 2 chairs and a chair at the desk. The refrigerator was old but large for a motel and it worked fine.
The rooms are well soundproofed and the facility has excellent housekeeping. We parked at the door to a ground floor unit. Second floor units you walk up the stairs. This is a popular spot. Make reservations during the season.

  • Liked — value
  • Disliked — dripping tap
  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Travelots2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Canada
Level Contributor
70 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 3, 2008

We stayed here Apr 30 & May 1. The room was quite clean & bright. We had a room with 2 double beds (which were quite comfy) & a small kitchenette. It had a good sized mini fridge, 2 burner stove, microwave, coffee maker, toaster, kettle, fry pan & 2 pots. It was suitable for cooking a complete meal, which was nice seeing we were getting quite tired of restaurant food!

(By the way, we bought our groceries at Qualicum Foods in the downtown, which really impressed us with the level of service & friendliness of their staff....Way ta go people!!!)

The cleaning lady was very helpful, & told us that if there was anything we needed, just ask.

The only downside was that the price went up $10 the second day because May 1 started summer season! It was cold & rainy & we were one of 3 guests in the whole place...not exactly high season yet! It would have been nice if he had given us the lower price for both nights.

Overall though, this is a nice place & very good value for this area.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MOF
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 17, 2006

We have stayed at this motel for several years with many members of our family. The price is fair. There is pride in the ownership. It is exceptionally clean and the beds are comfortable. We have stayed at least 6 times and always happy. We need no extra ammenities so have not needed to ask for any other service from the staff but everyone is very pleasant.

  • Stayed December 2005
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Qualicum Beach
7.1 mi away
Quality Resort Bayside
Quality Resort Bayside
#9 of 13 in Parksville
3.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.0 mi away
Shorewater Resort
Shorewater Resort
#3 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
1.5 mi away
Qualicum Beach Inn
Qualicum Beach Inn
#1 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Buena Vista by the Sea
Buena Vista by the Sea
#4 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.5 of 5 bubbles 125 reviews
0.5 mi away
Riverside Resort & Campground
Riverside Resort & Campground
#6 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 133 reviews
1.4 mi away
Sand Pebbles Inn
Sand Pebbles Inn
#8 of 10 in Qualicum Beach
4.0 of 5 bubbles 112 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ocean Crest Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ocean Crest Motel

Property: Ocean Crest Motel
Address: 3292 Island Hwy W, Qualicum Beach, British Columbia V9K 2C6, Canada
Location: Canada > British Columbia > Vancouver Island > Qualicum Beach
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 10 Hotels in Qualicum Beach
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Ocean Crest Motel 2.5*
Number of rooms: 19
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Ocean Crest Motel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing