We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“We will be back!”

Final Approach Restaurant
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $2 - $21
Cuisines: Canadian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Special occasions
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Located at the terminal of the Qualicum Beach Airport, Join us for breakfast, lunch and dinner and witness the excitement of frequent air traffic in a comfortable and relaxing environment. We are closed on select holidays, please visit our website for more information.
Qualicum Beach
Level Contributor
94 reviews
61 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“We will be back!”
Reviewed November 11, 2012

We took our parents their for their anniversary. The Fish and Chips were excellent. The pasta that my husband ordered was delicious and the Grilled Halibut our parents had came with lovely salads. and don't even get me started on the pies! Wow, we had Chocolate Pecan, Lemon Merangue and Coconut Cream. All delicious.
The hosts have real personality making it even more fun

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Dawn I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

259 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    142
    82
    18
    13
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Nanoose Bay, Canada
Level Contributor
108 reviews
58 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
“Cold Food”
Reviewed November 1, 2012

We went to the Final approach for the first time last week. Salad was very good but the other dishes were just OK except for the ribs which were very good. Halibut was cold. Dishes at $22 to $25 are a bit high for pasta based entrees. Very limited menu.

  • Visited October 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Edward C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
81 reviews
43 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Best airport food anywhere”
Reviewed October 14, 2012

The host at The Blue Willow recommended this restaurant to us and assured us that while it was at an airport it wasn't airport food. How right she was. The owners make sure that everyone is treated as family even if they have just met you. The food is the freshest available - they purchase from local farmers and suppliers. We ate at the Final Approach both nights we were in Qualicum Beach and on the second night we feasted on a meal specially prepared for us. Then spent the evening talking with the owners and other guests. Very special dining experience.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank VolvanaWhite
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Moody, Canada
Level Contributor
138 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
“A hidden gem”
Reviewed September 18, 2012

Would never have thought to go to an airport for lunch. Friends we were travelling with had been before. What a great little spot. This is a restaurant at the Qualicum Beach airport and the food was very good. Sat outside on a small patio and watched a training pilot doing touch and goes. Had the fresh corn chowder which was made with peaches and cream corn and was super. Split a cheddar BLT with my fellow female traveller who had the soup/sandwich combo. One sandwich with the soup for each was more than enough. You can tell the food is made with care and good quality products. The room inside had a nice feel as well with table cloths ..not a fast food joint but a real restaurant!

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank traveller47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Victoria, British Columbia, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Best Restaurant in Qualicum!!”
Reviewed August 26, 2012

Best food experience!! I find it difficult to eat out anywhere else in Qualicum when I know the airport is open!! Delicious homemade food everytime we go!! We absolutely love the ribs and the housemade green salad with orange and basil dressing! Sweet potato pie for dessert (or coconut cream, or banoffee!!)! All the food is delicious and the atmosphere makes us feel so at home. Lawrence and Richard are an incredible combo providing incredible food and service! The Final Approach is our favourite!!!

  • Visited August 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Leah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Final Approach Restaurant also viewed

Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
Qualicum Beach, Vancouver Island
 

Been to Final Approach Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing